What Trailer do I need

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:24
ThreadID: 72976 Views:4241 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
I need a trailer to take some extra gear to Cape York, I have looked at some 200kg poly trailers with Holden or Ford bearings and 14 inch wheels, but am told that I need a 500kg trailer with Landcruiser bearings.
I would rather tow a light trailer and save the stress on the car, springs and bearings etc. Can anyone tell me what parts of a trailer will fail first on a trip to the cape springs, axles, bearings etc.

Reply By: Rod - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:35

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:35
Done the cape with a camper trailer. If your trailer is leaf sprung, consider:

* Replacement leaf spring shackles. The bolt holes can elongate due to wear even with greaseable bolts/pins
* Replacement bolts for the leaf spring shackles. They can wear at an alarming rate on corrugations
* Does your trailer have bump stops to prevent the spring bottoming out on dips etc ? Are the springs heavy enough for the load you are carrying ?
* wheel bearings, wheel bearing grease and punches to drift the bearings out
* Replacement centre bolts for leaf spring packs

I've also had the hubs develop fatigue cracks but never had one fail

Other spares I've considered but never needed
* U bolts for the leaf springs
* Main spring for leaf springs
* Replacement oil seals
* Replacement bearing cap
AnswerID: 386891

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 17:48

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 17:48
Shockers are a good idea if you are getting serious about the rough stuff.
Make sure your draw bar is good and guttsy.Most of the trailers you see laying on the side of the track have broken drawbars.
Have a look at the size of a drawbar on a KK a bit of a over kill but youll never break it.
All the things Rod has said.

Cheers Scoof . :-)
FollowupID: 654464

Reply By: Fab72 - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:03

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:03
In my experience, the first thing to fail will be the globes in the lights. The buggers never seem to last long. LED is the way to go.

Seriously though, make sure what ever trailer you do take has a square tubed draw bar and not that el cheapo angle iron rubbish. I had a trailer with the angle iron draw bar and learnt the hard way when the draw bar fractured right under the front edge of the load carrying area.

I think the number of spares required is dependant on the age and condition of the trailer. I agree it pays to be prepared but it's pointless if you end up filling your trailer with spares for the trailer.

Consider a small roll of fencing wire to be able to lash a tree branch onto a broken leaf spring as a splint. A roll of fiberous tape to make a make shift leaf spring bush and take up clearance if something becomes elongated. A spare tyre (and suitable wheel brace). A leaf spring hanger bolt/nut. A U-bolt for the leaf springs. And wheel bearing kit. That should get you out of the poo in the event of a breakdown.

Another good idea is a solid length of chain and padlock incase (worse comes to worse) and you have to abandon the trailer and go back for it after a major breakdown.

Good luck..!!!
AnswerID: 386898

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:21

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:21
Just on the lights thing, the rocks flying up ripped through the wireing on our trailer, leaving us with no lights all the way home. Stronger PVC has been employed for future trips

Donks1
FollowupID: 654501

Follow Up By: jdwynn (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 07:20

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 07:20
Fab72, "I had a trailer with the angle iron draw bar and learnt the hard way when the draw bar fractured ". What type of trailer?

FollowupID: 654561

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 12:41

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 12:41
jdwynn....it was a Modern Trailer made here in Adelaide. I've since bought a Kessner which is an absolute beauty. Like chalk and cheese and not that much more expensive either.
I guess I learnt the hard way too.
FollowupID: 654587

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:35

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 18:35
For 200kg you can not go for a roof rack or ditch something else to take what you need? Air bags or some uprated springs?
Reckon a trailer at the rear bouncing around on the corrugations would cause more stress. You won't be able to do the old telegraph too easily with a box trailer, and give the suspension a rest from the corrugations.
AnswerID: 386901

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:58

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 19:58
Having towed a trailer all over Oz for the last 13 years I feel I can speak with a little authority on this.

I have also seen a few 'really good' trailers broken and abandoned at the side of the track. When that happens people seem to blame all those who tow trailers, including me.

I have had one failure and that was my fault for not correctly tightening wheel nuts.

Don't take any trailer that has net been specifically designed for off road work.

Again from my experience consider taking a camper. If you have to take a trailer it should add to your experience not take from it. A box trailer full of gear will do the job but it won't make the trip easier. A well designed camper, suited to you and your family will make the trip easier and more enjoyable.

Mine has coil springs, shockies, treg coupling, heavy duty long drawbar and a chasis consisting of 5 x 45mm heavy wall square tubes running along the trailer fully welded to the same section cross tubes at either end. It also has recovery points built onto the back and front of the trailer. I can snatch another vehicle without uncoupling the trailer.

Whatever you tow take it out on your favourite 4wd track to see how it goes and be prepared to recover it if it breaks. As I said earlier every time a poorly constructed trailer gets left in the bush people blame me and others like me who successfully and responsibly tow trailers into difficult and remote areas.

A well designed trailer towed by someone who is experienced in towing will not put too many limitations on your adventure and will make it more enjoyable and easier on you and your vehicle. Go for it but do it properly.

AnswerID: 386916

Follow Up By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:14

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:14
I second that Duncs well put.

Cheers Scoof . :-)
FollowupID: 654499

Reply By: Jethro T - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:20

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:20
Thanks guys,

I'll take that information with me and make sure I get what I want this time. I had a camper trailer built a while ago and didn't ask about the thickness of the steel and ended up with a 75 X 50 draw bar but it was lucky to be 2mm thick.
(Got sick of putting it up and went back to a tent.)

I want a small but strong trailer this time. Not real keen on carrying fuel etc on the roof rack.

AnswerID: 386940

Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:46

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:46
G'day Jethro T,
You don't need to take a trailer at all if you choose not to.
A mate of mine used to run small commercial tours of Cape York Peninsular all the way up to Cape York in a cruiser wagon. He catered for 4 paying passengers & didn't carry any more than tents , sleeping gear & gas bottle on the roof.
You are not going into the wilderness up there you know.
Everything you need to support yourself is available up there. Plenty of people live up that way & don't have trailers.
My neighbour with his wife & 2 kids spent 2 weeks camped out at Somerset this year & never took a trailer. They didn't even take a fridge. They ran into Bamaga a couple of times for supplies.
If you pack smart you won't need a trailer.
But if the sewing machine is a must have, take the trailer.
AnswerID: 386947

Follow Up By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:48

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:48
Sorry forgot to say that my tour operator mate never even had a tow bar.
FollowupID: 654533