What are the "must see" things in/around Perth?

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:36
ThreadID: 72977 Views:4016 Replies:12 FollowUps:3
We're considering FIFO trip to Perth for up to one week in mid-late November and wondering what is recommended to get a bit of a feel for the place?

As it will be a FIFO (fly-in, fly-out) trip, we'd be probably hiring a car (which might narrow our options a bit as most hire-car companies don't like you driving on anything except bitumen) and obviously we won't have our camping kit with us so we'll probably be motelling it mostly.

Reply By: The Lobster - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:59

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 16:59
Was there for the first time a couple of weeks ago to visit some friends. The weather was terrible (cold, blowing a gale and raining sporadically) but we managed to get some tourist stuff in.

If you're into wine and don't want to go all the way to Margaret River, the Swan Valley is worth the trip to do some tasting. Especially if you're into ports and fortifieds, some very nice examples out there. We also spent a day checking out fremantle which has some nice shopping, cafes etc. We topped off that day with a few beers at the Little Creatures brewery. Top spot.

The botanic gardens and war memorial are nice if you're into that sort of thing, and there is one of the best playgrounds I have ever seen near the botanic gardens, if you have kids.

Other things that were on our list but didn't get a run due to bad weather were Rottnest Island and Swan River cruise.

Hope that helps.

matt
AnswerID: 386892

Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 17:38

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 17:38
Depending on where you are staying.......The ferry ride from Freo to Perth was really good. And While your at Freo there is the car museum, shipwreck museum, maritime museum all within walking distance from each other.
The drag strip is brilliant if its on while your there too. Kings park ( I think ) was good but get a bus or something...its a bloody steep walk from the ferry terminal. There is jet boat rides from the ferry terminal too.
There is a start....
AnswerID: 386896

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:14

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:14
Ive lived here ost of my life and I never get tired of the view from Kings Park

Whitemans Park at Caversham is always a good place to visit,it has a number of attractions like the car museum and its own railway .

You could also catch the train to Mandurah,Im sure someone must do tours of the Peel Inlet.
You can be in Bunbury from Perth in about 2 hrs these days on the new highway.(mandurah is on the way)

Yanchep National park is only an hours drive north from the city.

A drive along West Coast Highway (I think its called West Coast Drive now) gives a good view of the Indian Ocean and Perth beaches from Fremantle to Mullaloo. Stop and have al look at the Scarborough beachfront and Hillarys Marina for food drinks and shopping

You can catch the ferry to Rottnest from Perth,Freo or Hillariys
AnswerID: 386918

Reply By: equinox - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:25

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:25
Excellent choice for a visit..

Perth has the best city beaches in Australia, so if you want to enjoy a swim in non-polluted water (which you can fish off the beach at) and not have to worry about tripping over syringes etc. in the sand try them out.

The sunsets over the water are great to, and as they are in the west the friendly people of Perth do not have to watch the buildings shadows move across the water.

As stated the wineries of the Swan Valley I'm led to believe are well liked by the local wine drinkers. The Swan River meanders into Perth but don't count on seeing any swans on it as the early settlers ate them all. That reminds me too - Guildford is a nice place for a picnic by the river, and there are a few old buildings there.

Fremantle, previous home of the Americas Cup is a great place to visit and either have coffee watching the people walk by or head bang in the various mosh pits of a night. These are plenty of convict built old buildings to look at too. Purists will call it a city in its own right, but it's close enough to Perth to be a part of Perth (That's progress)

The maritime Museum in Freo is good too and the original Vlaming Plate from 1697 is housed there.

The Foreshore of Perth is always part of local politics, as there is much spare space there; surely the Japanese must eye these places with envy. Nearly all successive governments build something there as a gift to the local people. It is a nice place to have a look around though.

Perth lies within an escarpment with the beautiful Darling Ranges overlooking it. Nice views are obtainable of the city and suburbs from these hills and they are worth a drive into.

Northbridge is just north of Perth, and is built on a swamp. This is why the Italian people got the land cheap and now run the place. It is Perth's entertainment precinct, with clubs, bars and eateries. I think there is a young people curfew in place but I have heard it is not working so watch your back pocket there. This place is also famous for arresting shirtless AFL footballers who are going through hard times :)

Enjoy Perth and its surrounds, a bit different it is, they even talk differently, but you will like it.

Eq.

AnswerID: 386922

Reply By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:35

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:35
The Perth Hills, have wineries ( eg Bickley Valley), the Bickley Observatory, and nice scenery.
Kalamunda has the History Village, Stirk Park, and Stirk Cottage, rose gardens etc. Gooseberry Hill has the Zig Zag scenic drive.
The Swan Valley as stated above.
Check out your accommodation place for tourist brochures.
The river cruise up and down the river is good, also the Perth Mint.
If you're a gambler there is always the casino.
Mandurah has cruises through all the canals.
Cervantes is a good day trip to look at the Pinnacles (good road and hire car friendly)

AnswerID: 386926

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:39

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 20:39
What about the bell tower, we need people to pay it off.. :-)
FollowupID: 654510

Reply By: Smudger - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:05

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:05
When I lived there, these were the places I'd take friends visiting from interstate. When we went back last year, these were the places our mates took us ..touch of Deja Vu really.

Perth .. around the City.
Do the coast drive from Fremantle up to ..well as far as the road takes you. You'll find spots all the away along for photo op's, coffee, lunch and dinner.
While you're in Freo', have a good look around the town, it was developed extensively for the Americas Cup and has heaps of galleries, cafe's and restaurants. Check out Freo' fish markets and one or two of the Micro Breweries near the fish markets .. great place for lunch.
Freo's old Round House Jail is a fascinating piece of history, there was a famous rescue of half a dozen Irish Prisoners by their Sien Fien campatriots from America back at the beginning of last century.
There's also a good local market in Freo' on the weekends.

Kings Park is a no-brainer ..you ain't been to Perth unless you've got pics from there ..allow a long half day to walk around.
The Old Mill in South Perth is a very interesting little museum, used to go there when I was a kid, I think a reli' used to live there couple a hundred years ago.
Queens Park Botanical gardens (near the WACA) are stunning, if you're into botanical stuff.
The Zoo is a beaut ...now one of the best in OZ
Was disappointed with the WA Art Gallery.

Out of the City ..Lake Leschenaultia is a local family favorite, for bbq, picnics, boating, canoeing and genarally gorgeous WA bush. While you're in Mundaring, the Mundaring Weir is a local favorite day trip, got some interesting history - it pumps water to Kalgoorlie and all points between. You may have heard of CY O'Connor, a celebrated engineer who built Fremantle Harbour, he had a dream of pumping water to the goldfields, got the government of the day to approve the scheme, got heaps of flack from the opposition leader who kept claiming "It'll never work", and ultimately suicided at Cottesloe Beach a few days before the water started pumping in Kalgoorlie. I think that oppositon leader was then Premier, and made nice speeches about CY O'connor's great achievement.
Old York town has become a bit of an icon ..Perthites like to get up there for the odd dirt.. er r,omantic weekend.

Rotto' Island, of course, is a rite of passage for every red blooded Sand Groper, if you're into snorkeling, riding bikes and cute critters you'll love the place.

I reckon that'l fill a fly in/fly out trip.

AnswerID: 386933

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:24

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:24
Not to forget the new statue memorial to Bon Scott down at the Fish Markets. Loved Perth when I went through a couple of years ago.

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 654526

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:40

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 21:40
Take a trip down to the South West area, Pemberton, Margaret River and so many other places and the far south west corner of Australia where you will see the Indian Ocean waters mix in with the Southern Ocean waters, Busselton and the beachside towns, then of course the towns North of Perth are worth a look at, but they are four times the distance.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 386945

Reply By:- Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 22:54

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 22:54
G'day Timbo, welcoming you in advance to West Australia, the best State in Australia. Google, South Perth 4 Wheel Drive Hire and Rental and Corefleet. If you like the tall timber country,dont miss the majestic Karri forests about 3 hours drive south of Perth and the tree top walk and the caves in the Margaret River area. Enjoy your visit. Regards Pauper.
AnswerID: 386955

Reply By: Dan - Yal - Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 23:20

Tuesday, Oct 13, 2009 at 23:20
Gday Timbo,
pick a day when the weather is great and catch the ferry to Rottnest Island (Rotto). It takes about 20-30 minutes from Fremantle (Freo). When you get there, hire a treadly and go for a cycle around the island.
You won't regret it. Google some photos of Rotto and you'll see what I mean.

Have fun

Dan
AnswerID: 386960

Reply By: Photog - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 09:05

Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 09:05
Hi Timbo,

Just left Perth after three years living there. Loads of good ideas from everyone.

I would add, don't stay in Perth itself, I would head straight for Freo (Perth CBD closes when the offices do). Much more to do in Freo itself. Its quick to drive to Perth to see Kings Park etc, if you so want.

If you like a beer, a 'Sunday Session' is all the rage, if you are a youngun Cottesloe is a good spot, my preferred spot was Little Creatures in Freo. Excellent for their beers and snacks.

I personally would head south to Margaret River, Dunsborough etc, one of the most wonderful areas on the planet, but I guess that isn't exactly Perth...
AnswerID: 386978

Reply By: nowimnumberone - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 20:22

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 20:22
the one must thing to see is perth in the rear view mirror when leaving
just kidding guys
AnswerID: 387408

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:12

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:12
Yes you are right..

"the one must thing to see is Perth in the rear view mirror when leaving" to go on a trip into some of the largest desert in Australia..

And then come home.. :-))

FollowupID: 654949

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:33

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:33
Thanks all, that should keep us busy for a few days (and maybe even enough to entice us on a longer visit at a later stage!). Not all the things mentioned are "my cup of tea" but heopfully the thread will be useful to others as well...
AnswerID: 388237