Free camping North west Tasmania
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 10:43
Pete & Poss
We are heading to the north west next week and are looking for information on good free camps in that area.
Reply By: Member - John M (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 15:16
Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 15:16
Pete & Poss
Depends on what your looking for?
But for plenty of great
places head to
Arthur River and south from there and you will find plenty of great
camp sites and beautiful rugged beach country.
If you are looking for a base, I have a good mate who has a
shack at Temma where you could
park your van, camper or tent and do treks from there.
If interested send me a email jmc@ssre.com.au
| Life isn't about how to survive the storm, but how to dance in the rain! Lifetime Member My Profile Send Message |
Reply By: George_M - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 17:21
Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 17:21
There's a great spot at Sundown
Creek, about 10k south of
Arthur River. There is also plenty of
free camping about 1k south of
Arthur River, although this area was a bit dry and dusty when we were there.
Sundown
Creek is a magic spot, if you don't look at the "Poison/Toxic Water"
sign. We tried this spot after reading an article by Ron Moon. I suspect that Ron didn't actually go there, because you can't miss the
sign! Needless to say, we didn't use the
water.
It can get a little windy. Keep an eye out for the petroglyps (spelling) on the rocks on the LH side of the track to
the beach.
George
Reply By:- Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 21:17
Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 21:17
blacks beach is cheap and remote on nth west coast
ros
Reply By: Member - mervyn p (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:31
Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 22:31
Hi Pete & Poss heading over to Tassie on 26th October for 6 months bought a book from explore oz
shop called The guide to
free camping Tasmania, has a list with maps and directions for 85
camp sites free or next to free, cost 14.95 it looks invaluable. how long are you staying, this is the first part of our around Australia trip planning to travel up to ten years.cheers merv.
Reply By: Member - Josh (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 23:10
Wednesday, Oct 14, 2009 at 23:10
Agree
Arthur river is good and also good fishing. Green point/Marrawah is also a great free spot north of
Arthur river, it has an amazing beach. The west coast is usually windy but
well worth the look. At
Arthur river go to the edge of the world, You look out across the
water and the next land mass is South America. Heaps of free sites as you head south from
Arthur river.
Josh
Reply By: austastar - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 09:35
Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 09:35
Check out forest
reserves from your maps, often good
camping there.
Reply By:- Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 11:48
Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 11:48