Love that Honda

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 21:37
ThreadID: 73040 Views:3205 Replies:8 FollowUps:1
With all the strong hot winds around I thought it best I take a look at the Honda fire fighting pump that sits atop the water tank. The thing has not been looked at for over 6 years sitting in the weather, not looking very good. Filled the tank with fuel, choke on, 4 pulls & away she went.
Love the Honda.
A closer look reveled that the throttle cable needs some work, once that is done I can go back to working on the next camping trip with peace of mind, that if needed it will work on queue.

Cheers David

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 22:36

Thursday, Oct 15, 2009 at 22:36
Wish they made a decent off road machine too, I reckon I would buy one, a Patrol size machine with a bit of offroad cred

AnswerID: 387239

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 08:40

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 08:40
Mate, I thought oval and round badges were rusted on. LOL
FollowupID: 654824

Reply By: nsngood - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 00:37

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 00:37
i see on average one a month that has been neglected to the point of no longer starting running. Get a few that have been drowned and abused and can just about guarantee that it will cost no more than about $100 to get them going and fully service them at the same time. Most of the time New spark plug strip and clean the carby get it warm change the oil and seeya next year.Every now and then might change a gasket or two but they are pretty well bullet proof.$100 is parts and labour I love-em.
AnswerID: 387261

Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 01:19

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 01:19
David, You have a fire-fighting pump that has not been checked in 6 years???
Now that's putting trust in more than just the pump manufacturer!

AnswerID: 387264

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 09:05

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 09:05
Halalua............Good on you David for going out and checking the pump before the flames were licking your bum. It is amazing how many fires we rock up to, and ask people "do you have a pump". The reply is yes but it doesn't work!. Well fix it!

If you have neighbours David, when you are chatting to them next, remind them to check their pump, and dont put it off till tomorrow if it needs to have something done to it.

Like alot of other areas in Australia, we are expecting our worst year yet down here in the Riverina for fires, and we certainly are not looking forward to it. Some places have already started with their fires, but our official fire season does not start here until Sunday.

It's really good to see people are getting prepared, but hopefully they wont need to put anything into practice. As our superintendant says, "where there is people , there is fire". Sad,,,,but true.
Karen
AnswerID: 387288

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 10:27

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 10:27
umm just for the young uneducated what does this pump do? when there is a fire use the water from the tank to put the fire out?
AnswerID: 387301

Reply By: Member - Porl - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 10:54

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 10:54
so for all you fire fighting pump gurus, we use one to irrigate our football field and I now notice the pump is all gummed up probaby with rust as I believe the last dill that used it before putting it in the shed for 6 months didn't drain it.

It's a Honda GX100 engine, which works fine, mated to a Regent's Pump from Melbourne.

Before i ring them, I am in brisbane, what do you think I am up for - a service or a new pump?
AnswerID: 387310

Reply By: austastar - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 11:50

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 11:50
I was with a mob of suburban pumpers on stand-by on a road running up a ridge.
We had houses on either side of the road, and a fire down in the gully on the Western side.
All the pumpers were connected to stand pipes, and the fire came up at a fair rate.
It took out the power, so we had no street lights, and then the police called for evacuation.
Mean while we are running up and down asking people not to lock their doors so we can get in if fire gets in a window or roof space.
The fire was pretty frantic, things going on every where, total organised mayhem.
As the fire moved along the road, we shuffled the pumpers up to the next point needing protection.
We could hear what we thought was a Toyota tanker down the back of one house - dammed if I could see how it got there, but pump was running, and I was busy with other things and had been 'out' for about 20 hours at this stage.
We didn't bother checking the on Toyota as we moved, neither did any one else, all assumed all was OK.
When we came to packup and move on to another part of the suburb, the Toyota was still running and hadn't seemed to have moved in over 2 hours.
Went down the back to check.
Here was an old codger and his mrs, geared up with overalls, hard hats etc running a Briggs & Stratton powered pump from a small above ground pool, wondering when the Fire service was going to show up and give them a hand.
It sounded just like one of our pumps.
A lesson learned there that night.
AnswerID: 387323

Reply By: Member - Oldbaz. NSW. - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 17:10

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 17:10
G'day David, I too must gently suggest that your maintenance of this vital
piece of equipment leaves a bit to be desired. While not doubting the easy
starting of a Honda motor, a little protection from the elements wont go astray.
If portable, the tank & pump will benefit from shedding, or at least covering.
Hoses will deteriorate quickly if not protected & are expensive to replace.
While the motor started, did you test that it indeed is pumping, & at good
pressure. Sorry to sound like a lecturer, but 45 years in the RFS has taught me
that all emergency gear needs regular checking before every fire season, &,
who knows, your Honda (& pump) may love you back with a bit more TLC.
cheers.....oldbaz.
AnswerID: 387384