Powerline Trek Feedback

Went for a run between Sawyers Valley and the Lakes in my 07 Triton ute 14 October. Nice day out with the dogs. Dry track with a couple of water courses. If your by yourself check water levels. I got phone coverage (Telstra 3g) and their is a couple of numbers you can ring (unsure if those numbers are still current).
I was advised by the bloke at the pub that if you use Leather road in Sawyers Valley, you will cut through someones property which they are apparently not too happy about, so I started from the Water Corp pump/tank thing which is accessible at the top of the hill coming into Sawyers Valley on your RIGHT hand side when coming FROM Perth.

Reply By: V64Runner - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:06

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:06
I know the area like the back of my hand. Not many of us use the starting place where you started from due the extremely rocky and uncomfortable section of that track until you come to Flynn Drive. We start from Flynn Drive and East coming out at West Talbot Rd. But lately the track has deteriorated to the point that some areas are now almost impossible to get up. Last time we were up there as a group some of the smaller vehicle could not get up and were winched up. There is a club that was supposed to take the Powerlines Track under their wing and do the upkeep on iy , but it appears that nothjing has been done. And as thats the only recreational 4x4 drving area up there, it will reach the stage that some beurocrat might think its too dangerous and close it down. Its a pity that the powers that be decided to close off all the other areas up there, as there were some really good trails to be found.
AnswerID: 387388

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 12:01

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 12:01
I try to avoid the pace as theres heaps of better spots but occasionly i visit there. Last time I didnt recognise it all the spots that used to be hard were now pretty much impaseable by standard vehicles, the chicken tracks were pretty hard and the new chicken track not much better and the most recent chicken track wont last for much longer
FollowupID: 656259

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 12:51

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 12:51
I believe the Perth4x4 guys were (claiming to be) looking after the 'powerlines track'

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 656265

Reply By: Bagwon - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:36

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:36
Its my back yard and its a shame that its been trashed by idots. my mate on KOOBIJA (property that borders West Talbetand power line has had a gutful of being asked to rescue people.This is partly why other areas dont get opened up.

AnswerID: 387393

Reply By: AlanTH - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 17:02

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 17:02
It's too close to the city that's the problem and is easily accessible by any loony that just has to go out and tear around like some demented maniac.
Apparently a couple of weekends ago the groups were lined up behind each other and it was estimated that a 100 vehicles used it that day.
If that's not tempting enough for the bureaucraps to close it off I don't know what is.
They'll use any excuse to stop others enjoying themselves but it's only to be expected with the behaviour of some idiots.
Alan.
AnswerID: 387491

Reply By: Decay9 - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 00:18

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 00:18
Yeah I know what your saying about cowboys, I went out on my own, take it easy with my dogs. I always try to leave a place better than when i leave it.
I suppose the good thing about 100 guys using the track is they can help each other out and it's 100 less i need to worry about on my travels.
Love the bush not the politics.
AnswerID: 388568

Follow Up By: get outmore - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 11:57

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 11:57
you do know dogs arnt permitted there?
FollowupID: 656258

Follow Up By: Decay9 - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 03:15

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 03:15
Can you show me evidence of that? The information i have on that area does not mention anything about not taking my dogs. Also if i knew dogs were not permitted there i would not have mentioned it on an open forum. Just so you know my dogs are far more useful and clean than most humans.
Not being smart but i would like to know the bylaws etc for that area that give you cause to say that.
FollowupID: 657648

Follow Up By: get outmore - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 07:36

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 07:36
its all catchment area with those catchment area protection sighns that prohibit marroning,fishing,swimming,camping horses and dogs
FollowupID: 657656

Follow Up By: Decay9 - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 01:04

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 01:04
Cheers for the heads up, lucky i got another jillion acres to play in! Thanks mate.
FollowupID: 657785

Reply By: V64Runner - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:36

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:36
Its been well known throughout the 4x4 clubs in Perth, that domestic are not allowed in the area. There Powerlines has been wrecked almost beyond repair, and I was in formed via the WA4WDA that shelters were due to be erected several years ago. To date, I haven`t seen anything other then blatant vandalism by the HOON fraternity. The fence that is on the far Eastern side, which runs parallel to the edge of the track has been torn down . People are now starting to drive on Private property, which wont go down well with the owner. Flynn Dive is the ideal road to use to get access to the Powerlines. Ironically the dive from West Talbot Road heading back to Flynn Drive takes about 10 - 15 minutes to accomplish, yet the Track can take anything up to four hours to complete, and that's on a good day.
AnswerID: 388710

Follow Up By: Decay9 - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 01:06

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 01:06
Hi mate, not part of any club, never will be. Cheers for the info though!
FollowupID: 657787

Reply By: V64Runner - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 05:40

Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 05:40
No neither am I anymore. Too much politics, and too much one upmanship. Gave up the club scene a few years back and prefer to go with friends when and if we feel up to it. I wont be going back to Powerlines anytime soon
AnswerID: 390033