What did the 100 series Cruiser upgrade in 2005 entail?
Submitted: Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:16
Moose
Just wondering what the difference between pre and post upgade models is.
Thanks from the Moose
Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:26
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:26
From the LCOOL Site
02/1998 - first release
08/2000 - TD becomes available in Oz and some minor tweaking.
08/2002 - new dash, 5 speed auto (not Europe HDJ100), no 1FZ-FE for Oz, no 1HD-T anywhere, 17" alloys, ECU added to 1HZ, bigger driveshafts, wiring is quite different and lots more
08/2003 - Europe gets 5 speed auto for 1HD-FTE, washer bottle gets bigger opening!.
08/2004 - Shift lock on auto gearlever
05/2005 - New exterior lights, AHC & VGRS for Oz, UZJ100 gets C/C with memory!
10/2005 - minor interior updates
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:31
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:31
G'day Kev
That's great but WTF does AHC & VGRS and C/C mean????
Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:39
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:39
AHC Active Height Control??
VGRS dunno but may be Very Good Rear
Suspension ;)
C/C Cruise Control??
| Russell Coight:
He was presented with a difficult decision: push on into the stretching deserts, or return home to his wife.Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:43
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 13:43
Bloody abbreviations!
Follow Up By: tim_c - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:05
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:05
Thanks Kev. I'm looking at possibly upgrading to one of these in the next year or so.
Do you know if the bigger driveshafts in 08/2002 also fixed the rumoured problem of weak front diffs? Was this a problem that mainly affects the IFS 'Cruisers or the ones with live front axle, or both equally? Do you know if it is a real problem, or is it just a beat-up by some people who got caught out by being rough on their car?
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:12
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:12
Mid to late 2004 (or 2005 model) 100 also got the single disc MP3 player instead of the in dash 6 CD stacker.
As far as front IFS Diff.. So far so good.
If you are a wheel in the air wheel spinner then look out.
Follow Up By: bobsa - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:14
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:14
VGRS = variable gear ratio steering system
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:30
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 14:30
I have that on my May built August 2004 model !
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:26
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:26
My FEB 2005 has a 6 disk MP3 player
The front diffs are still the same reverse cut teeth they all have.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:01
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:01
I checked with a mate who has the Sept 2004 model and you are correct it is a 6 stacker with MP3. My bad...
Reply By: CraigB - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:06
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:06
Moose,
Depends on the model ie: GXL, Sahara etc.
I got the GXL post upgrade which has;
Rear cooler air - pre has no rear air
6 stacker CD - pre a has single
Same
wheels as the Sahara - 17"
LED rear brake lights
Can't think of much else that is different.
CraigB
Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:14
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 15:14
Thanks Craig - exactly what I wanted to know.
Looks like there's not a lot in it. At least nothing mechanical changed.
Have seen a few good looking 2004's advertised but I wasn't sure if the upgrades were significant.
17"
wheels are probably a negative as I assume they cost more.
LED brake lights - no big deal.
CD - irrelevant
Rear air - am used to front only now so no worries there either.
Thanks again from the Moose
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:04
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 18:04
Gday moose,
The problems with busted lower wishbones seems to have been confined to the first couple of years of the IFS TDs. I'd be reluctant to buy one of these early models if doing rough offroading or outback travel.
Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:23
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:23
Its front diffs that are also a bother.
The reason is that the teeth are reverse cut.
the diffs are NOT the same as Hilux diffs
Was a batch with certain vin nos that had weak control arms due to a robot
welder getting drunk on Saki and underperforming. LOL
Follow Up By: Off-track - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 00:36
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 00:36
Actually reverse cut is engineeringly prefered for strength in front diffs when driving forwards. That's not the issue.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony V (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 15:59
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 15:59
By now all the affected lower wishbones have either broken or got fixed under the recall.