How much Fuel and Tyres can I fit on a Roof Rack

Submitted: Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:26
ThreadID: 73072 Views:7693 Replies:16 FollowUps:19
I'm about to ditch the idea of taking a trailer to Cape York (can't see the value in a $5,000 trailer) and was wondering how much weight I can safely carry on a full roof rack on an 80 series.

I have and LPG in place of the second fuel take and spare wheel, double whammy, so I need to carry two wheels and maybe some fuel on the roof rack.

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:34

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:34
Well it depends how strong your roof rack is.

Rule of thumb is not to carry more than around 150kg on the roof. That would be one spare tyre and about 5 or 6 jerrycans excluding the weight of the roof rack. A while back I had two wheels and a swag on the roof rack (over some hard country) and broke all 6 legs of that rack which was bought from a well known aftermarket accessory outlet!!
AnswerID: 387414

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:57

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 21:57
Hav'nt you seen the Supercheap Ad , Rodney went home in the taxi, well that's how much you can put on,

AnswerID: 387418

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:27

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:27
Hahahahahahaha!!!
FollowupID: 654979

Reply By: x4by4 - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:22

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:22
Jethro,
I agree with the 150Kg limit
It mainly depends on driving to conditions. There are sections where you will have a good lean on due to track having different level between the left and right wheels and you cant avoid it.
I traveled to CY this year in an 80 series with a tent, chain saw, 1 JJ diesel, light table and 3 chairs and a tyre (no wheel) on the roof rack . I was heavily loaded low down so the CofG was not too bad. However I felt that I was near the limit of safety a few times.

Last year I traveled Syd to Perth via Inaaminka, Simpson, AB Hwy with about 300kg on top. 6 split rims with tyres, a lawn mower, bicycle and 1 box, without any problems, but would not recommend it,

I would be putting a rear wheel carrier on and I don’t think really need a 2nd spare for CY

AnswerID: 387420

Follow Up By: Shaker - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:59

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:59
A lawn mower???

FollowupID: 654953

Follow Up By: Fred G NSW - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:11

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:11
He keeps his camp sites very tidy :-)
FollowupID: 654969

Follow Up By: StormyKnight - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 15:15

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 15:15
A lawn mower is not as strange as it seems, I took one to Fraser once!

Well I had to deliver it to a relative further up the coast at a latter time but it was there!

FollowupID: 654997

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:28

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:28
I always thought it was about 100kgs recommended for a roof rack, and couldn't work out how that would be cause I weight that and I climb up there to load the stuff up there?

Maybe 150 is the right figure, I will watch this thread with interest.

I have had the rack bend the gutters on a GQ, after a hammering from Lake Frome south to the Highway.Mine is a heavy home made job and I use proper ARB weight distribution rails with it.

AnswerID: 387424

Follow Up By: Member - Longtooth (SA) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:46

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:46
My understanding is that the static load is much greater than the load imposed whilst driving. i.e you can place a much greater load (including yourself whilst loading) than you can once you are out on the corrugations - use the manufacturers load limit once out on the road. Don't have any reference for this to back it up though.
FollowupID: 654947

Follow Up By: Kumunara (NT) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 14:40

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 14:40
Nissan recommend a maximun load on the roof of 200 kgs for the Patrol - that includes the weight of the roof rack.

I don't know what Toyota recommends but it should be about the same.

If you go by what Willem has said and use 150 kgs as the maximun you should be fairly safe.
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

FollowupID: 654996

Reply By: OREJAP - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:50

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:50
I think from memory it's 100 Kg on a cruiser & patrol. It's 80 on a Pajero. If you have the owner's book that should tell you about loads etc...if not give your friendly Yota dealer a call
AnswerID: 387428

Reply By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:51

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 22:51
Hi Jethro

I have lpg on my 80 series.
And for a trip across the Simpson Desert i bought rhino bars and made a bracket to hold the second spare on the roof bars and two jerry's in home made welded carriers. in front of the roof basket.
Plus i had 2 jerry's on the back and 1 inside.Plus 60 litres of water 3 occupants and gear food spares etc, Recovery gear

Note the 2 jerry's did whistle at a bout 60klm per hr and i never tested them before i went DOH'H .

But it all stayed there and worked very well.

I only filled the two jerrys on the roof and one inside at the last reliable fuel stop Mt DARE and emptied these first.And if needed leave the jerry's behind on return at Birdsville for any one that wanted them . but bought them back anyway.
Sure it was over loaded but what else.Worked ok for me and the 80 handled it very good.

Haven't been to the Cape but that is next on the list.
and from what i have calculated out fuel wise i would only take 2 jerry's on the rear carrier as the fuel stops are a lot closer and more of them.
And always run on ulp and save the lpg for reserve
have a look at my profile more pictures there.

Rob.

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

AnswerID: 387429

Follow Up By: Fatso - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:15

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:15
You are right Rob. The main routes on Cape york Peninsular are no where near as isolated as the Simpson Desert. The first time I went to the tip I went in a stock 2.7 Navara & didn't have a jerry can. I think it only carried about 65 litres. Weipa to the Jardine was the longest run & it was OK.
How much range can you blokes get out of your cars if you lightly load them?Most of those roads are pretty good.
Good move on filling your jerry cans at the last fuel stop as well. Makes sense.
FollowupID: 654950

Reply By: Fatso - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:02

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:02
G'day Geoff
If you want to cut down your weight try ditching one of your spare tyres. I know it goes against the grain these days, but invest in some good tyres, lightly load your vehicle & drive to preserve your tyres & you probably won't use a spare at all. Take some good tyre repair gear including good quality tyre leavers. Not cheapies that will bend, but good ones.
I believe in traveling lightly loaded & have never had a blowout. Some blokes get one every trip. Not sure what the differance is yet , but that might make a good thread.
Back to those tyre leavers. I have been carrying a pair I paid about (I think)$300 for 14 years ago & have never used them on a tyre. I haven't been doing the isolated stuff but have done probably 20 to 30,000k of dirt roads through the Kimberleys, Tanami, NT, Northern SA, SW Qld the Gulf & Cape York Peninsular with only one spare.
The peninsular is not as isolated as people think either. They sell fuel & tyres up there as well as groceries. You don't need to carry a months worth of supplies when you leave Cairns as a lot of people do. Cut back as much as you can on what you take & save your car & tyres from excessive wear. I know this goes against the grain with some people as well, but I swear by travelling light.
AnswerID: 387430

Follow Up By: Member - Mark E (VIC) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:37

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:37
$300.00 ..................for tyre levers................ 8-0

I think mine were about $40 each and I've had them for years.....no problems...... are they titanium or plated in gold?????????

Whoa

FollowupID: 654951

Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:13

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:13
Yeh Mark, 300 sounds a lot. It is the figure that came to mind when I was trying to figure out what I paid. I still think that is what I paid.
I was recomended these by the tyre shop I used at the time. They said they were the strongest ones on the market but they had never bent one.
At the rate I am going I won't bend one either.
FollowupID: 654971

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:57

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:57
Dont know about the 80 but a 100 ser has a rack capacity of 200kg including weight of rack.

Look in the Handbook

AnswerID: 387443

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:59

Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:59
A rim and tyre weighs 42 kg and a steel jerry full is about 26kg

An ARB steel rack weighs 41 kg approx.

FollowupID: 654952

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 18:37

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 18:37
Gee Graham I thought the rack weighed more than that while watching the fellas install mine. If thats all it is thats good.
Sharon
FollowupID: 655021

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 20:33

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 20:33
Its not so much the weight but the awkwardness of it.

However I fitted mine on my own.

Put the feet in the roof and stood the rack on the tailgate and put a big soft pack on the roof and lifted the rack onto it and slid it forward.

Pulled it down and bolted front feet in and then pulled pack out. bolted other 4 up easy as .

Its taking one OFF thats hard

We drove it under a big tiltadoor and roped it up and backed car out then let it down gently

FollowupID: 655031

Reply By: The Lobster - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 01:16

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 01:16
IMHO you'd be better off putting your spare tyres in the back and putting lighter stuff on the roof. You obviously want to minimise the weight up there as much as you can. Maybe stuff like chairs, mattresses, maybe the tent if it's pretty light, empty water containers. You want to put stuff up there that is big and bulky but doesn't weigh too much. Obviously you've gotta think about rain though. So I wouldn't be putting stuff like clothes or shoes up there unless they're well sealed.

Anyway, hope that helps.

matt
AnswerID: 387446

Reply By: equinox - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 01:53

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 01:53
I wouldn't mind knowing about the cruiser ute?

What would the maximum loading be for that be?
I'd like to put two spares on the roof and one under the tray.

AnswerID: 387448

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 02:07

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 02:07

ARB must know, as they sell one for the 70 utes

And I have seen photos on this site of people with them, they may come out and say so..

FollowupID: 654961

Follow Up By: equinox - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 02:21

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 02:21
I wouldn't mind taking tyres like that for a test run....mmm

and with the Top rack I could attach some spotties up there.

I don't really want to put spotties in front of the radiator if I can help it.

FollowupID: 654964

Reply By: travelguy62 - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 07:18

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 07:18
Gday Geoff,
The laws are changing for how much weight you can put up on the roof.Maximum load for 2 roof bars is 40 kg,s and 100kg,s for a rack.They now talk about projectile weight of whats up top.Roof rack manufactures will have to certify how much weight their racks can carry.

Cheers Guy
AnswerID: 387451

Reply By: Jethro T - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:57

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:57
Thanks guys,

I generally go as light as possible, so I think I might pull out the back seat, get some tyre pliers and store the spares on the floor behind the front seats. I never fill the back of the cruiser on our normal camping trips so with the back seat removed I'm sure we'll go ok.

I'll get away with a couple of jerry cans on the roof which doesn't worry me too much.

AnswerID: 387459

Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:37

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:37
We pulled all the rear seats out of our GU wagon & made a flat carpeted floor from the back doors to the front seats out of an 18mm piece of ply. I went 18mm because I put 40 x 40 angle iron tie downs in held down be 6mm bolts through the ply. Everything in the back was secured. I still should have made a cargo barrier as well. I used the seat mounting nuts to bolt the ply down.
We carried 2 pushbikes, 60 litre trailblazer fridge, 2 x 3' wide swags with 4" mattresses & all our other garbage inside. There was heaps of room & nothing touched or chafed on our precious pushies (Which by the way won't be coming again. If it isn't used it isn't coming).
The thickness of the ply was a bit of overkill & I probably could have saved a few kg by going thinner. There was a bit of storege underneath in the footwell which was handy for small heavy loose items like tent pegs & tools & lights etc. With a bit of thought it it would be pretty easy to put in shelving & pockets that could secure mor gear & make it more easily accesable.
I am getting excited thinking of another project here.
FollowupID: 654974

Reply By: Jethro T - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:53

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:53
Like your ideas.

I've just had a look and there is a bloody lot of room in the footwell, My tent will fit under there. I wonder what else I can put in there, I love making stuff out a heavy ply, always weighs a ton but it's easy to use and strong.

See you late I'm off to Bunnings for some ply.

AnswerID: 387462

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:17

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:17
Just be aware if you remove the second row seats the vehicle needs to be recomplianced to be legal.

I have only the front two seats in my cruiser and had to go to a engineer to get a blue plate for it.

It is about the fact that it changes the definition of type of the vehicle.

Only cost $60 and has to be redone when I get back home and put them ALL back to get it back to original.

The ADR's state that you may not remove seats that are bolted in for more

than a short period. Say a few days but not for weeks at a time.

The engineer said when he did the course the instructor said NEVER

However look at all the Patrols that have rearfold ups removed.

Is a bit of a stupid rule but its there according to the engineer.

AnswerID: 387467

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:18

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:18
That must be a Queensland thing Graham....as long as you don't reconfigure permanently ie remove seatbelts, modify seat mounts etc you can change the set up in NSW. After all the seats are only a half dozen bolts and they are out it is not as if you are remodelling anything...and they aren't part of the structural integrity of the vehicle.
FollowupID: 654982

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:44

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:44
As I understood what he was saying is that it changed the classification of the vehicle from an 8 seater car to essentially a Van as like a delivery vehicle and can change the insurance classification also.

I also thought it was one of the national rules but could be wrong on that as they are pretty hard to find.

FollowupID: 654984

Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 21:47

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 21:47
I assume you mean the CTP Insurance there Graham
FollowupID: 655037

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 21:51

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 21:51
He didnt say but presumably if it comes into it.

I just make sure I am legal so I wont have problems anywhere if disasters occur

FollowupID: 655038

Reply By: mechpete - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 22:41

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 22:41
Hi jethro ,
in 2005 my mates an I did a trip down the CSR .on my GQ roof rack I had a
box made to carry 7 full jerry cans , a second spare for the vehicle , 2 tyres for the motor bikes . and 5 swags , plus 8 tent poles . didn,t have any problems ar all .
cheers mechpete . the best trip ever ,7 blokes an 3 bikes .
AnswerID: 387533

Reply By: Robin Miller - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 07:52

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 07:52
Hi Geoff

Its more about the inertia of the load and likehood of it contributing to a rollover when wheels go into a rut etc.

Last thing to put on roof is the fuel, or anything else that could explode.

Go light and consider as some do, to put back the petrol tank instead of gas for that trip.

2 wheels are a waste of time also , the 40kg of a 2nd spare is better used with tyre changing stuff, spare tubes , spare shocks etc.
AnswerID: 387553