Tassie Temps in April?
Submitted: Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:14
viz
Looking at doing a trip around Tassie in April - what are the temperatures like then? Cool, cold, cold at night?
viz
Reply By: ExplorOz - David & Michelle - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:23
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:23
Check out the weather pages and select any destination in Tas or anywhere else in Australia. The system will not only tell you the current temps but has climate averages - Start here
Tasmania Weather.
DM
Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:39
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:39
Hi Viz
Like any time of the year in Tasmania, it can vary from day to day, from perfect weather to snow on the peaks the next day. The weather will be cool, with usually cold nights. The autumn colours are unreal, so expect to take lots of photos. The south west will have a good chance of rain, so pack cloths for all seasons.
Follow Up By: Volvo driver - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 07:20
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 07:20
gotta agree with Stephen L almost..cool nights rather than cold
Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:44
Friday, Oct 16, 2009 at 23:44
Viz,
I believe average temperature guages only show down as far as "zero"
the little Island is "chilly" because of the SOUTH POLE wind factor :-))
Maîneÿ . . .
Reply By: The Rambler( W.A.) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 00:12
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 00:12
Iwas there last year in March---MUCH too cold for me but a very beautifull place to visit.Iwould think April would be an indoor event.
Reply By: bks - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:19
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:19
I have been twice in April. Once
camping. It certainly gets cold at night but I have been just as cold in Central west NSW. The weather patterns change fairly quickly so rain passes over to sunny weather doesn't seem to set in for days.
Reply By: viz - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:02
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:02
Thanks guys - and thanks for the links.
I am doing research for a mate who is coming over from
Denmark and doing a road trip in our Cruiser - SY to Tassie to ADL to BH to SW QLD to Fraser then back to SY. Have not been to Tassie yet, so a good excuse to do that part of the trip with him. He, being a Viking, will not have a problem with Tassie cold but this little black duck might freeze...
When I research I do two layers, if you like. One hard numbers like the links that have been shown, and then opinions from others. Opinions are weighted sometimes more highly than hard numbers - they give a flavour that hard numbers wont give; so while it sounds like I am being a bit lazy trust me I am not. I spend hours on the net researching, but I value the opinions and experiences of people who have been there and done that possibly more highly...
This mindset served me very
well on the last trip - 3 weeks and 5000 km including into the Simpson with nary a thing go wrong, and (almost) every eventuality covered...
viz
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:51
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:51
Just tell him to expect hazy conditions in that time (around April) because of Forestry burn-offs.
Follow Up By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 19:20
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 19:20
And that would be to reduced fuel loads for the up coming summer fire season would it not............
Follow Up By: Mudripper - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:54
Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:54
Burning the mess that they've created yeah.
Reply By:- Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:56
Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:56
hi viz
I've lived in Tassie and I reckon April is it's best time, they seem to have a later summer than Qld.
Temps always cool at night in Tassie and daytime temps around 21
It is usually sunny and fine in April, on a good day you wouldn't want to be anywhere else.
Have a nice trip.