Rubbish tip or Highway?

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:31
ThreadID: 73078 Views:3829 Replies:9 FollowUps:15
Just travelled the Air Highway, what a tip it has be come it started with the bottle tree which was novel but now it seems every second tree has become a litter tree, what's with all that? has it become a way for litter bugs to dump there rubbish or something?

Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:51

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 08:51
Guessing you mean the Eyre highway Cozzie T :-) Yeah noticed the 'theme trees' (travelled this way about 3 months ago) but thought for the most part the Nullarbor was pretty clean and tidy. Pulled into a number of rest stops and apart from the odd cases of wonton vandalism these too were clean and tidy.
AnswerID: 387458

Follow Up By: Ozbod - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:58

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:58
"wonton vandalism"? What, a beat-up chinese dumpling? Guessing you mean "wanton" Patrol :-) Touch'e
FollowupID: 654976

Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:54

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 11:54
You got me.....that'll teach me to read the post before pressing submit won't it? :-)
FollowupID: 654981

Reply By: DCTriton - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:50

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 09:50
I was fairly disgusted with my recent trip to Darwin - I did suicide runs both ways so didn't take in too much of the scenery but both parking bays I grabbed a nap in on the way up had a couple of piles of human faeces including poo paper with no attempt to cover let alone bury, bins over flowing with litter and the further north I got, the more roadside litter I noticed...

I stopped in Alice for a kip on the way home as well as Keith and both places were clean for the most part...
AnswerID: 387461

Reply By: Member - Kevin B1 (WA) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:01

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:01
I know at one time in WA there used to be contractors who travelled the highway emptying bins and removing road kill from the road. Don`t know if this still happens, only applied to main highways though
AnswerID: 387470

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 20:16

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 20:16
Yep they do.

We were talking to two guys between Hedland and Newman and they said they go down one day and back the next.

Dont know about the rest but the bins didnt seem to ever full.

Its only where the crackatinni tribe have rested or the eurowizzbang gang have camped that the most mess is

FollowupID: 655029

Reply By: Road Warrior - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:57

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 12:57
Its not just Eyre Highway or whatever, it's everywhere. Coming back from Carnarvon 2 weeks ago we were driving along behind a fourby towing a caravan when the crotchspawn in the back seats decided to throw their banana peels and rubbish out the window as the vehicle was moving - and then 30 seconds later they pulled into Cataby Roadhouse. Why couldn't they have waited until they got to the roadhouse?
AnswerID: 387473

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 13:19

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 13:19
RW

i have to agree with you there mate....i travel the Pacific Highway in the truck and the road side rest stops are a disgrace. just the other night i stopped at Sapling Creek( near Port Macquarie) rest area only to find a soiled nappy which had been left on top of the bin( whoever put it there was too lazy to open the top of the bin).
the RTA are good enough to provide bins for everyones use so we need to use them!
these rest areas are not only for the general public to use but as a proffessional driver i forced to sleep there amounst the dirty nappies, rubbish and assorted waste.
it is hard enough (next to impossible ) for us as interstate drivers to convince the RTA ( or which ever state it is) to provide all of us with adaquate rest areas when people leave these areas in such a pig stye.
Happy Travels,cheers.
FollowupID: 654987

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 14:11

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 14:11
We've got a few favourite roadside camp spots that are often littered with rubbish and toilet paper when we arrive. But we usually have a fire and burn it off.

I reckon people in cars cause most of the problem - they don't carry rubbish bags and have never heard of carrying matches to burn toilet paper.
AnswerID: 387478

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 14:13

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 14:13
People in cars don't leave all the rubbish in the High Country!

I think you will find, that one lot of drivers is as bad as another.
FollowupID: 654994

Follow Up By: Road Warrior - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:34

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:34
That's a bit unfair. As Shaker alluded to it doesn't matter what sort of vehicle you're driving, its what sort of tools the tool box is carrying that is the issue.

We only have one car, my Falcon sedan and that takes us where we want to go but if we accumulate rubbish we just keep it in a plastic bag until we get to our destination (or a roadhouse) and get rid of it then - it's not hard. Tell that to some of these filthy troglodytes that drop rubbish everywhere (used to having mummy clean up after them) and then give you the middle finger when you have a shot at them about it.

As you can see, litterbugs annoy me.
FollowupID: 655006

Follow Up By: nsngood - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 17:03

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 17:03
Phil as a member of the volunteer bush fire brigade please don't encourage people to start burning toilet paper.Bury by all means or do what you have too but don't burn it.It is very risky and doesnt take much for it to blow away. Besides' by burning the paper you actually dont achieve much, All you get rid of is the paper the waste is still there.
FollowupID: 655011

Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 23:56

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 23:56
I'll just add my opinion of paper, paper comes from trees , paper will dissapear soon after a rain and rot away, It's the plastic bags and bottles I don't like to see, As for glass , it comes from sand, after a few 1000 years erosion will do it's job , and the old turd, well it'll dry up and disintergrate into the soil after about 4 good hot days and no I don't like seeing them too close to rest area's either, not much difference though between humans and dingo droppings , it's all yucky, Of course the state govt's could provide rest area's like the ones I seen along the US interstate Hwys with phones, drink machines, glass doors, heated , and tv screens for snow reports and road closures , and I mean these buildings are way out in the middle of nowhere, can you imagine how long they would last in our country, Aussies don't respect what's provided, simple as that.
How good is this ,
The Wisconsin 30 rest areas have:

Handicap accessibility
Ample car and truck parking
Clean restroom facilities
Drinking water
Picnic areas
Telephones
Weather monitors at most locations
A place to walk your pet
Snacks, soft drinks or newspapers from the vending services located at most locations
Road maps, literature and other traveler information
Historical facts and events are commemorated on Wisconsin Historical Marker plaques located on-site
An entire team of people work cooperatively behind the scenes to keep our rest areas and waysides clean, safe and in good working order. Local Community Rehabilitation Programs (CRP) provide the day-to-day maintenance at each rest area and some waysides.

FollowupID: 655048

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 15:16

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 15:16
Travelled the Eyre about 3 months ago also. I found the trees to be great. I didnt find them to be just litter or rubbish. all the truck stops were clean and the viewing points. No litter on side of road, just these novelty trees that break up the boredom and are a good laugh i reckon.

Dunno how many are out there now though, too many will just kill the concept.
AnswerID: 387481

Follow Up By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:22

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:22
There is heaps of them out there now, the Bottle, boot, bra, & undies tree ya can handle though the ones with plastic bags wine cask bladders and an assortment of other crap is a bit much.

Agree the 24 hour stops that we stayed in were spotless plus the sides of the road were clean as well

Makes ya wonder though if it continues how much rubbish will be hanging in the trees in years to come.

Yes Eyre Highway not Air, the air came from the oyster shooters at the Ceduna pub last night, by the way good tucker at this pub.

Cozzie
FollowupID: 655004

Follow Up By: Shaker - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:32

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 16:32
I look at those trees as just another form of mindless graffiti.
FollowupID: 655005

Reply By: Member - John and Val - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 18:05

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 18:05
Travelled the Eyre H'way a couple of weeks ago. While the main rest stops were very clean there was a lot of litter along the roadside in some places. We had lunch down a little side track and there was a fair bit of rubbish there - so we cleaned it up. Gathered over half a garbage bag of it which took us all of about 5 minutes to do, carried it to the next bin which wasn't very far away. It isn't that hard.

At one of the designated stopping places we watched a crow making a real mess by pulling rubbish out of a full bin in spite of the mesh on the top - that was just a convenient perch from which to ferret for lunch!

One thing I have noticed in the past couple of years is how many discarded wet wipes are now lying about. While toilet paper is disgusting it does at least break down given a bit of rain. Wet wipes (as well as disposable nappies) dont seem to break down much so they just accumulate.

We always travel with a good supply of the frowned upon supermarket plastic shopping bags. All our rubbish goes into them and each day they are disposed of properly. How hard is it to "do the right thing".

Val.

AnswerID: 387499

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 23:41

Saturday, Oct 17, 2009 at 23:41
Well a big part of the rubbish and hence the starts off a bad impression, is drink containers, when will ALL you interstaters hammer your MP,s for a deposit drink container system, has worked magic in SA for many years, dont see the litter of drink bottles etc here.
Now need a way to stop the rest of the stuff.
Found a heap of rubbish today at a nice picnic spot near home, so kicked it all into a heap and burnt it, saved it spreading far and wide, looked better in 10 minutes.

Pesty
AnswerID: 387538

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 04:51

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 04:51
Mate, Pesty, you are spot on. As a kid i used to love collecting cans, for the old Cash for Cans system or whatever it was. Was never any litter around town either, cause us kids picked it up. The old man would drink like a fish, (still does) and i would reap the benefits. I used to earn pocket money for my chores, plus empty his beer bin into the big beer bag, and once a month or something on a saturday morning we would go cash it. Yes, if only WA would adopt the 5c program, we wouldnt have the millions of Emu Export and VB cans littered all over the Kimberley.
FollowupID: 655057

Follow Up By: Member - Cozzie Toodyay (WA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 08:45

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 08:45
100% agree there blokes it works in SA it would work in WA as well, guess we will have to "Wait Awhile"
FollowupID: 655067

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 10:20

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 10:20
Kroozer its 10c now and even though i dont go bin hopping we collect all our own, and a $100 bag full happens pretty quickly.
Got $140 for my last delivery.

Pesty
FollowupID: 655072

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 10:17

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 10:17
We were in a parking bay one day and a truckie got out and put his rubbish in the bin, went back to the truck and then proceeded to empty the ashtray on the road just near his steer tyre, and he thought no one was watching. He then closed his curtains and went to bed. It was about 34 degrees and he locked the truck up. He didn't have any air conditioner either............ 2 truckies were watching what was going on, left it 10 minutes and went and picked the cigerette butts up, opened his diesel cap and put all the butts in his diesel tank.

What a classic we thought. Why not empty his ashtray in the rubbish where he put the rest of it. He was a dirty, grubby looking truck driver too, and the truck didnt look much better.

Now I am not hanging crap on truckies, I am married to an interstate truckie, but at least nmine showers everyday and puts fresh ironed clothes on. This other one looked like he hadnt shower or changed clothes for 6 weeks.

Anyway, dont know how far up the road he got, but he might have got a blockage I think......
Karen
AnswerID: 387705

Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 10:53

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 10:53
maybe because if hed just finished a smoke (likely) and chucked the ashtray in the bin it might light it up?

not that likely but quite possible
FollowupID: 655260

Follow Up By: Shaker - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:06

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 12:06
Still no excuse, most smokers seem to think there is a different set of rules for them regarding littering!

FollowupID: 655265