Toyota Landcriser (75) Gearbox / Clutch

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 16:00
ThreadID: 73112 Views:15361 Replies:8 FollowUps:4
My 2nd hand 75 (1HZ Engine) Landcruiser Ute has done genuine 180,000km. Most by the first owner. After I bought it I noticed at low speed in 2nd and 3rd gear mostly, say at a roundabout, it would make the "GR Gr Gr GR" as I pulled away. This is most annoying. My BJ70 never did that. Years ago I had a couple of Patrols that did it very badly, and it was fixed with a new clutch.

So, two weeks ago I had a new Exceedy kit fitted, flywheel dressed etc. While this reduced the "GR Gr Gr" my L'Cruiser still does it well and truely. This really bugs me.

Could it be a gearbox problem do you reckon at only 180,000km !!

Any thoughts appreciated.

Cheers, Ian

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 16:20

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 16:20
The HZJ75 all do it to some extent.I think it has something to do with the engine as my FJ73 never did it ,but they have the same gearbox.
A gearbox rebuild and new clutch didnt help me much.
I try and use higher rpms or less pedal
AnswerID: 387591

Reply By: racinrob - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:10

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:10
G'day Ian, I have an identical vehicle and a similar problem. After having the transfer case rebuilt at 100,000 Ks and again at 150,000 Ks now at 270,000 I have a growl somewhere in the transmission, a Toyota mechanic can't identify it, says keep driving it until we can pinpoint it !
I do hard Ks in remote areas carrying a lot of weight so it is a worry, other than this problem the 75 series has been a good reliable vehicle.

Rob
AnswerID: 387606

Follow Up By: Imstat - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:30

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:30
Thanks Rob (and Ross M). That's interesting Rob that clutch + rebuilt g'box didn't fix it - Crikey! That would be very disappointing, to sday the least.

The "GR gr gr" really makes slower driving a painful process. I could just about stall my BJ70 in third gear and pull away smooth as anything. I am sure you can't kill my faithfull 75 Toyo but it would be good if it didn't have this pesky problem.

Cheers Ian
FollowupID: 655120

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:24

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:24
As in the Grr Grrr Grr is a kind of chug chug chug until you get up to a reasonable speed? It's a common feature of the 1HZ... some people think it's the clutch but who knows really. Nothing to worry about anyway!
AnswerID: 387609

Reply By:- Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:39

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:39
Could be tyre noise on different road surfaces. Regards, Pauper.
AnswerID: 387660

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:07

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 23:07
Nothing to worry about , My Gearbox was done about 3 years ago, and the transfer 2 years ago, probably because I towed about 85 tonne in reverse for 40 meters, apart from I have always towed my Caravan in 5th when conditions are right ,

AnswerID: 387668

Follow Up By: Imstat - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 08:39

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 08:39
Doug, that's a lot of K's !
Do you know the history of the engine?
Thanks, Ian
FollowupID: 655241

Reply By: Imstat - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 08:35

Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 08:35
Thanks everyone.
Perhaps a tweek of the radio/CD volume knob will fix it :)

Cheers Ian
AnswerID: 387695

Reply By: Member - Dave and Shaz - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:21

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 17:21
We have a 93 HZJ75 Troopy and in Jan of this year, put it in for a "going away" service before heading to Tassie. Mentioned to (ex) mechanics that the gearbox was making a strange noise (mainly in 3rd gear pulling up hills) and the noise you describe sounds familiar. (Ex) mechanic said "don't worry, mine does that" and "you can't kill a troopy".Well, towing our campertrailer up from Longford, TAS to Arthurs Lake, we had to take on a pretty big climb (about 90 bends) but have done worse (climb up to Eungella Dam in Qld was steeper) but half way up theTroopy started making a new noise. Pulled over, checked things but couldn't see anything obvious (like oil spraying everywhere) and continued on, hoping to find a mechanic. Anyway, no luck on the mechanic front and 3 days later, the gearbox blew (seized completely). Turned out the seal between the gearbox and transfer case had failed and the oil had drained into the transfer case. This could all have been avoided if a tube had been fitted between the gearbox & transfer case that allows the oil to run back into the gearbox if the seal fails. I believe this is a problem with the troopies of this era.Well $4500 later we had a reconditioned gearbox fitted and after returning to the mainland spent another $4K plus on the car with a new (4WD specialist) mechanic, who also charged $100 to fit this tube as extra insurance. If you don't have this tube fitted, I'd get that done for sure.
AnswerID: 389851

Follow Up By: Imstat - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 07:48

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 07:48
Thanks Dave and Shaz,
I had a tube like that on my 1990 HJ75 with the 2H motor, but I thought that leaky problem between the transfer and g'box had been fixed in the later HZJ75 with the 1HZ motor. I had better investigate further.

That was bad luck, breaking your gearbox. I didn't think it was possible to bust a cruiser box. At least now you have a renewed unit. Cheers Ian
FollowupID: 657657

Reply By: tonysmc - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 22:55

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 22:55
hello Imstat,

This will sound strange, however try disconnecting the speedo cable right at the gearbox and go for a drive. I could tell you numerous stories of people with 75 landcruisers having a number of mechanical thing fixed (gearbox, transfer, wheelbearings, unijoints) only to find out its the speedo cable. I have personally heard some of the noises it can make and I would have bet my house it could no way be coming from a speedo cable. In any case it would be well worth the 5 mins to rule it out. Let us know how it goes! When I was first told of this I was reluctent to disconnect it as I thought oil would spew out of the gearbox as I drove around, however no oil came out.

Tony.
AnswerID: 389898

Follow Up By: Imstat - Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 07:50

Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 07:50
Thanks Tony, Growls like mine can take some tracking. I might experiment further, but maybe get used to keeping my revs up instead of poking around at lower revs. Cheers Ian
FollowupID: 657658