reversing camera angle

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 17:51
ThreadID: 73114 Views:3762 Replies:3 FollowUps:7
We are wanting to put a reversing camera onto our Nissan Patrol and wonder what is the best angle camera to get given the spare wheel is on the back? Is 170degrees a waste/too distorted? Any opinions from users out there? Thanks

Reply By: DIO - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 18:26

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 18:26
Basically you can suit yourself whatever angle you may wish to set. A bit of 'trial and error' will help you to sort it out. After all it's only used for reversing so it is ideal to be able to side to side and a reasonable distance behind. Good luck with it.
AnswerID: 387603

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 18:35

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 18:35
I fitted mine on the inner edge of the number plate

Just made a little bracket and it was good

I think mine was about 120deg but was fine.

Ran the cables through the loom into the door and if you remove the bits

above the number plate you will get the wire and connector through ok.

Could see the towbar ok as well as cars following.

I have my cameras set up so I can have it on when in reverse or by flicking a switch on all the time.

Easy to do and only need a couple of diodes to stop backfeeding the power.
As below

AnswerID: 387605

Follow Up By: workhorse - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 21:39

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 21:39
Hey Graham, I am trying to set up the same arrangement. Can you explain why the need for the diodes, rather than just the on/off switch and a fuse?
FollowupID: 655172

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:13

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 22:13
Mainly so that the power doesnt backfeed to the reverse lights. when you have it on full time
Second one is if you forget when its on full time and you put it into reverse

Dont think that one matters so much but is easy to put in and be sure

Keeps things tidy and safe

Sparky told me to do it and when i was a taxi owner we did the same on our tarrif lights on the roof To prevent the wrong one coming on
FollowupID: 655188

Follow Up By: workhorse - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:48

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:48
Hi Graham.
Thanks for your reply. If you could bear with me, electronics are not my forte, but what type/size of diode should I use and (from what I know, diodes are directional) what direction should they go?
Hope these questions aren't too obtuse.
Michael
FollowupID: 656515

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:33
No probs Im no expert either but have deep pockets and short arms so do all my own work.

The diodes can be bought at Dick Smith Tell them what you want them for as I havent got any spares to look at and the wiring is under tranny console.

The camera only draws about 500milliamps so tell them that.

They will also tell you which way the current runs.

Is from the black end if I remember The silver banded end is the blind end

Pretty easy to do really.

I used a pair of switches for the heated seats on a Sahara which are the ones

that normally go in the two blanks to the left rear of the shifter.

Got them from a wrecker to make it nice and neat.

Just need to meter out the wires to get a switching pair as there is about a dozen in there.

Any on off switch will do though, if you drill holes. I dont like doing that so go

to extremes sometimes to avoid doing it.

There is a connector under there that you can tap into for the ign power.

I also got some loom connectors and cut them to get the little pins out so

you can plug them into a socket nice and neat.

FollowupID: 656568

Follow Up By: workhorse - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 19:02

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 19:02
Graham, I'm going to owe you a beer or two after this. My local DS, the nearest elctronics place to me, only an hour's drive away, is staffed by people with knowledge less than I.
So now confronted with more research myself I'm at the crossroad of what wattage is needed.It seems there is a big range of wattage on these diodes.
Any suggestions?
FollowupID: 656844

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 20:03

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 20:03
Ok 1 or 2 amp is what you want bigger doesnt matter but not needed

The power goes in the black end and cant get in the banded end

So the silver banded end is always closest to the switch.

I just shortened the tails on them and soldered them directly to the switch .And taped it all up securely as they are live.

You could cover them and the exposed ends with heat shrink tube if you have some but not worth buying at $5 a length.

Do you have a soldering iron or a friend who has one. LOL
FollowupID: 656851

Reply By: Tenpounder (SA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:29

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:29
Hi there. I have to tell you, if you go too wide (as in wide angle, or fish eye) you may well get a wide field of vision, but you can forget about any accurate estimate of distance. Make you own call, mate, but I reckon you'll have to choose between the benefit of seeing sideways, and the benefit of knowing how far away an obstacle is.
But, all that said, I reckon the system is brilliant.
For the record, mine is wide angle, and I supplement it with the old fashioned glass things.
Have fun!!
AnswerID: 387611

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:53

Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:53
I agree 100%. It all depends what you want it for. That may seem pretty obvious, but I'll explain a bit more if i may.

I have a dual cab Patrol with a full steel canopy on the back. There is no rear vision from within the vehicle (IE: no rear window/s), so I have replaced my internal mirror with a 5" screen which is normally on all the time..... I tend to turn it off at night so it is less glarey.

I have my 2 "normal" extenal mirrors angled so I can see straight along the sides of my Patrol, which means I can see pretty much any vehicle coming up behind me until it gets to within about 20 meters of me. After that, I can only see it (assuming it is DIRECTLY behind me and not slightly off to one side) in the camera screen. I think my cameras (I also have one on the back of the camper trailer) are both 110 degree lenses. I have the Patrol's camera mounted just above the towbar connection....this would equate to placing it where that stupid "D" lug (for recovery use......if you're equally stupid or have a death wish). So, my advice is to do what a mate of mine did to his Patrol wagon: he removed the "D" loop and made up a steel box for the camera to fit into, which then utilises the same 4 bolts that had held the "D" loop in place. You could get away with just using 2 of the bolts in my opinion.

The other HUGE benefit of having it there is that you can back up onto your trailer/camper/caravan like an expert......no more arguements and misinterpreted hand signals from SWMBO.

In the case of a wagon which still has a modicum of rear vision through the rear windows, the camera would probably only need to be wired up to the reverse light/switch system, so the screen would normally be off. This is because (I assume), you only want the camera as an aid to reversing , to watch out for small children etc..... whereas I need mine on most of the time as I have a permanent blind spot behind me.

If you were to go for a 130 degree lense, it would be more distorted, but you'd have a wider field of vision, but not as 'accurate'...

Whatever you decide, I reckon they are an absolute MUST for any 4x4.

FollowupID: 655146