Member - John G
G'day All
A few weeks back I asked about the roads north of
Lake Mungo to Ivanhoe and points east.
Just returned. Roads are in excellent condition. We travelled from
Lake Mungo acroos to the
Balranald Ivanhoe road at Mossgiel, and then to
Hillston. Straightforward roads, and sitting on 80kph (not towing) was fine. An interesting trip across dry lake beds of the Willandra system. Given that the Willandra lakes used to be fed by
water from the Great Dividing Range, can anyone tell me where it is proposed that the
Lachlan River will be terminated?
Lkae Mungo is as fascinating as ever. I reckon the
Visitor Centre at
Lake Mungo is a bit underdone or under-resourced in terms of information, given an estimate I read of 55000 visitors pa. Can recommend the
Mungo Lodge, excellent management and 5-star facilities. As someone else noted recently - expensive, but the occasional indulgence can't be bad can it?
Reply By: Notso - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:28
Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 19:28
I live in
Forbes and I hear that the plan is to stop the Lachlan around
Condobolin.
Follow Up By: Dave B ( BHQ NSW) - Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:53
Sunday, Oct 18, 2009 at 20:53
If that's right then there is potentially even less
water for the Murray I guess.
Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:13
Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 09:13
No, not really mate, the Lachlan ends up in a swamp called the Great Cumbungi Swamp near Oxley, it only runs into the Murray about once in a 100 years.
Reply By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 20:37
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 20:37
We were at Mungo last week for 3 days and yep, it's an interesting place.
The Foreshore Walk is
well done, and the self-guided drive is
well supplied with info boards.
Well worth hopping out at Vigars Wells and walking over the dunes to look into the lake bed.
Some pics
here
Follow Up By: Member - John G- Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:23
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 14:23
G'day Sigmund
I agree with your comments. My criticism of the
Visitor Centre was not meant to be taken as major, just a comment that a
ranger was only available for one hour/day, the DVD/Video did not work, and the information on archeological sites and findings was sparse.
Still a fascinating place.
Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:25
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:25
Yeah, we just breezed through the Centre.
We did take a
ranger-guided walk through the Walls which was
well worth it.