Camp set up for Toyota Tray 4 x4 Ute
Submitted: Monday, Oct 19, 2009 at 22:32
Member - Burra
I have tried searching the site with little success. Being a 4 x 4 person I have become the person to ask advice from at work.
A work mate is moving to north of
Broome and we suggested this vehicle. He has now brought a Tray, ex mines and has asked me how to set up his vehicle for single travel. He wants to sleep in the back and I have suggested a kitchen on the passenger side with fridge, stove and cupboards, etc.
Has anyone set up a vehicle similiar to this??
Is there any suggestions you can give me to pass on.
Vechile has everything required for outback travel, he just needs to set up his living area.
Reply By: Nath'n'Lynz - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 09:00
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 09:00
Hi there. We have a Mazda bravo space cab with a full size tray on it.
We had an Alloy cage made by a friend of ours here in
Perth. It is fully lockable and has ripstop canvas all round. We did this mainly because we have dogs but we also sleep in the back too. It is also set up to have a rooftop tent up top aswell.
Price was around $4,000 all up. Couldn't be happier with it.
Can email pics if you wan't to have a look.
Lynz
Follow Up By: Member - Burra - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:21
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:21
Sounds good I would love to see the pictures can you email them to dpserle@bigpond.com Thank-you
Burra
Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:51
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:51
Have sent the pics - hope they help.
Lynz
Reply By: Member - John H (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 11:40
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 11:40
I can suggest adding an alloy tradies canopy/box onto the tray such as one from Trademate, Bosston, Bull, Steelstuff, etc (WA companies).
All the cooking/camping/storage gear than then be put in the back (out of the dust). He could also put his bed in there, or put a rooftop tent on top of the box.
It's worked for me.
Reply By: supertramp - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 15:54
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 15:54
I have a Hilux with alloy tray that i made a canopy out of aluminium screen doors.
They are easy and cheap to get 2nd hand off ebay, i bought the alum channels etc and use thin plywood for roof, good support from the frame off tray plus builders rack.
Large access on both sides and rear, lockable and very sturdy.
Also very easy to dismantle, i was able to stack the sides together with roof and put them away where it doesnt take up much space.
Custom canvas canopy costs me $400 plus additional $230 for larger canvas tarp over the canopy when stopping.
I would post a photo later.
Reply By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:48
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 17:48
It is easy to make a slide off camper unit. Either set it up to sleep inside or for a roof top tent and have a swing out kitchen, like the one we made. More photos on my profile - Cheers Tony
Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:40
Tuesday, Oct 20, 2009 at 22:40
Dreaming of doing the same thing myself, but making a box that can be lifted off & put on castors in the shed instead of a canopy, which is seen more often.
I saw a few examples on our last trip. One couple had a fiberglass canopy that was preasurised by 2 radiator fans to keep out the dust. They were just finishing off 12000 klm of deserts & dirt roads & had not had a spec of dust get in. They both slept in the back with all their gear.
I think those fiberglass canopies might be pretty exy though.
Another bloke I met had made his box frame out of 65 x 35 RHS & sheeted it with road signs (he worked for main roads). He gave the whole thing a 2 pack paint job in white. Had a kitchen on the kerb side & a wall dividing it from the bed.
I like the wall myself because of the bracing effect. This setup was pretty heavy, i think mainly because of the overesized RHS used & road signs are pretty thick for that job.
Good Luck with it.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:07
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:07
Mine also may be Main Road
sign rejects :-)
Reply By: Best Off Road - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:13
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:13
Burra,
We've done all sorts of setups for touring vehicles.
They're's pretty much nothing we cant do.
If you click on "My Profile" below, it will take you to our website.
Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 09:36
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 09:36
This is
mine ,has lots of storage space and all the goodies are locked away in sliding drawers.Has built in 60 litre tank and a kitchen on the tailgate.
It has a 100 amp battery a 3 fluro lights and 3 plugs for outside lighting and fridges,but ti can also run off the main batteries up front
Weighs about 500kg
Its in the process of having a Black Widow awning fitted to the roof racks
Reply By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:39
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:39
Burra, have just such a
camp box sitting in my shed at home. It has sat on the back of my Nissan ute and I have used it with an Oztent along side, sleeping in the box. It has a 5' fridge slide and four drawers - two each side. There is a 'long storage'up the middle too.
There is another shot here
The price would be discounted currently as I could use the shed space.