Waceo v Trailblazer
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:34
hickson
Have a mate wanting to buy a fridge for his slide on, he's keen on the Waceo & I have suggested the trailblazer. appreciate your thoughts
Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:38
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 16:38
Neither !!
Reply By: wildbill05 - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:21
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:21
Well I have had my Trailblazer since 1989 with no problems and heavy use when away - Bill
Reply By: chisel - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:32
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:32
Trailblazer are about twice the price of the waeco. Bit of a strange comparison.
Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:47
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:47
What a load of snot.
Waeco price listTrailblazer price list
For build Quality and a far superior product the small difference in price is a no brainer.
Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:32
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:32
I don't have any thoughts on this, but brace yourself - can of worms opened - by the time you go thru all the responses you'll get, you'll likely be more 'informed' on these brands of fridge, as
well as all the others out there, but still no clearer on what one to recommend to ya mate!!
Now, where's my popcorn? Time to sit back & watch the show!
Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:51
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:51
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:28
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:28
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Chit Chat Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 01:27
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 01:27
No Mark you have opened a can of MODERATORS. lol
10 9 8 7 6 5 4 3 2 1 MODERATED.
Reply By: Travelin OZ - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:33
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:33
It's not even close, Trailblazer.
Trailblazer
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:06
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:06
It's not even close - Waeco :-)
Here we go again :-)
My 80ltr has not missed a beat 6 years - Cheers
Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:45
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:45
they both use danfoss compressors so the diff is in the build quality and the price.
pesty
Follow Up By: Wilk0 - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:07
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:07
Both not even close Engel.
Someone has to stoke the fire.
Cheers Wilko
Reply By: Rockape - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:35
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 17:35
All I can say is my Trailblazer is 15yrs old and never been any trouble.
Reply By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:43
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:43
Trailblaza without doubt, especially in the tropics. WD
Reply By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:49
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:49
I am in Wayne S's
camp a bit, wheres the popcorn. It's a bit like the Holden and Ford argument, it just does not end.
Everyone has a particular one that they have had for years, given no trouble and heard a bad storey about another brand.
Apart from longevity another important aspect to consider is efficiency. 4WD Action recently did a Fridge comparo (issue 136) and rated the ARB unit the best with Waeco runner up. Engle a fair way down the list from an energy efficiency point of view. Trailblazer was not included in the range tested.
Now pass the popcorn!
Follow Up By: AlbyNSW - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:52
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:52
Soory , Typo should of said Mark S (sorry)
Reply By: Bandicoot - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:52
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 18:52
I've had my Trailblaza since 1995 and it's been everywhere. I was living in the Isa at the time (when I bought it) working for MIM and noticed that our mining exploration people used Trailblazas out in the field. You'd see them in the back of work utes along with drill core and everything else...out in Sun and with drill core hitting them as it rolled around. It was enough for me. Anything that can handle mining applications has to be good... and it has been.
Reply By: Member - lyndon NT - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 19:32
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 19:32
Do all Waceo's now come with a spare lid?? :)
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 19:48
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 19:48
Personally speaking, I love my Trailblaza! It has been with us for 6 years and has not let us down, even though it was strapped in the back the day that SWMBO parked the GQ on it's roof! When we got it back on it's
wheels, I switched it back on (I had switched it off after I got SWMBO out of the truck...) and it hasn't missed a beat since. Built tough!!
Having said that, the Engel and Waeco are good units as
well, they're all fridges after all, but it's a horses for courses kinda thing. I like the toughness and reliability of the Trailblaza, but they are a big fridge and also quite heavy.
Just my opinion, no affiliation with the company at all....
Reply By: Member - David K (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:32
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:32
I can not give the Trailblazer fridge & service a big enough rap. My Trailblazer is around 30year's
young goes like a dream.
Cheers David
Reply By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:35
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:35
In my game I see a lot of fridges and talk to a lot of owners.
I've personally owned a Waeco and an Engel. Would never buy either again.
My next will be an Evakool. Excellent insulation, very robust construction and great value for money.
Disclaimer: I don't sell them.
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:55
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:55
I agree about EvaKool being good, but they are a ridiculous shape with the compressor hanging off the end.
So still Engel for me.
Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:09
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:09
This post has been read by the moderation team and has been moderated due to a breach of The Foul Language Rule
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Haza - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:12
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:12
Are you looking at the Evakool Fibreglass or the fridgemate Plastic?
The only negitive reports I have heard was the compressor mounts where there weakness. That was a few years ago and am wondering if they upgraded them.
I agree the shape is odd, Shaker. Though it keeps heat from the body of the fridge. Which helps them be one of the lowest in power use for there price.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:55
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:55
Agree Jim, Ours has been brilliant in the trailer. Handled it all with ease and good low power consumption. There back up and support is the best. Thought we had a problem with the fridge but turned out to be a faulty battery. They talked us through every possible problem as we were in the middle of no where and was still covered by warranty if I mucked it up. Would by another one any day but don't need to cause the first is still like new. With freeze fresh meat etc..
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 23:10
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 23:10
Engel, overpriced? ... Yes. Overrated? ... No!
Follow Up By: paulnsw - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:52
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:52
Engel over rated over priced only bought by those sucked in by advertising
You are getting seriously ripped off when you buy an Engel for a mediocre quality product. For a start the insulation is not sufficient and they use to much power. You dont get an Engel repaired parts are gold and the owner ends up with a heart attack.
Follow Up By: obee1212 - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 10:32
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 10:32
and they rust
owen
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 13:00
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 13:00
Nothing ridiculous about them,its still basically a rectangle and nearly half the weight of the Engel in the same size...I hav the RF60 fiberglass and been through the High Country etc and not one dent..
If you want to borrow mine to try out Jim just email me...
Follow Up By: Shaker - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 13:21
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 13:21
The compressor & housing sticking out the end, stops them from being able to used with a fridge slide in a lot of vehicles.
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 15:47
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 15:47
Hiya Shaker
I have seen them in a lot too,What vehicles are you talking about outa curiosity????
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 16:10
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 16:10
Ok just sized up the two fridges..The Evakool is 2 inchs longer,smaller in all other widths and nearly half the weight of the Engel in the 60litre size...Evakool do do there own slides.Its always a bugger when you come up a couple of inches short heah..lol
Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:54
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:54
Hickson
Trailblazer is the more rugged fridge.
Depends on what your mate intends to use it for.
Corregated roads in the back of a tray - trailblazer
Bitumen roads in a soft roader - waceo
Tjilpi
Follow Up By: Shaker - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:56
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 20:56
Corrugated roads killed my Waeco in under a week, lucky I had the Engel as well.
Reply By: Crackles - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:05
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:05
If your mate has the space, the extra dollars will be well invested in the Trailblazer being far more efficient, sturdy & reliable.
As has already been mentioned it's an unusual comparison as rarely do people choose between these two. Normally the Waeco is bought on price & being compact for it's capacity. The Trailblazer on the other hand is bought for use in high temperatures, for low power consumption, & being very rugged.
Cheers Craig............
Reply By: Robin Miller - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:06
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:06
I think you have to state something about the values important to the user and there situation Hickson.
For me it was easy , I want efficentcy and access on the move in a small size fridge , and that is determined more by where the fridge sits than its make.
So mine had to fit between the cars front seats , not in the heat of the back of a wagon , so I choose the 21 lt Waeco which takes on average about 800ma
to operate it.
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:20
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:20
Given a choice of Waeco or Trailblaza in similar size I would go for Trailblaza every time. But I have a trayback and have actually ordered an Explorer for it.
This is one of those "how long is a piece of string" questions. For example Trailblaza cost more so depending on budget it could be Waeco or no fridge and any fridge is better than no fridge.
I have a 25 litre Waeco and it has worked reliably for years. Not exactly fair to relate experiences with it as the larger Waecos have some differences but the world is not fair and I will give my view of it anyway.
The lid - every time, as in every time, it is opened the lid falls off. Doesn't break but is infuriating. I believe the larger and later models have better design.
Temperature - holds low temperature really well. I usually set it to about 0 degrees and it locks on to that. Perfect for beer. Good when used as a freezer as well (rarely).
Insulation - a bit light but does the job as a car fridge quite well where the increased bulk of good insulation could make a larger fridge, for the same inside volume, an inferior choice.
Is it on? Found it difficult to be sure if it was on or not. The leds can be hard to see in
bright sunlight. Only a small issue.
The Waeco experience heavily influenced what I was looking for in a bigger fridge to go on a tray and of the products presently on the market (I did consider each and every one) the Explorer and the Trailblaza dead heated a little ahead of the Autofridge (I wanted a metal case construction) and way ahead of all the others. Funny thing that the three finalists are all locally made.
If I had not had so much problem with techno gadgets on recent trip I may have looked for another brand. Reliability and serviceability became very important in my choice.
Each to his or own on this never ending topic.
Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:25
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 21:25
That should be "Each to his or her own on this never ending topic".
Reply By: olgus69 - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:13
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:13
Go an ice box, most people dont go camping any longer than 4 days very often. A block of ice cost around $3.50. No need for an expensive dual battery or solar, nor do you have to carry around a 100lt box that can only fit 60lt of drinks/food. And theres nothing better than beer on ice. On the other hand if your doing a lot of travelling for long periods then the whole frige thing is a good thing. Oh and the arb and evakool fridge got the big thumbs up recently over the rest in 4wd monthly.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:04
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:04
4 days camping and the ice takes up 1/2 the room of the esky - thus you nees a 120ltr to store 60ltr of goods - Too bulky :-)
Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 09:07
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 09:07
Hickson,
Can we ask what fridge you use ??
Tell your mate to have a closer look at these too
National Luna Fridge Link :Image Could Not Be FoundMaîneÿ . . .
Reply By: Mark S (cns) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 09:19
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 09:19
Forum Moderation Team
Reply By: Member - Boo Boo (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 13:04
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 13:04
Well,,,, I have never heard so much bias inf in all my life....
If your mate wants a good reliable
fridge that has the flexibility to be a large or small
fridge by changing the lid then BUSHMAN is the way to go.
I recently packed ours with fish fillets, put the Bushman on -18 and nearly 3 days later eveything was still frozen.
It's basically left on all the time and
draws very little power.
There now please use this reply as an example of being non- bias!
Follow Up By: Mark S (cns) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 15:52
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 15:52
Forum Moderation Team
Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:37
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:37
I have a 50 lt
Waeco in my 4.75 mt boat, I just gave away a working 25 year old 50 lt Engel to a mate, I also have a 60 lt
Evakool and before I set off on my next trip I will get myself a 100 lt Trailblazer.
As for the ones Mainey and Boo Boo have suggested never heard of them.
By the way the
waeco was given to me broken and cost me nothing to fix, the
Evakool I got at cost price and the Trailblazer will be worth every cent. lol
Reply By: Gramps - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:34
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:34
Forum Moderation Team
Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 19:01
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 19:01
Latest frdige comparison in 4wd monthly
12v fridge comparo
Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 19:23
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 19:23
No one trusts those
fridge comparos,if their
fridge is not on top they blame test LOL.