Follow up to engine damage earlier this year
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:29
Member - Josh (TAS)
As I mentioned back in April we had the engine in the cruiser rebuilt after the engine over heated when the belts came off the newly fitted alternator stopping the
water pump. When the engine was rebuilt we found the pulleys on the alternator did not line up with the pulley on the
water pump/main crank pulley. Fitted new alternator and no more belts coming off.
As mentioned in previous threads we contacted the company who fitted the alternator and were basically told bad luck. Eventually it was handed to there insurance company who asked for the alternator to be returned for testing which we did.
After 6 months from initial problem and little reply from them I decided it was time to get things moving so sent them a letter demanding payment or legal action will be taken.
The insurance company rings and says they have been waiting for my insurance company to contact them. I said I haven't put in a claim with them. Their reply was, we will get an assessor to look at the car then if they can't come up with something we will send it to a forensics investigator.... huh....
I asked what the assessor will being looking at as it is already repaired and you have the alternator. They said he will look at the car?????
Anyway the assessor turns up and I asked him, he was a bit puzzled as
well but looks at the car to see how it all fits now and takes a few photos. He seemed to think they should have just paid for the damage as the new alternator has fixed the problem so would indicate the other alternator or the way it was fitted was the cause of the problem.
So here is hoping they will actually do something soon and we may get our money back for the rebuild. Mind you I'm not spending the money yet.
Will let you know of the outcome when the insurance company actually gets off their bum and does something.
Josh
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:35
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:35
Good one, keep us in
the loop.
Reply By: PradOz - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:37
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:37
Hi Josh
If the money comes in you may be able to forget the push mower and get a ride-on HAHAHA
Good luck with it all
mick
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:42
Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 22:42
Ha Ha Ha. Thanks Mick now ya thinking, was just looking at the lawn tonight and thinking bugger it's time to move lol. Was windy last night and the walls didn't move, how strange!!!!!!
Josh
Reply By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 00:27
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 00:27
Josh, I'm sorry for your troubles but I do hope you have added an engine temperature alarm to the extensive list of accessories listed in your profile.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:47
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:47
yes they are cheap insurance and would have saved a lot of hassle so would recomend them for sure
Josh
Reply By: viz - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 04:56
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 04:56
what about contacting the MTAA?
MTAA
viz
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:46
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 07:46
If they decide not to pay then I will take it further. Thought I would give them a chance to do to right thing but they are now starting to push their luck.
Josh
Reply By: taswegian - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 14:33
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 14:33
G'day josh,
Welcome to Tassie, show day in
Hobart is like thie every year--Honest!
Tassie.
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 20:04
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 20:04
Thanks Tasweigian,
We were in
Burnie when the show was there so we didn't go here in
Hobart. Driving through
Hobart this morning and hit peak hour traffic.... all 5 cars lol. Took us 25mins to drive from Glenorchy to
Kingston, my sister inlaw rang, it took her 45 mins to drive half that distance in
Melbourne. She could have flown to
Hobart quicker than she drives to work.
Josh
Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 20:10
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 20:10
just a bit curios how you missed the belts coming off? Ive had it happen a few times and all the dash lights coming on is a pretty quick giveaway you cant miss
Follow Up By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 20:29
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 20:29
When we had the alternator fitted the lights came on when got home from picking the car up. Rang auto elec and he said bring it in I'll have a look, it was a fualty plug which I found out later that they had changed when they fitted the alternator. Not sure why they had to change the plug on the engine side if this alternator was meant for this engine???
We were sitting on 110 km/h and the engine was working when the lights came on. I had enough time to say " Bugger we will have to take the car back in, I've had a gut full of this as we were pulling over, I noticed steam coming from under the bonnet. I found out later the belts were actually rolling over (inside out) before they came and the mechanics reckon the engine may have been running a bit warm to start with. Botton line is if they had done their job properly non of this would have happened in the first place.
Josh
Follow Up By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:07
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:07
I know it doesnt take long I threw the belts as I was driving underground at bay 1. I turned around and took i just outside the portal (about 200m) at it was boiling like a billy motor seemed fie though but knowing the 1hz I must have been lucky not to crack the head