Explor Papua Niugini- very close to Oz

Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 21, 2009 at 23:04
ThreadID: 73210 Views:2771 Replies:4 FollowUps:2
Just to show we don't have a mortgage on tracks requiring 4WD. I used to live and work on Manus Island (2 S 147 24 E) many years ago.

My son and I went back recently to have a look around.

The main road down the centre of the island used to be quite good. No problem in a 2WD twin cab hilux then.

Like a lot of PNG, things have reverted to a more natural state. Using a hired 4WD we quickly became stranded and could only get out by loading the ute with about ten bodies to improve traction.Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found

Reply By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 15:44

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 15:44
I did a couple of car rallys in PNG late 70's. Awesome roads....

AnswerID: 388221

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:52

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:52
Stopped in at Manus a few times on our way "up top" during the 60's. Great place, even applied for a posting there. Ended up in Darwin instead.
AnswerID: 388240

Reply By: Gone Bush (WA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:10

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:10
Mrs Bush and I lived up there for 4 years, Dec 74 to Feb 79, working in Air Traffic Control in Goroka, Madang and Lae (Nadzab). Both our little shrubs were born up there.

I used to go riding out in the jungle exploring WW2 sites on a Honda XL100.

Great place gone to the pack.

AnswerID: 388246

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 19:50

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 19:50
Yeh, I'm another former expat....did 3 terms in PNG (with the NAB and it's subsidiary, Bank of South Pacific) and each time I went back (with a stint back here in Oz in between), the place had gone backwards.

Bloody hell, the first town I went to up there doesn't even EXIST anymore... (Rabaul...1972 to 1974).

Then I went back after independance....this time to Mt Hagen (1977 - 1979), followed by 12 months in Moresby (what a bloody hole that was then....probably even worse now).

In 1987 I got my first managerial position; at Kundiawa, Chimbu Province. Fair dinkum, that was like stepping back into the wild west. I used to carry my bank pistol (a useless Browning .32) with me outside bank hours....never told head office of course.

I remember travelling on a track very similar to that one shown in the photo (above), in the Banks Datsun 180B station wagon when I was based in Mt Hagen.... That 180B used to get us to some amazing places out west of Hagen.

As a manager at Kundiawa in 1987, I was provided with a Nissan Navara dual cab, 2.4 petrol. That was my first experience with doing any 4 wheel driving; man, what a steep learning curve.

Anyway, as a now-retired bankie, I look back fondly on those days....but I will never go back to that beautiful country...... it scares the bejeezus outa me these days!!!!!

FollowupID: 655854

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:41

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:41
I am always surprised at the numbers of people who spent years in PNG.

I first went there in 1966 when my Auntie was a teacher in the Trobriands.

I was posted to Manus in 1981 for 2 yrs.

I was back there 3 yrs ago. Yes Moresby is the pits. Our bags were snaffled by rasacls who put them in a cab whose driver had a death wish. 130 kph down thje hill into Moresby in a shyte box mazda with no brakes. Thought we were gonna die.

Great country. Shame about the ruling class. (That we created) Somare = crook.
AnswerID: 388284

Follow Up By: burnsy - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:38

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:38
My first time was 1985 at Oktedi. Moresby has gone to the pack.
The only place to stay there now is the Airways hotel or the Crowne Plaza in town.
The airways is my pick, it's close to the airport been renovated a few years ago.
I client of mine was murdered by rascals just a few months ago in Moresby.
Not a nice place to visit. Don't trust the taxies at all.Forget the buses.
The boys were telling me recently that the new trick to earn money was to throw their dead granny in front of your car to get run over. It would cost you about 4000 kina half to the cops & the other to the grannies family. Still it is a magnificent country it's a pity I will never get the chance to spend time there & have a good look around without a flak jacket & body guard.
FollowupID: 655931