Highway discount - What you can find on the roads
Submitted: Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 16:42
Member - Tonyb (FNQ)
Have to figure out a way to advertise locally a recent pickup off the road. A Hitachi Koki DS14DL 14.4V Cordless drill with 2 x Batteries and heaps of bits.
Someone will be real sad at the moment because they retail for around $457.00.
A note on the local notice board may do the trick in a small town - the owner should know where he may have dropped it. Would have to be a contractor I would say.
Up in the gulf on the
Cloncurry road outside
normanton there used to be a bump that help deposit many a special on the road - I am still using 15 years later all the electrical connections that fell off a truck - took hours to pick them up :-)
Over the years there I have seen many a spot like this - PDR floodways were other good spots for lost gear.
Cheers tony
Reply By: swampy460 - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:16
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:16
Thanks for finding it, i was going to ask if anyone had seen it.
Will send my address so you can send it back to me.
hehehehehe
swampy
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:30
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:30
That is a problem :-)
It is hard to get it back to the original owner - you can not give too much info away... what was that road you were driving on today?
:-) You have a few to choose from, you could be lucky
Cheers Tony
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:32
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:32
You could ring Hitachi,He may hav registered serial for warranty ????...They wont giv out details but they may contact him if you leave yours..just a thought
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:37
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:37
I was going that way - problem is the bit that scraped
on the roadwhen it got thrown from the case is the serial sticker. Its just not readable, a couple of letters/numbers only.
Its like the sticker was purposely tampered with :-) (It wasn't though just in case the joke is not understood by some)
Ta for that
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:56
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:56
Hiya Tony
You can only do so much mate...I watched a sander fall off a trailer as it was turning while i was on the nature strip talking to a mate in a car,as i walked up to get it a silly women turned the corner and just ran over it,went back to the mate and we tried to find the vehicle,after 15 minutes we gave up.Next day i get a knock on the door,he had walked up and down the street...I said yeah i have it,He grabbed it and started to walk off,i said its worth a couple hundred bucks isnt it,yeah he said as he walked out my driveway not even to say thanks mate.....
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:46
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:46
Its a small town - will not take long for an owner to tell about his bad luck...and then he will find out he had good luck :-)
Reply By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:21
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:21
I appreciate that you're trying to get it back to it's owner, but I find it a bit disturbing (to say the least) the amount of stuff that falls from vehicles...
It is not trivial to have something like that falling from a moving vehicle and potentially hitting an oncoming car, or a pedestrian.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:32
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:32
Its another one of those things, how many people are breaking the law with unsecured loads.
Anything in the back of a ute or on a truck has to be tied or under a canopy.
You can even be done carrying items in your car I have just heard..go figure!
I agree its not trivial - its $450 :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:41
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:41
I was driving behind a gardening ute along
Mitchell Freeway in
Perth a while ago when one of those plastic garden rakes caught a breeze and flew back towards me, had to do a bit of eratic driving to miss it and other cars LOL but on a more serious note a few years ago a woman was killed when a large part rolled off the tray of a truck that she was following, hit her car and she was killed instantly, inocent victim of some one elses laziness.
Deanna
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:54
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:54
Hiya Dunworkin
Know how you feel,I had 2 wooden pallets come off the back of a truck while we were doing 80kms behind him in an 80 zone of course,landed in the middle of road and bounced diff directions.Luckily no oncoming traffic..Gets the Adrenalin going..The truck kept driving lol
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:03
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:03
Hi River Swaggie, yeh the gardening ute kept going as
well, we were doing 100 ks as it was the freeway, lucky for me there wasn't any cars tailgating or immediately to my right otherwise I would of had a rake handle through the window. Things falling off of vehicles is damn dangerous really.
Deanna
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:49
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:49
How about the poor bloke who got killed today - Was helping out a motorist on the freeway and was walking back to his car
Truck tyre blew out and he was killed by the flying
debris
When you times up its up!
Follow Up By: Member - Dunworkin (WA) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 18:47
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 18:47
Now that is what one calls being in the wrong place at the wrong time....that is so sad, if he hadn't stopped to help out??? one chance in a million or more.
I totally agree with when your time is up!!!! I guess it's just as
well we don't know when that is.
Deanna
Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 20:11
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 20:11
Deanna,
"I guess it's just as
well we don't know when that is"
I would love to know where it is, not "when that is"
'Cos I just would not go there until ready.....LOL
Michael
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 20:44
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 20:44
Well, since you don't know when/where, just make sure you're ready (that's the only part you can control)
Reply By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:30
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:30
Ive got that disease that big fat man had in the BROTHER labeling Ad...Even put a label on the inside of my sunglasses which were worth a coupla hundred bucks,was walking one twilight and a branch must have knocked them off my head,wasnt going to walk the ten kms back in the dark,next day i get a phone call from a jogger,went around and got my glasses,he got some beers and both happy..All my
tools have em labeled.
No label on the missus though...
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:33
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:33
Darn good Idea - All you need then is someone to pick it up that is willing to return it :-)
Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:57
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 17:57
You'd like to think most people are honest heah...
Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 14:02
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 14:02
Knew a guy who used to write his name on his boxes of matches.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 16:41
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 16:41
I'll bet it's difficult to write on each of the matches so the writing is big enough for someone to read it! :)
Reply By: Travelin OZ - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:01
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:01
Yeah I found a 200B Calcutta shimano reel in Arnhemland last Friday, someone would have been crying in their beer last weekend.
The reel is worth about $400.
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:04
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:04
Now that was a real find - drills are a dime a dozen :-)
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:10
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:10
I once found an abseiling harness and decender on the way down to a canyon in the Blue Mountains.
I felt really sorry for the person who dropped it. It was a long steep walk down to the first abseil and without the gear they would be turning back. There was no track so the odds of retracing your steps and finding it were pretty slim.
I am still using the decender but the harness was always a bit dodgy.
Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:21
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 18:21
Take it to the nearest Police Station and hand it in as found property. Make sure that you get a receipt and if after (usuually) 90 days no one has claimed it then it's yours (legally). Something of that value would be missed and I would expect the the owner would/could report it as lost/stolen property. If it is recorded as stolen property and you are found in possession of it then you could be facing criminal charges of Receiving or Unlawfull POssession (goods etc).
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:00
Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:00
Good Idea - Then the police can charge him $300 at the same time for a load that was not secure :-)
They have been cracking down on work Utes here lately and a few of my work mates are $300 worse off. They had toolboes bolted to the tray but had shovels and their lunchboxes just placed in the back.
Ouch is all I can say. Did a Google search on handing in lost property - funny not a lot comes up.
Ta & Cheers
Reply By: robertbruce - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 13:48
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 13:48
I'm amazed so many people keep what they find... it is supposed to be handed into a police station,
consider this,
stuff fallen often the back of a truck and picked up and not handed in becomes "tainted property"...
dills!!! you cannot keep lost property because then it is not lost!, its stolen!
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:45
Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:45
Go for it robertbruce - your a saint :-)
Follow Up By: Fatso - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:52
Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:52
I think they charge you with "theft by finding".
Goods found have to be handed to the police within 24 hours or the holder can be charged. I think it is a criminal charge in Qld.