QLD Transport and 4wds

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:30
ThreadID: 73229 Views:3937 Replies:7 FollowUps:16

Did a job today for a bloke who works as a transport inspector for QLD Tpt and we got talking about 4 wheel drives. He tells me that from December 1st
they have been told that one of thier targets will be overloaded 4 wheel drives. This will last through the Christmas travelling season. He says its a safety concern about braking and handling. Any vehicle with a full load and full roofrack will be fair game according to him. He also indicated that anything exceeding more than 250 kg over the GVM wouldn't be going anywhere untill it was reduced to the legal weight.
Seems like Anna Bligh's going to grab extra money from where ever she can.
Don't know what the fines are these days but from my trucking days I can tell you they wont be cheap.
No doubt there will be something in the press at a later date.

Cheers Teza

Reply By: ben_gv3 - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:39

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:39
How are they going to measure the weights on the side of the road? Do a visual inspection/calculation and take a WAG?

I can see the justification in targeting overloaded vehicles for safety (and money-raising) reasons though. It's funny how so many people on here openly quote their vehicles being overloaded before a big trip... and yet do nothing to retcify it.
AnswerID: 388277

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:44

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:44
Ben, they are called "Scalies". The RTA here in NSW can pull any car, truck, trailer or bus over anywhere and weigh them. They have mobile scales. All the truckies dread them....lol.
You normally find the ones down here set up in a parking bay somewhere and wheel the truckies in. You never know what parking bay they will be in next.
Karen
FollowupID: 655889

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:44

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:44
"How are they going to measure the weights on the side of the road?"

BWUAAAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAAAA................

Obviously, you've never been a truckie.......

HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAAAA

;-))
Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 655890

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:45

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:45
Up here most carry portable scales and they also have the concrete pads where the weigh trucks . I too see the justification but where does it end?
FollowupID: 655891

Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:56

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:56
"and yet do nothing to rectify it". Because they make it nearly impossible :-)

So the trick is to be overloaded and not look like you are - Go the Air Bags
FollowupID: 655892

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:59

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 21:59
"Go the Air Bags"

That won't fool the 'mermaids', Tony....

;-)))

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 655893

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:11

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:11
It wouldnt even be necessary if people followed the rules.

Take a triailer if the cars too heavy.

I was overweight when i weighed the rig at the start of the big trip.

Went home dumped a lot of stuff which we havent missed and stayed legal

A tinny and an outboard and half a dozen Jerries isnt really a sensible roofrack load is it Seen plenty along those lines.

FollowupID: 655899

Follow Up By: ben_gv3 - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 11:01

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 11:01
Well ya learn something new everyday.

And Ed C, no I've never been a truckie or ever want to be one.
FollowupID: 655978

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 12:54

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 12:54
Ed.C...."Mermaids"...haha. I used to hear my old man call them that years ago when he was doing interstate work.
Wasn't until I got older that he explained what it meant.
FollowupID: 655996

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 15:19

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 15:19
Tell us

Im old and never had it explained

FollowupID: 656019

Follow Up By: Fab72 - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 16:29

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 16:29
First word rhymes with hunts........
Second part is "with scales."
So when you put it together you get _ _ _ _ _ with scales = Mermaids.
FollowupID: 656032

Reply By: Member - Wamuranman - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:03

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:03
There is probably no reason why they could not also use the weigh bridges at Burpengary on the Bruce Highway as they only use them at random for trucks nowdays. Could easily pull in 4x4 heading north or south - there would be thousands every day in the holiday period using the highway.
My GVM of my Landcruiser is 4500Kg and as far as I know have never been anywhere near being overloaded.
AnswerID: 388281

Reply By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:17

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 22:17
Easy fixed dont go anywhere near Queerland, spend your money in some other state.
Its a wonder Mr Wanker money grabbing Rann hasnt thought of it for SA

Pesty
AnswerID: 388283

Reply By: D200Dug- Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:09

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:09
Given some of the vehicles and loads I have seen on queensland roads it sounds like a great idea to me !

They should also do it at easter on the road to Frazer island !

Well done QLD Transport get unsafe vehicles off our roads :-)
AnswerID: 388294

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:14

Thursday, Oct 22, 2009 at 23:14
This is not really new, QLD police and transport have been conducting random highway road blocks for a while now.

they pick a section of road and check ALL traffic for license, rego, defective vehicles, drink driving, drugs etc etc etc.

Many of the office staff are seconded over holidays to man these stops it gives them time out in the real world.

Anyone with an overloaded or illegal vehicle would be better to stay home for the holidays.
FollowupID: 655928

Follow Up By: slammin - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 12:07

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 12:07
"^"

In all my driving I'm yet to do the Townseville -> Cairns Bruce Hwy and not see QLD transport inspectors.

2 Xmas's ago they closed the Hwy E of Mt Isa stopped every 4wd, vehicle with trailer, truck for weighing and breathalyser and breathalysed everything else.

QLD has always been the most policed state, nothing new there. It's thanks to Joh and high unemployment.
FollowupID: 655991

Reply By: Member - Don M (NSW) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 06:52

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 06:52
I'm surprised that they will only stop you driving on if you are ore than 250kg over...?? I thought you would be booked and unable to drive if you were over by any amount.!!

And while I'm at it, can you ask your mate if it is true that you cannot register your fourby in Queensland if you have removed the rear seats. I have taken out the third row from my LC200 and am hoping to take out the second before I head off around the block next year. Since we are moving back to Queensland as well, I need to register there as I won't have a NSW address.
AnswerID: 388310

Follow Up By: Member - Lewis K (QLD) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 07:00

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 07:00
Don,

Fair chance that when the inspection is done, if the seats are not in you will have to reduce the number of passengers that you will be able to carry. Also it is not just the seats that need to be in but also every single bolt as well as the seat belts. Happened to me when I returned to Queensland from NSW. Registered ok in WA and NSW but crossed the boarder and ran into trouble.
FollowupID: 655945

Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 07:56

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 07:56
Don,

I replaced the three quarter passenger seat in my ute with a single seat and had to get an inspection done and they pop rivot a blue compliance plate to the firewall makeing it now a two seater.

You may have the same problem

Cheers Teza
FollowupID: 655951

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 11:19

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 11:19
AS Teza said You have to get an engineer to recertify it.

Mine has only two seats and cost $60 for the blue plate

Technically you are supposed to remove the seatbelts as well

When you replace ALL the seats back to original you have to get another certificate.

It is to do with changing the vehicle tye

eg only two seats makes it a van like a hiace

Something to do with insurance
FollowupID: 655981

Reply By: Member - Kevin J (Sunshine Coa - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:49

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 17:49
Re the removal of the rear seats in Toyota.

My understanding is that where the seats are removalable without having to undo any bolt then it is permissable on a temporary basis. No one has yet qualified what is 'temporary'

Where removal requires undoing bolts then the situation requires certification or reclassification. ie new plate.

Kevin J
AnswerID: 388402

Reply By: Ical - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 13:06

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 13:06
Hi guy's I'm a newbie here.
You also need to blue plate if you took out your third row seats and
put in a cargo barrier. And then the same again for the reverse.

Cheers Ian.
AnswerID: 388614

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 13:15

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 13:15
Dont think so and I have two cargo barriers I told the engineer when I got the seats done and he didnt say i needed a plate for them

Technically as stated above you can remove unbolted seats as in 3rd row in a 100ser.

Under that rule you Technically CANT remove 3rd row in a Patrol or a 200 ser as they are bolted in.

Yes everybody does it but is it legal

Just a thought
FollowupID: 656269