Glind Little Ripper - is it?

Submitted: Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 14:45
ThreadID: 73246 Views:3769 Replies:2 FollowUps:4
Just wondering whether the Little Ripper pumps enough water for a decent shower. 4 ltrs per minute doesn't sound like much. I'd hate to end up with a dribbly shower rather than a decent one.
I know there is a Glind original with a bigger motor but I reckon they pump too much and since we only ever draw water from a container next to the car I don't need to lify capacity of the larger pump.
If the Little Ripper can deliver a decent amount of water then I'll go with it.
Thanks in advance from the Moose

Reply By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 14:55

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 14:55
Have a little ripper setup. Works fine.

When we use it we don't turn the shower head off, that leads to a very hot burst of water from the heat exchanger, just drop it back in the bucket.

So turn on shower, drop in bucket and heat water. Stop engine.
Get wet, drop shower in bucket while you soap up, pick up shower and wash off.

We get 2 good showers out of 10 litres easily. Can make do with half that or less if necessary.

Have used a glind with the bigger pump and found it used too much water.
AnswerID: 388380

Follow Up By: Moose - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 15:04

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 15:04
Thanks heaps Lex - just what I wanted to know.
Yeah I had the bigger one on the last vehicle and it sure could pump that bucket empty real quick.
FYI - you can overcome that burst of hot water without too much trouble. The details have been on this site previously and it works a treat. Just involves a little extra "plumbing" and preheating the water. Maybe someone cleverer than I can post a link to the appropriate post. Thanks again.
FollowupID: 656018

Follow Up By: Lex M (Brisbane) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 15:34

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 15:34
"FYI - you can overcome that burst of hot water without too much trouble."

Thanks, but not worth the hassle of extra plumbing in a crowded engine compartment. Our method works fine for us.
FollowupID: 656023

Follow Up By: Member - Johny boy (NSW) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 20:59

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 20:59
Hi all ,
is it possible to buy or make your own heat exchangers as I cant afford $400 to $500 for a setup ??
FollowupID: 656083

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:13

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:13
Hi Johny boy, I made my own but you need to be sure of you build quality. It is your cooling system that is a t risk when you are away from suburbia.. I made a shell and tube type, it has 51 parallel tubes that the coolant runs over, very efficient system... Michael
FollowupID: 656170

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:10

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:10
4 litres is too much when out in the bush without plenty of water handy. 2.5 litres is plenty with the right shower head... Michael

AnswerID: 388530