6days to go

Submitted: Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 21:42
ThreadID: 73259 Views:2842 Replies:7 FollowUps:6
We have recently bought a Kedron Cross country van and LandCruiser we are off on the trip we have been waiting for. 6 days and we head South from Brisbane to Bingarra for a week of relaxation as we have just sold all our belongings and said good bye to the family. Up to now we only know were we are going to be up until Xmas then it is just go where the road takes us. We intend working when we need to just to top up the bank balance. We just want to see as much of this great country as we can. No time limit only ourselves to say when we have had enough and need a break from travelling .
We will be coming members of this great site and hope to meet some of you as we travel.
Cheers for now Lesley & Geoff

Reply By: RobertHL (SEQ) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 21:59

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 21:59
Whahooooooooo,

Lucky buggars,do you need a guide?

Have a safe & memorable adventure & keep safe.

AnswerID: 388447

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 22:16

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 22:16
Have fun guys, we have just settled in tassie after almost 3 yrs on the road. I remember how we felt heading off with no real time limit and free to go where we wanted to. Hope you have a great time, there is heaps to see out there. If you make it to Tassie feel free to look us up and drop in for a chat/coffee/whatever.

Josh
AnswerID: 388450

Reply By: justmyage - Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 22:38

Friday, Oct 23, 2009 at 22:38
Thanks for your kind words . :)
Must admit it is rather daunting but can't wait to get going. We decided it would be wise to buy a site to keep in contact with family as they all have internet and it saves on phone calls . Plus with cams and mics we can still see and talk to the g/kids so might stop us missing them as much. And by adding pics and videos they can enjoy our trip from afar . It was either that or they threatened to stalk us lol .
Cheers Lesley&Geoff
AnswerID: 388456

Reply By: Member - Alanc - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 09:58

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 09:58
I'm sitting here , its Saturday morning and I'm looking forward to my two days off when I read your thread - BUGGA! - You have just upset my weekend. (Read very jealous into previous comment) We took off for three months last year and had a ball , it should have been three years so I'm sure you both will enjoy your future experiences. My neighbour hit the road before we did and still has not made it back home, I find life is full of Buggas Ah? Take care, Regards Alanc
AnswerID: 388485

Follow Up By: justmyage - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:00

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:00
Srry to ruin your weekend lol but Just so excited had to let the world know :)
FollowupID: 656177

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 14:08

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 14:08
Don't know how many grandchildren you have but when we did our great escape we gave each of the grandchildren a certificate that entitled em to a free trip anywhere in Aus to meet up with us for a week. That saved us getting too homesick wanting to see them and gave the kids a bit of a look at parts of Aus they wouldn't normally see.
AnswerID: 388505

Follow Up By: tim_c - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:53

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:53
That's a fantastic idea Notso!
FollowupID: 656153

Follow Up By: justmyage - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:02

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:02
That is a great idea however we have 8 g/kids . I have told the eldest she can come for a week school holidays so she can see some of Aus .
FollowupID: 656178

Follow Up By: Notso - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:05

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:05
Yeah, it could end up costing a bit, especially if they want to meet you in Broome etc.

I was on 12 months leave of absence at the time so could afford it, but not any more.
FollowupID: 656180

Reply By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:52

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:52
hey you guys

We did just the same in april this year from brissie and it has been the best thing we have ever done.
Telling the bosses we wont be coming to work anymore was the first highlight of the journey,meeting great people on the road is another bonus.
There is so much work out there that people beg and bribe us to stay longer.
Best tip I can give you is take it slow stay off the major highways cruise the back roads 60/80 is fast enough, on the dirt even slower, less fuel ,less damage all round. Take your time and enjoy this country this is the smartest decission you have ever made..over 18,000kms so far and we wont be back in brissie till 2014

see you out there somewhere !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
kim and doug
AnswerID: 388533

Follow Up By: justmyage - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:05

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:05
Glad you are enjoying your travels . We definateley intend taking it slowly and just enjoy it all. We have given ourselves 3 years and then we will see what happens .
Take care hope to see you out there !!!!!
Lesley & Geoff
FollowupID: 656181

Reply By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:54

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 18:54
Hope you have plenty of hours up towing before you head off. It is a common occurrence for people to overestimate their capability in heading off and particularly overtaking, taking out another. It can be a real danger when you get tired but please take care.
AnswerID: 388535

Follow Up By: justmyage - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:09

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 19:09
Hi John
Yes we have years of towing experience so we will be quiet capable of doing the trip safely. We intend been off the road no later than 3pm so we can enjoy the company of other travelers :)
FollowupID: 656183