drawer project complete

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:21
ThreadID: 73269 Views:3405 Replies:9 FollowUps:12
well it has been a couple of weekends in the garage slaving away to save a couple of bucks. and boy! has it paid off.

thanks to all those who have helped

Reply By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:27

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:27

lookin' good mate........they look better if you do them yourself eh?
AnswerID: 388512

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:52

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:52
Yeah bro, eh.
FollowupID: 656152

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:58

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:58
i see you’ve returned home Colin.......welcome back :)
FollowupID: 656155

Follow Up By: Member - TonBon (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:12

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:12
Hehehe looks that way. Welcome back Colin.

Looks very professional Greg, well done. Now i got to get my butt into gear and do mine.
FollowupID: 656158

Reply By: tim_c - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:32

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:32
They look good Greg.

They also look like they're made from form-ply are they? Where did you get the drawer runners from (thinking of making a set myself - unless you're accepting orders!)?

Also, what holds them closed (the Patrol barn-doors?!)? It looks like they just have ring-pulls on them?
AnswerID: 388513

Follow Up By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:24

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:24
they are made from 20mm marine ply.
runners are square tubing and notched into the cupboard. had to explain, so pics are worth 1000 words
FollowupID: 656163

Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:56

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 16:56
Good job Greg, but just wait till "Er Indoors" fills them up with girly stuff like food and kitchen shyte etc, so where is the blokey stuff then sunshine?

LOL. Good job mate.
AnswerID: 388518

Follow Up By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:29

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 17:29
LOL, too true.
one drawer is for spares, recovery gear (blokes stuff) and the other drawer is for the dry food and kitchen shyte.
still got to get the out and down fridge slide for the 80ltr waeco, and 1/2 cargo barrier.

Thanks for the appreciation fellas, im pretty damm proud of what i did.
FollowupID: 656165

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:55

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:55
Well Greg,

10/10 is my score, you should be proud.

If you're after any tips on how to do a cost effective Cargo Barrier give me a call on 03 9706 6527 Mon to Fri. We don't sell them, or even sell the goods to build them. We've just picked up some tips from our customers on how they do their own without paying crazy 4wd Store prices.

FollowupID: 656200

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 10:50

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 10:50
Nice job Greg, very satisfying when you get a finished job like that.

Jim, just out of curiosity has anyone ever given you tips on how they added a child safety harness anchor to their drawers? Is this something commercial manufacturers offer as an option to thier drawers?

I got around it with my homemade drawers by jigsawing a hole in the top shelf and anchored straight to the original vehicle mount but commercial drawers in my "other" GU don't allow for this and I "temporarily" have plated with 5mm washers (top and bottom) right through the top shelf and just anchored this way but I am sure this would be illegal and not as "safe" as I would like it to be but what else can one do?

Thanks for any tips, Trevor.
FollowupID: 656251

Follow Up By: Best Off Road - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 11:10

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 11:10
Trev,

Our drawers sit up un 18mm support rails for two reasons; 1. To clear obstructions in the floor and 2. To allow them to sit above the child restraints. You then buy an approved extension strap (from Baby Bunting or the like) and then attach it before mounting the drawers.

I strongly suggest you do not mount a child restraint to a drawer system through the top shelf (or anywhere). To the best of my knowledge all drawers have timber decks and this is not strong enough to secure a child seat/capsule in the event of a crash. Even with 5mm washers fitted the wood is likely to bleep ter under such a load.

I'm no lawyer, but if the worst happened you might be suffering the loss of a child and a possible charge of something like reckless/negligent behaviour causing death. I'm not trying to lay it on too thick, but just give it some thought.

If you need any advise, give me a call. Happy to help.

FollowupID: 656254

Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:10

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 20:10
Yeah pretty much what I thought Jim. The second GU with the "commercially made" drawers rarely has more than just a driver's seat in it so is really only a one seater vehicle 99% of the time. The "temporary" child anchor system was to get me by on one trip but will not be used again. If there was any other way of mounting the strap to the original vehicle child anchor point I would have done that. I even thought of swapping the drawers system from my other GU for the short term so I could mount the strap properly but ran out of time to do this as well.

Thanks for your input and valued opinion.
Regards, Trevor.
FollowupID: 656367

Reply By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:34

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:34
Yeah...looks pretty flash, and a good jon to boot...but you have wasted a lot of space (and time and money) fitting drawers when they (the drawers) are not really necessary. There are other ways to use space available by looking outside the square. Then again, it depends on what your needs or perceptions are :-)
AnswerID: 388555

Follow Up By: Crackles - Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:55

Saturday, Oct 24, 2009 at 21:55
While being very sturdy, you are right Willem in that form ply ends up being very heavy & you lose alot of space through the thickness of the material. Even though they do waste space, that is often a small price to pay for the convenience of getting to your gear easily.
Cheers Craig............
FollowupID: 656201

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 17:31

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 17:31
Gday Willem, should he take a trailer instead? :-))
FollowupID: 656318

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:56

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:56
Looks nice and neat Greg. Just one question, it looks as if you have blocked access to the OE jack storage area. Is that right if not how do you access it?

AnswerID: 388633

Follow Up By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:16

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:16
sort of correct.

i have some rear electrics (block and fuse etc) for the fridge and plugs in this spot instead if the jack. the RH front cover just pulls off for access.
the jack now rests in the drawers with the recovery gear
FollowupID: 656306

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 17:52

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 17:52
Looks good I reckon and as long as it fits in everything you want to fit in then you're cruising. I like the drawer for your wife too :-D
AnswerID: 388653

Reply By: Kumunara (NT) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:33

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:33

They look good. Well done.

I made my own drawers and fridge slide. A damn site cheaper than buying them already made and also I was able to make them to suit my purposes.

Tjilpi
Life's great and it just keeps getting better

AnswerID: 388667

Reply By: RodH, Sydney - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:10

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 21:10
Hi Greg.

Well done, they look good. Have you used the space at the side of the drawers for anything?

I've got a commercial set of drawers and have managed to get some electrical work installed in the sides (inverter, smart charger, solar regulator) so that the space is used to advantage.

Rod, Perth

AnswerID: 388697

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 01:19

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 01:19
For those of you wanting runners for the drawers .

My pot drawer in the van broke a track and I got a really good extending ball

bearing extension set from HOME HARDWARE in Alice Springs .

It enabled the drawer to come right out a full 500mm and hold the weight.

They and probably other branches also had heavier longer ones as well

Mine cost $32 the pair.

Just a thought for the DIY guys.

AnswerID: 388717