Advice on travel route from Melbourne to Bundaberg Queensland going solo.

Submitted: Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:29
ThreadID: 73289 Views:14689 Replies:11 FollowUps:14
I was hoping someone could give me some advice. I find myself having to make a solo car journey driving from Melbourne to Bundaberg, Qld the first week in December.

I will be honest, I am a bit apprehensive. I’ve never driven such a long distance on my own before. The furthest I have driven on my own was from Melbourne to Wagga Wagga for my sons army graduation, and I had my 20 year old daughter with me.

From what I can find out online so far, the trip is a bit over 22 hours. I’ve used google maps and whereis, and both suggest totally different routes (inland or coastal). I am not interested in sight-seeing, I just want to get there quickly and safely in one piece!

I am driving a new model mazda 3 hatch which I have never driven on the highway before so I am a little unsure of what her fuel consumption will be over such a long distance.

If anyone is willing to help me, I would like to plan the trip so I travel by day and can reach a town with accommodation/petrol by nightfall. I will be leaving from Williamstown, in Melbourne.

I know this may sound like a fairly simple trip to most of you, but to a 45 year old woman who has never driven such a distance before on her own, it is a little daunting. I am not a nervous driver by any means…….just not experienced at planning travel routes.

Reply By: Ozboc - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:41

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:41
as far as the NSW leg goes -- new England hwy - you miss all the cities the you would if going to coast way - not much to see -- and a LOT of long stretches of 100 KMH and not to many cops this way - im sure others will fill in the gaps

IT is a long drive mate parents live in bundy so from Sydney - i try to break that into 2 days... yours should be 3 days MIN safely

Boc
AnswerID: 388623

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:47

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:47
Thanks Ozboc, I don't mind a non-scenic route! and I am prepared to break the trip into as many days as is needed. Will research a route via google with new england highway to see what is involved.

Thanks for responding......I don't have cruise control in my mazda so will be concentrating on keeping to the speed limit and listening to music and trying not to miss the signs!!!!
FollowupID: 656281

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:43

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:43
Turn off at Seymour and head for Tocumwal then head up the Newell Hwy to Goondiwindi. Then on to Toowoomba up to Kingaroy over to Maryborough the up the road to Bundaberg.
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 388624

Follow Up By: George_M - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:51

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:51
I do the trip this way from Melbourne to Hervey Bay twice a year. The only exception is that I go from Goondiwindi to Dalby, Murgon, etc, so that I miss a lot of the hilly country north of Toowoomba.

I usually overnight at Dubbo, depending on what time I leave Melbourne.

You'll be fine - enjoy the trip!!
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 656282

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:52

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:52
Hey Dave,

Thanks for that..........I've been through Seymour before. My only concern is sign-postage. Should be fairly clear if I can head towards Goondiwindi.

On which legs would anyone suggest stopping overnight?
FollowupID: 656283

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:54

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 14:54
George,

So....it is feasible to do a direct drive from Melbourne to Dubbo in one hit and then stay in Dubbo overnight?
FollowupID: 656284

Follow Up By: George_M - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:01

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:01
That's the way I tend to do it if I'm by myself. It just depends on what you feel comfortable doing - if I plan to stay in Dubbo I get away fairly early, so that I'm in a motel before last light. My wife and I drove straight through to Hervey Bay on one trip, but that was not fun!

The Newell highway is a generall flat, safe piece of road, and you'll have no difficulty at all. Just plan your fuel stops; take a regular break; have a fair idea about where you want to overnight, and book ahead if necessary; but most of all, enjoy the trip. It's a great drive. You'll probably get to Bundaberg and wish you'd had more time to explore a lot of the places along the way...

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 656285

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:02

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:02
If I was you I would plan to be off the road by dark as there's always the chance of hitting a roo or other animals. Also depending on what night could be lots of trucks. So if not experienced in long distances it's better to rest then and travel in day light.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 656286

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:12

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:12
Thanks guys....I am feeling better about it already. I think I should be able to make Dubbo on the first leg if I leave Melbourne by 7am. Should get me into Dubbo by 6pm at the latest. I plan to re-fuel regularly as I have no idea what sort of milage the mazda will have. When I drove to Wagga Wagga I was driving a diesel Toyota Cruiser with dual tanks and did the trip both ways without having to refuel.

This time I am in a city car with a roof rack and no roo bars!

I really do appreciate your help. I would usually phone my son to get advice on this sort of thing but he's out bush training at the moment as his regiment are due for deployment soon.
FollowupID: 656288

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:17

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:17
I just did Calliope to St G return over the past 2 days and the roos are on the road all the time. I lost count of the number of live roos on the move over the road and the number of dead ones is also high.

Keep an eye out for them and there will also be Long wide, slow moving vehicles in that area due to the grain harvest so keep an eye out for them.

FollowupID: 656307

Follow Up By: Madfisher - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:31

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 22:31
Sainsy we are 2 hrs south east of Dubbo. We often go to Tassie via Melbourne. We leave at 6am, stop at Cowra for pancakes, then at Holbrook at the bakery(on the hume)for morning tea , travel at 105 and arrive in melbourne by 3pm, so Dubbo is very dooable.
Good luck Pete
FollowupID: 656399

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:12

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:12
Sainsy, a good short cut is after Dubbo, at the sale yards turn right and head for Mendooran, then on to Coonabarabran, a lot quicker and no trucks.

As you are not used to driving long distance, I would limit the day to about 6 or 6 1/2 Hours driving. I travel solo a lot, am lucky have cruise control, but always stop every two hours or so, depending on spacing of towns etc. I would aim for West Wyalong for the first day, then Narrabri or Moree, then day three to Goondiwindi, Dalby and then across to Maryborough and upto Bundaberg. If you have a look at where is and google, the route should be pretty easy to follow.

Just had a look at google and it suggests not going into Maryborough, I don't know that way as I go to Hervey Bay via Maryborough. Google also suggest that is is about 700 k's or so for the last day would be a big day for you. You may want to break the trip into four days, say Wiily to Narrandera, then Narrandera to Coonabarabran, Coonabarabran to Dalby, Dalby to Bundaberg. Hope the above helps and enjoy the trip.

AnswerID: 388627

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:27

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:27
Hey John,

Thanks for the detailed route. Am busy with my pen and paper planning! Once I get to Bundy, I will be ok as it used to be my home town.

So.....Dalby to Bundy on the last leg? It really helps that you're broken it down into stretches like that. Much appreciated.

FollowupID: 656290

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:41

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:41
Sainsy, glad I could be of assistance, the legs I suggest may be too short, they maybe too long, will leave that up to you.

One other suggestion, if funds permit is to look at getting cruise fitted, the one would be a lot cheaper than factory I think. Makes it a much easier trip to do, one less thing to worry about...... If you would like a suggestion for cruise, just ask.

I take it that you are an experienced traveller in the bush, may be just what I am looking for, a travelling companion.....

Enjoy the trip, John

AnswerID: 388628

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:58

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 15:58
LOL.....cruise control I can live without. Might sound weird but I actually like driving without cruise! I learnt to drive in a manual many years ago and somehow it has stayed with me. I moved from the country to the city and learnt to drive in peak hour traffic without ever getting out of 3rd gear. I am the queen of the peak hour traffic on the Melbourne Westgate bridge! Takes me 2 hours to commute to work each day.

Weird hey.......I used to drive a 4 wheel drive diesel towing a horse float through floods in the country but now you give me a mazda and a long drive from the city to the country without my familiar routes and feed stops and I go to pieces!

Go figure.........
FollowupID: 656303

Reply By: Tricky Dicky - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:10

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:10
Hi Sainsy
why don't you buy a Navman set it for the quickest route to Bundaberg and sit back it will tell you when and where to turn. They also show petrol stations and red light camera's and speeding camera's
AnswerID: 388638

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:20

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:20
Ah...but unfortunately, those sat nav's don't always work according to plan. They have no idea of current road-works and more often than not, they go out of satilite range just when you need them. I like a route planned on paper and my sat nav as backup.

Mind you......one which tells me red light cameras would be handy!!!!!

I have a Tom Tom which my son brought for me......annoyingly it has John Cleese as the voice and you can image what he says when I make a wrong turn!

Will be using my Tom Tom on the trip but not 100 percent confident it will take me the way I need to go!
FollowupID: 656309

Follow Up By: Tricky Dicky - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 18:01

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 18:01
I once saw John Cleese give his car a sound thrashing with a tree branch when it broke down, carry a branch just in case!!! haha Have a good trip
FollowupID: 656326

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:11

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:11
Sainsy, I would catch a boat to the city, LOL. Bugga that bridge traffic each day. I am looking to retire next year, no more peak hours, ever...............

AnswerID: 388639

Follow Up By: Sainsy - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:30

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:30
Driving peak hour can be a real eye-opener! Last week I followed a lady in a black 4 wheel drive who actually read a magazine whilst driving....she had it open against the steering wheel and she drove and read at the same time! The week before that I drove behind a lady who applied her makeup whilst talking on a mobile phone and eating. And they wonder why the freeways are closed due to accidents!!!!

I just shake my head.........brake suddenly to let someone in who can't understand that the distance between me and the car in front is not enough to accommodate the length of their car (never mind the fact they don't indicate)........ and hope for the best!

FollowupID: 656312

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:37

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:37
Sainsy think we should meet for a coffee, a women that actually knows how to drive.......

Bet I cop heaps for that comment.......

AnswerID: 388641

Reply By: Member - John - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:45

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 16:45
Sainsy, just had a thought, some of these posts will get moderated due to the chit chat rule, if you would like to continue chatting, I can be contacted via email, jlsulli@bigpond.com Will understand if you don't. John

AnswerID: 388645

Reply By: Member - Amy G (SA) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 17:39

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 17:39
My highway drive is between Adelaide and Brisbane which is a three day trip- I would allow the same time for Melbourne to Bundaberg. Whenever I'm making a long highway trip I use the RAA (SA) trip planner before I leave. It gives times, distances and directions and you can print the instructions. Your local RA** branch should also have a free 'Tour Planning Map of Australia' (though chances are you will have something similar already). I like to keep this highway map in the car.

The trip planner link is here.
AnswerID: 388651

Reply By: Member - Toyocrusa (NSW) - Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:45

Sunday, Oct 25, 2009 at 19:45
Sainsy. If you hook your Tom Tom up to the computor you can join up to the member file downloads and change the navigator voice.I also got rid of that annoying siren for the overspeed alarm, now have nice mellow chimes which are much easier on the nerves when driving. Regards,Bob.
AnswerID: 388671

Reply By: cycadcenter - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:01

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 08:01
Hi Sainsy,

Although I live in San Diego most of the time I have a farm up between Childers and Bundaberg, also my Mum lives in Orange I tend to do the trip from Orange to Bundy 3-4 times a year.

The best way to come from Melbourne is straight up the Newell Highway to Dubbo, this is where I join the Newell on my trips so here are a few pointers from there..

Just as you are leaving the city centre of Dubbo you'll cross over the railway and there is a great PIE SHOP on the left hand side, advertise as the best pies in Australia.

As someone else said there is a short cut from Dubbo to Conabarabran though Mendooran, the turn off for this is actually a bit past the sale yards at Brocklehurst just after you go over a long bridge. Follow this for abt 5-6 km and you'll turn right over the railway lines and this will take you to just south of Coonabarabran. Be careful for roos through the forest.

Coonabarabran is used as a stopover for many doing the Mel-bris trip and there are heaps of motels.

Abt 10 km north of Coonabarabran the Newell turns left and you go up throuigh the Pilliga Forest to Narrabri . No petrol between there.

Narrabri is always a hard place to get a motel room but if you stay there go to the RSL for tea.

Straight run through to Moree and Boggabilla,

Turn left at the Wobbly Boot Hotel (Slim Dusty song) and you'll cross into QLD (remember no DLS in Qld.)

At the BIG round-a-bout if you go left it will take you down the main street of Gundy and turn right to Moonie. If you go straight ahead at the round a bout you'll go past a BP and McDonalds and then turn left to get the the Moonie Road (bypass town)

North of Gundy make sure you go on the Moonie Road and not turn to Toowoomba.

At Moonie turn right to Dalby.

At Dalby take the Bunya Hwy to Kingaroy. Buy some peanuts.

go though to Wondai and Murgon.

At Murgon there is a short cut though to the Burnett Hwy but I can't remember just were it turns off but you need to be heading towards Gayndah on the Burnett Hwy.

At Ban Baa Springs turn right to Biggenden go though Biggenden to Childers.

In Childers turn left at the Shell Servo and 5km north of Childers at Apple Tree Creek the road splits and the left hand lane goes through to Bundy.

Be carefull between Childers and Bundy as the cane harvest will just be ending and the are a couple of tram crossings and cane trucks on the roads.

The longest runs without servos is Coonabarabran-Narrabri and Moree to Boggabilla. I generally fill up at Narrabri and top up again when I get to Gundy.

Bruce

AnswerID: 388728