Staun Tyre Deflators

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:33
ThreadID: 73310 Views:4618 Replies:6 FollowUps:13
Hey everyone,

i was just wondering if anyone knew of places where i can buy staun tyre delfators from? and how much are they? and where would be the cheapest?

Cheers Everyone

Reply By: Member - Fourplayfull - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:40

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:40
Check out the ARB deflator as you can very quickly deflate to ANY pressure ( dirt roads or deep sand driving) albeit one at a time .

I have both and the Stauns have not been used since I purchased the former . The readings are also accurate .

Cheers John
AnswerID: 388758

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:50

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:50
Yeah, I agree with John. I have both and only use the ARB deflater as you can drop pressures down to what ever you want. If the Stauns get a bit of grit or sand in them they can stick open and drop you pressure a lot lower than you wanted.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 656452

Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:26

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:26
I use a stick.......LOL
FollowupID: 656584

Reply By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:49

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:49
You will get many opinions, mine is the opposite of above. Tried ARB deflator my old man bought on a couple of trips and sure the ARB deflator may let the air out a bit quicker and supposedly be a bit more accurate. But for sheer ease you cant beat simply screwing on four Stauns, waiting a minute or two and then unscrewing them. Just enough time to get yourself a beer out of the car-fridge while waiting.

ARB stores, TJM stores, if you are paying more than about $80 though, you are probably paying too much. They are also available on ebay.

Snowy
AnswerID: 388761

Follow Up By: Snowy 3.0iTD - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:51

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:51
Although I must admit I have two sets, one lot set at 18 psi for sand driving, and one lot set at 24 psi for general off-road use.
FollowupID: 656453

Reply By: Member - Pat (VIC) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:58

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:58
hi you can also have a look at ABR sidewinder.

http://www.sidewinder.com.au/page24.html
AnswerID: 388765

Reply By: Navara09 - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:59

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 12:59
Where would be the cheapest place to buy them though
AnswerID: 388766

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:05

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:05
That would depend on where you are located.

FollowupID: 656456

Follow Up By: 2000 Red Rodeo - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:26

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:26
ebay
FollowupID: 656526

Reply By: Navara09 - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:09

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:09
In perth WA
AnswerID: 388768

Follow Up By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:12

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:12
Try calling these places

Staun Tyre Deflator Distributors

FollowupID: 656458

Follow Up By: Navara09 - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:16

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:16
Ok kool thanks heaps...what should the max price i pay for these
FollowupID: 656459

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:25

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:25
Fairdinkum!!

1. Google is your friend.

2. Since Kev became your new Google friend maybe just ring a few on his list and see what price they quote you??

FollowupID: 656462

Follow Up By: On Patrol & TONI - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:27

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:27
Navara09
Snowie said it in his reply, no more than $80 and possibly a fair bit cheaper on EBay.

NB: DON'T buy the COPYS from China they are less than acceptable at their job.

Cheers, Colin.
FollowupID: 656463

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:35

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:35
I got rid of my Stauns (I had 2 sets; one set at 25psi and the other at 18psi), and bought a west aussie-made "Ferret"...see below:

Ferret tyre deflator.

It is faster than the ARB unit and cheaper to boot. So long as you can count to the number of PSI that you want to decrease by (say 25.....from 40 down to 15), then you'll find this unit better than the others.

I found with my Stauns that even though I'd spent hours calibrating them at home and then placing a drop of locktite on the threads, they were still not accurate. Sometimes they'd let another 3 or 4 psi out of the tyre than they were set to release.....

Just consider it before you commit your funds. I have no financial or other interest in Ferret; just a satisfied customer.

FollowupID: 656464

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:47

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 13:47
Now thats a great product.
Thanks Bill.

FollowupID: 656465

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:39

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 14:39
Hi Bill
How would they be quicker than the ARB. They look like the same thing and principal, without the tyre gauge.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 656470

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:16

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:16
G'day Stephen,

As I understand it, they have larger "venting ports" (if that's the correct terminology). In other words, although they're the same principal as the ARB, they expel the air at a faster rate.....although I don't profess to have ever done a side-by-side time trial, so it's only what I've been given to understand.

Hope you are keeping well mate.

G'day John,
Yes, I do believe it is a great product and the best part is that it is made right here in Australia (well, that's if you class WA as part of Australia.....hahahaha), so you know that you $$$ are staying where they belong.

Cheers blokes,

FollowupID: 656490

Reply By: Serendipity (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:48

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:48
I purchased a Ferret tyre deflator. Simple and fast.

Check out eBay. $30

Best thing I picked up at a 4x4 show for a while.

AnswerID: 388875