whats the best campertrailer

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:13
ThreadID: 73316 Views:5286 Replies:12 FollowUps:22

Related Pages

hi new to the site i am planning to travel from gippsland in victoria to broome via the oodnadatta track and the gibb ribver road and i intend to buy or hire a campertraier and was hoping for some suggestions on brands to buy or hire and the costs

Reply By: Sir Kev & Darkie - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:17

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:17
Some can be found here ;)

As to what to go for, how much do you wish to spend, new or secondhand??

AnswerID: 388790

Follow Up By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:28

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:28
Or here.

Camper Trailers - manufacturuers

Budget andf the number of people to accomodate will get it down to less than 10 hopefully :o)
FollowupID: 656491

Follow Up By: Member - John and Val - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:30

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:30
And what will you be towing it with?

Val.

FollowupID: 656492

Reply By: Mandrake - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:52

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 15:52
Usually the one the guy parked nex to you has - LOL ...

However I love my POD ...

Mandrake
AnswerID: 388801

Reply By: Member - DW (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:14

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:14
One of the most common and well set up is the Kimberley Kamper

They seem to be everywhere one camps sometimes more than one. They will stand up to just about anything by the way they look.

I do not own or sell them.

DW
AnswerID: 388803

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:56

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 16:56
We are very happy with our O'Briens offroad camper. Has handled 3 yrs on the road including the Gibb River rdincluding up to mitchell falls and up to cape york.
Easy to set up, great to tow and very well set up. Have a look here: http://obrien.obrien.fastmail.com.au/
They are great to deal with and fanastic customer service. As others have said depends on what you want and what you want to do with it.
You will need to look at a few then decide what suits your needs. For us, this was by far the best trailer available.

Josh
AnswerID: 388809

Reply By: Member - Burto (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:08

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:08
Yep, everyone has their favourite and thats the problem, you could try a campertrailer gathering and talk to the owners, or visit the shows, then when you have shiortlisted one or two, you may wish to rent each for a weekend. i know 2 guys who did this picked out a trailer each, rented the same type for a trip to innaminka over 3 weeks and came back and bought neither, both bought a Aussie swag.
Me ? I have a Heaslip which suits me but may not suit you and your needs.
Do not rush in its a lot of money to outlay and then find it does not suit, take your time and do lots of research
AnswerID: 388810

Reply By: broomedreamer - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:36

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 17:36
sorry forgot to say there is just the 2 of us and i will be towing whatever i get with a 2007 d4d toyota prado
AnswerID: 388813

Follow Up By: Member - Brenton W (SA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:44

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:44
In that case you had better look at a Trak Shak, we have one and very happy with it, we also have a d4d prado, tows it like a dream, it takes a big hill to pull it back. shaw the trak shak is big for 2 people, but takes no more time to put up actually 10 minutes from start to beer!! there is no substitute for extra room. the others may have all the bells and whistles but you cant swing a cat. but there is plenty of choice out there.

Good luck researching.
FollowupID: 656591

Reply By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:14

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:14
I think the best sort is one with a hard floor.
AnswerID: 388819

Follow Up By: KennyBWilson - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:06

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:06
And tandem wheels :-)
FollowupID: 656521

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:33

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:33
I agree with Tony on the hard floor. But it will cost more. Having towed off road a lot I would not go for tandem wheels on the maneuverability side but the tandems would tow nice on the bitumen.

Generally there are certain aspects for a camper that people look for.
Cost
Reliablity
Durability
Features

Probably in that order.

I have chosen a fully featured camper with a hard floor that comes with all the benefits they could squeeze in. It is set up as a tray top but also comes as a trailer mount version. But my mate is going for a very spartan camper with soft floor and little to no extras. (he will fit his own) So like a lot of people are saying you need to look around.

Many on this site often pass comment on their campers. I hear a lot of good words about Kimberley Kampers and Ultimate Campers - probably because they are so flash. But there are many more that work just as well for their owners.

Top price does not necessarily mean best camper.

FollowupID: 656569

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:17

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:17
Mine is on tandem axles :-)

David, you are correct in that maneuverability is (or can be) somewhat compromised, though I have not found this to be any kind of a problem (just need to allow for it;-)).. and yes, the trailer does get off-road, and occasionally off-track;-)

You are also correct in that it does indeed tow very nicely on the bitumen :-)

IMHO, the advantages of the tandem far outweigh any (perceived) dis-advantages.. (YMMV)

Regards, Ed C

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 656596

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:40

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:40
What is the advantage of a tandem?

FollowupID: 656624

Follow Up By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:51

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:51
I'll answer for him - you can carry more weight on the trailer and less on the tow ball.

I've checked out the Coota and it's a good option if you want all the fruit like fridge, heaps or storage, boat, outboard, generator etc. The likes of Kimberly, AOR, Cape York and so forth keep extending the draw bar and putting it on.

It's a step in between a single axle CT and a off road van in my opinion.

OT
FollowupID: 656627

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:34

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:34
The campers that you mentioned with the ridiculously long draw bars would be worse than useless on a lot of the tracks in the High Country.

FollowupID: 656633

Follow Up By: Member - Tony (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:03

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:03
Outbacktourer hit the nail on the head. As well as all that it's well ballanced with the 250lt water tank and spare wheel over and behind the dual axle.

We have had the camper over 4 years and apart from a tyre not had one issue, been where we want to go with it, the only problem we have now is a resident mouse, picked up somewhere in NQ last month. He uses a stick under the plate of the trap so he can get the bait, or so it seems.
FollowupID: 656651

Reply By: Richard Kovac - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:33

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:33
broomedreamer

I've had one of these since 1983 it been everywhere (not Tassie did that without it) aussietrailers It's been rebuilt twice 1. rollover 360deg hitch ,, LOL and one broken chassis my fault.

It's been retired lately but another member has one with 16" wheels and I talked to the guy in Melb, and I just may have to do it.

There cheap and a scooby doo can tow it..

AnswerID: 388839

Follow Up By: mowing - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:13

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:13
Hi Richard, I don't want to hijack this thread but seeing your Troopy has prompted me to ask the question about your tyres and in particular rims. I have the RV Troopy very similar to yours with the split rims etc and want to keep the splits if I can as I am not a fan of the "sunnies" and alloys are expensive but the one thing that sticks in my mind is the chance of a "blow out" in one of the tyres is increased by the use of tubes. You have been to a few destinations, am I being overly concerned regarding the increase blow out risk?

FollowupID: 656603

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:50

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:50

You are not being overly concerned, I am and drive accordingly, all ways thinking about it (sometimes to much), don't travel on country roads over 100 km/hr and have my own dirt rules.

The thing about blow out is we use to get them in cars with cross plys, when radials came in tubes went out, so that was the end of it.

My Troopy runs radial tyres maybe the give in the tyre saves us, I don't know, I've only been driving 29 years but have never had a "blow out" but have had many a flat tyre, I have never shredder a tyre except for one on the CT on the Birdsville track.

I don't drive hard and the Troopy has done over 150000 km's now and have only had flats, a hell of a lot more than any other vehicle I've ever owned....

I'm not a splits man, they came with the vehicle so they stayed on her, I like them I could have my tyre repaired before Mick O could get he's table set up.. LOL. I haven't had enough troubles with them to warrant replacing them, and I not into looks so don't need mags.

FollowupID: 656609

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:45

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:45
On the split rim issue - I have persevered with split rims for 15 years believing the relative ease of changing the tyre was worth the hassle. Eventually I just gave up. The older the split rims got - and the more I had used them off road the more flats I got. The biggest issue is water penetration through the split. Once water gets in it starts to rust the inside and those unseen rust scales cut the tube. Never ending flat tyres and constant blowouts. I eventually changed to sunraiser rims as the most affordable alternative. Later I purchased a car with mag rims.

FollowupID: 656638

Follow Up By: mowing - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 01:53

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 01:53
Thanks Richard and David, I will more than likely at this point go for the steel rim 16x7 which will allow the 235x85xR16 to go on them without having to put flares etc on. The Toyota 16x8 rims are OK but I would then have to go to 265x75xR16 which would mean fitting flares.

FollowupID: 656791

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 02:07

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 02:07

If I ever change over to solid rims I would go the steel skinnys as in 265x75xR16 which is what I run now on 5.5" rims, not sure of rim sizes but you may not need to go out to 7".

FollowupID: 656792

Reply By: Will 76 Series - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:04

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:04
I have had a Pioneer Argyle hard floor camper for five years and it has been excellent. There are so many great outback campers on the market, my advice would be to get a hard floor camper which has an outdoor cooking stove and basic kitchen. An attachable awning is a must as when it rains things can get uncomfortable. A good bed is the main thing for a good night sleep. The hard floor campers take minutes to set up and get you off the ground.
AnswerID: 388879

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:04

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 23:04
Earlier Brenton put in a plug for the Trak Shak.

I have had a Trak Shak for 13 years. It is great.

Will, you say hard floor campers set up quick and they do but I will put my soft floor TS up against any hard floor on the market especially if you are attaching awnings and setting up external kitchens. The TS has both and still sets up in less than 10 min on my own. If I get the young bloke to help the time comes down.

From hand break on to head on pillow I have only been beaten by one travelling companion. He slept in the back of his Troopie and only had to walk around the back. But he did use my kitchen to cook his tea.

broomdreamer,

the best camper for you is the one that suits you. Go to shows, read magazines, walk around camp grounds and talk to people, ask them what they don't like about their rig. If you can watch people set them up and include all the odds and ends they set up as well. You need to consider the time it takes to make and break camp not just the camper. Think about how rain might affect things. Can you fully pack the trailer without coming outside and can you set up the camper without un-coupling the trailer from the car, both really valuable features.

AnswerID: 388894

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:44

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:44
I have owned several camper trailers, both soft & hard floor. You wouldn't get the travel cover off a soft floor camper before a hard floor camper was set up.
I am not saying one is better than the other, just stating a fact.

FollowupID: 656625

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:23

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:23
Shaker,

The Trak Shak does not have a travel cover. It is all contained in a suitcase like box mounted on top of the trailer.

To open the TS all I have to do is undo 2 clamps and lift. The gas struts make that easy. Supporting legs automatically swing into place. I then pull the canvas out the back which stands up the internal frame put in 2 pegs, 2 poles and 2 guy ropes. Go inside fit the last section of internal frame pull the ladder from under the bed climb up and lie down, Head on pillow about 6 min after putting the handbreak on.

In side the Trakk Shak I have 2 almost queen size beds and a floor area of 2.8m x 3.2m with 1.8m of head room over the pillows on the beds which are above the trailer. I also have full access to the load area of the trailer without going outside or lifting any beds. The kitchen is mounted on the rear tailgate which opens inside the camper when set up but can be lifted off and placed wherever is convenient.

I have only owned 1 camper trailer but I have looked most of them. I spent six years researching before I bought the Trak Shak. Nothing I have seen comes close to the ease of set up, convenience and living space provided by the Trak Shak. Coupled with exceptional build quality it makes a very nice bit of kit. Not perfect but very nice.

I am not saying one is better than the other just stating the facts.

We all need to use the gear that suits us. That's why I said the best trailer for broomdreamer is the one that suits his needs.

FollowupID: 656632

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:25

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:25
Over the back all you do is undo 4 clips & lift over the floor, thats it!

Personally, I think both have their advantages, but I maintain that the perfect camper trailer is yet to be designed ... & always will be!

FollowupID: 656654

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:46

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:46
It's a bit like how long is a piece of string and that's even before you look at the budget or value for money side of things.

Firstly, if there is a two of you, provided you are mobile you may want to look at the roof top tent option with a storage setup in the back of the wagon. The Maggiolina fibreglass clamshell type are super simple setup, others have more space but harder to pack given they are up high.

My experience with trailers says this:

Touring with overnight stops over pretty rough territory: Hard floor rear fold with independent suspension and awning. Budget $30-50K

Relaxed touring with 2-3 night stops over rough territory: Soft floor rear fold with independent suspension and awning. Budget $25-35K

Relaxed touring over tar and maintained gravel: Soft floor rear fold with off road leaf spring suspension and awning. Budget $15-$25K

Base camping with 4-7 night stops in camp grounds over tar and maintained gravel: Soft floor side fold with off road leaf spring suspension with awning and annex.

You have a few that don't fit the mould like TVan, Ultimate and Adventure that have unique features but the rest fall into one of the above categories. Expense starts at the top and works it's way down. In between you tend to get what you pay for.

Regds

OT
AnswerID: 388913

Follow Up By: Member - Captain (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:30

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:30
You may want to add the Camprite to the "don't fit the mould" type. Its an off-the-ground hard top that has a double bed and two singles (4 singles plus double if you have the bunk bed option) plus room for bikes and kayaks that can stay on when set up, which takes under 5 minutes - ideal for families.

FollowupID: 656642

Reply By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:37

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:37
Always an interesting discussion and good to hear different points of view.

It is always a bit interesting to follow discussions relating to set up times, and hard floor campers off the bat are generally quicker. At least the tent part is. When you go to trade shows, the manufacturers are always keen to show you how quick their product is to erect. But setting up the tent is just one part of set up, and what the shows rarely demonstrate is how long it takes to locate and pull all the associated crap out (fridge, chairs, table, cutlery, kids toys, ground sheets, lights, gas, stove, water, beer collers, glasses, cooking gear, etc, etc, etc).

The point I would make is that the fastest canvas set up in the world is pointless if the storage and access is poorly arranged. Both hard and soft floor campers (I have owned both) can be good or poor in this area. No point in setting up your canvas in 2 minutes, if it takes the next 45 minutes to get the rest of your gear out and organised.

To me, one of the most important aspects of camper trailer functionality is the ease with which you can use it, as opposed to how long it takes to do the initial set up. I would prefer less volume, but better organised storage than the other way around. So my advice is to look beyond the initial erection (always a good idea anyhow) and have a hard think about how much thought the manufacturer has put into organisation and storage of all your gear.

Hire a few and try it away from the showroom floor.

Have fun,

AnswerID: 388949

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:56

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:56
Why are we all in such a hurry?

FollowupID: 656672

Follow Up By: Member - Matt M (ACT) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:07

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:07
Don't know, help me out with an answer.
FollowupID: 656674

Follow Up By: jothefw - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:43

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:43
I read these posts with interest - everyone always has such different priorities!

To Shaker - not hurry just keen! For us we went for the Trak Shak because with two young children the inside space (without the need for awning) is great, immediately. So we pick up the boys off the bus at 4pm - drive two hours ish and set up before it's dark! We do weekends away at this stage and will always continue to do this, around big trips!

Likewise I feel that in sometimes dodgy weather the inside space in the Trak Shak is dependable ... we've borrowed a Kimberly loads of times and whether it's the way I bang pegs in, or tighten the guy ropes ... with a fair wind and some rain thrown in the awning suddenly starts looking like it might not be as tight as it should be! The structure of the Trak Shak seems to stop this!

To OP -- Good luck in the search! Enjoy the reading up and asking questions, I miss that bit now we've purchased ... now I just read all the other stuff I couldn't concentrate on before! lol!
FollowupID: 656679