working your way around OZ
Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:47
carlj
My wife and I want to work our way around Oz with no real plan in regards to direction or time. We are looking to pick up work as we go and don't care if we stay a week or up to a year. What we are a little worried about is the availability of work outback .I'm a fitter and turner with earthmoving equipment as will as management skills. Is anybody doing this and what are your thoughts.
Reply By: Notso - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:16
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:16
Mate I've got no skills whatsoever so with your fitter and turner and earth moving experience, you'll pick up jobs everywhere. Have to fight em off with a stick up North.
Every time I've been up North I've had to knock back work. Last one was a vehicle workshop, fella offered me a job, I told him I wasn't a mechanic, he said all he wanted was someone who could tighten up nuts and bolts without breaking them off?
Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:41
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:41
your sort of right
yes theres heaps of work but most of it pays $25-$30 per hour and doesnt supply accomadation. You can only stay in the caravan
park a few days and with permanant sites around $300 pw and house rental 2-3 times that you soon realize why there is so much work
Follow Up By: Notso - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:50
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:50
Are
well, I'll just have to tell me mate who's up at
Kununurra at the moment that he can't stay in that caravan
park any longer EH. He'll be P*(&%d off because he's been there 5 months now.
Follow Up By: carlj - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:54
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:54
get outmore,
Are you talking about the north west of WA or North Australia in general.
Follow Up By: get outmore - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:27
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:27
N/W
Follow Up By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:38
Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:38
We are currently working in
Kununurra as
well, we have been in the same CP since July. Yes the rent here (for a house) is nut's - but the CP is heaps cheaper and we are right next to lake
Kununurra - we wake up every morning over looking the lake and the "Sleeping Buddha"
Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:49
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:49
Find how who are the labour hire groups who find crews for shut downs and get on their lists. You should have no problems finding work in the less hospitable mining towns. Getoutmore knows more about this and the accommodation situation than i do.
Any major tourist town in northern and central Australia rely on the travellers to work in the hospitality and cleaning areas.
I think you will have no worries with work if you are both prepared to do anything.
Reply By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:53
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:53
As long as you dont mind what you do, youll have no trouble getting work aroung Alice
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:01
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:01
Mate,
Im a Fitter and a Refrig Mech(2 trades). Were currently travelling around oz for a few years. No dramas getting work if you want it. Servos all need people to pump fuel and the local labour hire joints are always good. As getoutmore is saying at
places like
newman you can only stay in the van
park for 2 weeks.
Matt
Reply By: swampy66 - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:18
Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:18
Work in the
Pilbara is still going gangbusters - and its on the rise. The problem, as mentioned above is accommodation. And there is no quick fix on the horizon.
I was checking into on the of the better C/Van Parks in Port Headland 2 weeks ago and they had a waiting list of 12months to get a permanent site. Although - they were a tourist
park @$45per night. Other parks in the town might have a shorter list.
Go for it. You can
camp on my lawn for $45 a night. Ill even give you free beer.
Disclaimer: Free beer not to exceed $45 per night. Which - at
Pilbara prices is around 7 stubbies of Emu Export (Yummo)
Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:35
Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:35
Hi carlj
We have been on the road for almost 12mths now, we travel for a few months, then work a few months (we are doing this with 3 kids!!) Matt is a mechanic and hasn't had issues getting work and I am a massage therapist (I have my own table and work from my van).
The only thing we have issues with is location and dollars - ie we stopped in
Darwin to work, Matt got a job, however the CP fee's where over $300 per week no chance of saving any money so he turned the work down.
You shouldn't have any issues getting work.
Caz
Follow Up By: carlj - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:02
Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:02
Hi Caz and Matt ,we are looking at a Coromal 535 pop top or a Golf atv at present and am asking for your ideas on a good van. What things should I be looking for.
Reply By: Member - Matt & Caz H (QLD) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 11:36
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 11:36
Hi carlj
With regards to a van thats suitable, I guess it just depends on what you want in a van - as we are going to be on the road (with 3 kids) for a long period of time the things that where important to us a family where:
Toilet/shower
3 bunks as
well as a dble bed
heaps of cupboard space
separate fridge/freezer
full
cook top, oven and griller
we are also set up to
free camp as when on the road its heaps cheaper.
We decided against a pop top or expanda as we didn't want to have to set up the pop top or sides all the time. I think its important to have an air cond (I believe air comand to be the best - built in Oz for Ozzie conditions) - we are currently working in Kuna WA and its 39 - 40 deg most days and humid as hell.
Hope that helps
Caz