Man v Wild

Submitted: Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 18:53
ThreadID: 73323 Views:5483 Replies:9 FollowUps:18
Some of you may have seen previous episodes of this show. Outright 'corny' if you ask me, however tonight, 8.30 pm SBS the following:

'Bear Grylls strands himself in Australia's remote Kimberleys - a colossal mix of scrub deserts, dry riverbeds and red sandstone cliffs full of deep gorges. Bear demonstrates how to prevent sunstroke, find bush tucker, and explains why drinking your.'

Don't take him too seriously though.

Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:34

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:34
Yeah, i enjoy watching his shows when he is on other side of the world, but this episode makes it look way too easy. Living up here my entire life, in the very area this was filmed, i know he couldn of walked the distances he did. And he would of had to cross a certain river, which i dont think he would of survived. Its good to watch though, some good points.
AnswerID: 388840

Follow Up By: Hairy (NT) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:41

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:41
Gday Kroozer,
Maybe they just didnt show the stick of geli he threw in before he crossed the river?
Great show to watch though....

FollowupID: 656529

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:56

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:56
Hiya Kroozer

Ive watched heaps of his shows and its no secret he has heaps of background help....So what you stated makes sense.
FollowupID: 656556

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:49

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 19:49
Wouldn't like to be camera man chasing after him. My son loves the show he recons he is hypo. Sure enough were outside the next day testing some of the tricks like the compass he did.
AnswerID: 388846

Follow Up By: George_M - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:35

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:35
Could be wrong, but I thought he did all his own photography.

I watch his shows regularly, and I think he's pretty cool!

George
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 656537

Follow Up By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:39

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:39
George, nah thats another psycho that carries all his own camera gear and does all his own filming. Absolutely crazy. I forget what his show is called though, its another good watch.
FollowupID: 656538

Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:44

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:44
In last week's show you could see he was holding the photographer so that the photographer didn't fall. Also he makes reference to the film crew. He's supposed to be ex British SAS.

FollowupID: 656541

Follow Up By: George_M - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:48

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:48
Thanks Kroozer, you're right.

The guy I was referring to was "Survivor-man" - I think (too much bundy tonight)
Come any closer and I'll rip your throat out!

FollowupID: 656546

Reply By: Member - Jack - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:56

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 20:56
Just watched it and thought it was hideous.

Loved the photography of the Kimberleys, but I 'd hate to have this bloke as a travel mate if I struck trouble.

First rule is 'wear a hat' ... not your jocks. A plastic bag over the leaves will get you water before you have to pee in a bottle. Too stupid for me!

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 388865

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:15

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:15
I agree, i think i would rather watch re-runs of Jack Absolams movies LOL!! Michael
FollowupID: 656564

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:09

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:09
me too, pretty thin all up.... although it was good to see his genuine concern as he realised how dangerous the riverbanks where.....
FollowupID: 656601

Follow Up By: Member - Mick O (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:11

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:11
Sage words OBJ. Surprised this bloke even tried it without consulting you given your long track record of helping Poms, and the occassional Irish, out of trouble in the Kimberley LOL. Besides what BMJ can do with a file snake, garlic and a dash of Corriander defies description! Looks like he certainly adheres to the OBJ "Less is more" philosophy ;-) Love your work (as always).

Mick

FollowupID: 656602

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:39

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:39
Isn't the object of the show to highlight how to survive if you are stranded with virtually nothing?
Sure hats & plastic bags are very handy ... if you have got them!

FollowupID: 656636

Follow Up By: bruce - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:03

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:03
Next rule for " Jack" is that there is no such place as the "Kimberleys"..it is "Kimberley"
FollowupID: 656639

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:13

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:13
Thanks Bruce. Shall add that to the Spell Check.

It's nice to know if you are going to die that you at least know how to spell the place of your demise. : )

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 656664

Reply By: Robin Miller - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:30

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 21:30
Great show , I watch them all , you only have to have one or two small things stick in your memory to make it worthwhile , like in to-nights show the simple fact of following the water up to its soucre and if its from underground its basically ok to drink.

Not so sure about eating spiders though !
AnswerID: 388869

Follow Up By: Member - Rob S (NSW) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:13

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:13
And remember to drink your pee fresh as it goes off very quick.mmmm.
that one will certainly stick.LOL.

Jokes aside you are definately right about one or two small things can make a big difference to survival.

I only ever made one mistake
and that's when I thought I was wrong!

FollowupID: 656582

Reply By: Willem - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:04

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:04
I enjoy his shows even if they are a tad 'presented'.

Tonight he sudddenly found a machete to make his bed....lol .He also moves quite fast which in turn burns up energy and so he needs a lot of stamina. Wearing a hat is important to us whitefellas but the aborigines had no hats and survived.

The Kimberley is unforgiving country. Don't know if we arm chair tourists in airconditioned 4x4's will survive a day out in the sticks on our own without any support :-)
AnswerID: 388880

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:40

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:40
He was using a folding pocket knife & hitting it with a rock!

FollowupID: 656637

Follow Up By: Tadooch - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 17:28

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 17:28
I was looking into these knives and found this...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zRnVY9qLCEE&feature=player_embedded

Unreal!
FollowupID: 657350

Reply By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:33

Monday, Oct 26, 2009 at 22:33
My young fella piped up where is his hat and hasn't he herd of a esky? The look of horror on the kids faces when he drank his pee was so funny. Still he put on a good show.
AnswerID: 388888

Reply By: Tadooch - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:40

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 00:40
He is very entertaining & as ex SAS, professionally trained to survive with minimal equipment in many situations. Something they require before they can graduate for Regiment selection. Their training is always on going & updated by the best. The TV programs are short and lacking a lot, but if anything, portrayed correctly as harsh, basic, and not inviting to the novice.
Many of us may have learnt a lot from guys like Les Hiddins & Malcolm Doulgas; and it's great to see new members like "Bob Cooper Outback Survival".
Personally, I have 2 prepaired "survival" bum packs, as well as a larger day pack, that are always with me. One includes a pocket SAS survival guide which contains loads of information to use in different situations, with little more equipment than Bear carries.
AnswerID: 388898

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 07:39

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 07:39
"I have 2 prepaired "survival" bum packs, as well as a larger day pack,"

- what do you have in them, please.
FollowupID: 656614

Follow Up By: Tadooch - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:19

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:19
Hi Mike,

The little SAS Survival Guide (by Collins Gem) is my "bible". I bought it maybe 15 years ago and it is always in one pack along with an emergency strobe. The other carries a compact first aid kit and compass..
Each small kit has a Space Blanket, a plastic signal mirror, water proof matches, a small plastic magnifying glass, a flint & striker, a plastic whistle, a small sewing kit, a plastic carton cutter, a wire saw, a few metres of fishing line, a couple of hooks, squiidgies, a small pad & pencil, a couple of condoms (not in case you get lucky...they can hold a lot of water), some puri tabs, chapstick, sunblock, snare wire, a small candle, a length of nylon cord, pocket tissue pack,and some barley sugars.
When heading out I have a good knife, mini mag and compact binoculars on my belt with 2x1 litre water bottles. My mobile and a small MP3 player are also with me along with a good hat.
The back pack contents may vary but always include a full length nylon raincoat which doubles for a ground sheet; an army hootchie, a roll of nylon clothes line, 6 pegs, a couple of plastic bags, a small handline, a small hexie stove with mess kit, metal cup, teabags sugar satchells, some powdered milk, and a large bag of scroggin.
I still have room to add more food items, my thermals, beanie and thick socks if winter or at altitude, and my sling shot. A travel towel a small traveler size soap, tooth paste and brush can also be added (small comforts).

Luke.
FollowupID: 656738

Follow Up By: Tadooch - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:31

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:31
Forgot my hand held UHF on my belt. The small kits were worn by my kids around some camps and when bush walking. They also each have a cheap UHF.

FollowupID: 656740

Reply By: Member - Lionel A (WA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 01:07

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 01:07
That American chap that wandered off into the desert 'looking for God' a few years ago, lasted about a month out there.

Not sure what he did to survive or what gear he had with him but he could probably give these 'survival' blokes a run for their money.

Cheers.....Lionel.
AnswerID: 388901

Reply By: Fatso - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:55

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:55
Old mate Bear is pretty good entertainment. He is certainly agile. Wouldn't leave the wife alone around him for too long, going by the way she talks about him. I'm pretty sure he impresses the girls more than the blokes.
As for being in the wilderness with only one cameraman I am not convinced. They had a chopper to shoot the scene where he walked away from his parachute & they most certainly would have had a fridge full of food & water somewhere close by in the cruiser. I wouldn't be surprised if they stayed at El Questro during the filming.
AnswerID: 389037