anyone gone from landcruiser to hilux

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:21
ThreadID: 73334 Views:7306 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Hello. I have a 79 series cruiser and was thinking of trading in for late model hilux. But was out bush the other day in my mates 2006 hilux ( diesel) and was impressed with the vehicle except for its 4wdiness. Going up dirt hills it seemed to 'scramble for grip' , where my landcruiser would have just gone up there without hesitation. So what I am asking is of peoples experience with going (owning/driving) from one vehicle to the other. Good on yas....thanks

Reply By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:39

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:39
I was going to buy my work hilux when it came up for sale but after spending many hours in it I went and bought another cruiser. Much more comfy and better off road, better Air con, stronger panels and more fuel capacity.
The ute is quicker and generally uses less fuel but for me the cruiser wagon is better and if I want another dual cab I'll chop it down.Image Could Not Be Found

2010 Isuzu FTS800 Expedition camper
2015 Fortuner
Had 72 cruisers in my time

AnswerID: 388911

Follow Up By: qubert - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:44

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:44
yeahi like the torque of the 1hz, but i llike fuel economy of the hilux
FollowupID: 656626

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:52

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:52
The only torque you get with a 1HZ is what you say to the passenger as it takes so long to get you anywhere...lol
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 656628

Follow Up By: qubert - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:54

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:54
nah..i put a turbo on it. no lag, torque curve straight from 800rpm, but use fuel to suit!!
FollowupID: 656629

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:57

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 09:57
That's why I only buy pertol cruisers now, Dad's IHZ with denco turbo and intercooler only uses 1 l/100km less in fuel and still says wtf when you put your boot in when compared to the petrol.
2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 656630

Follow Up By: qubert - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:00

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:00
yeah i'm starting to think what the advantages of a diesel is these days. Petrol engines are pretty reliable now, but the last petrol cruiser ute was 75 series, they dont have them anymore. i would have thought they made the petrol v8 as an option for the new utes !!
FollowupID: 656631

Reply By: TerraFirma - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:06

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:06
I have an 05 TD Hilux and just had to replace 4 injectors, there goes the economy, a petrol model would be way ahead in terms of cost now, given it is cheaper and doesn't need injectors replacing. This was after 90,000kms. My mate was whinging to me about having to buy a new engine for his Commodore VZ wagon, it cost him $1600 fitted from a wrecker. 4 Injectors for a Hilux will cost you between $3000-3200...! For anyone buying a Nissan or Toyota Common Rail Diesel using Denso injectors beware, it's only a matter of time. I believe a Melbourne company Westend Diesel are investing $500k in equipment to give then the ability to remanufacturer second hand Denso Common Rail injectors, until then cross your fingers. I love my Hilux but I think the cost of these injectors is robbery. For anyone in the same boat you can buy a Denso direct replacement rather than the actual Toyota model and save some money, my Toyota dealer was kind enough to do these and save me some money.
AnswerID: 388923

Follow Up By: Member - Tour Boy ( Bundy QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:25

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:25
I had 2 injectors replaced under warranty and the other 2 are noisy too but I didn't (couldn't be bothered really) get them done and now out of warranty (23mths old and 102,000km)
I was told that all the common rail diesels, toyota 4 and 8cyl and the nissans, etc all have to have them replaced at 200,000km and with labour it is around 4k for a 4cyl....more costs to widen the gap between a diesels cost effectiveness compared to a petrol.

2015 Fortuner

FollowupID: 656652

Reply By: racinrob - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:16

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:16
I'm in the same situation qubert, do I buy another 'cruiser (trayback) or go for a diesel 4x4 HiLux. My son says buy the diesel V8 'cruiser you'll never regret it, I just hate spending them big $$$$s.

Rob.
AnswerID: 388924

Follow Up By: qubert - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:33

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:33
i would love cruiser v8 too, but i not convinced they are good yet. heard more bad stuff than good stuff. i guess will take 2-3 years to get the 'bugs' out of them.... but rumour is toyota has new 6cyl coming next year. dunno why they didnt keep the other 6cyl turbo, was/is a good engine!
FollowupID: 656643

Reply By: slammin - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:59

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:59
I went from a 99 petrol 2.7 Extra cab Lux to a 98 LC 1hz so I guess i'm kind of in the ball park to comment.

Reason for changing was to increase tow capacity(3.5t).

As for 4wd capabilities we stuck a lokka in the front of the Lux and it made a huge difference. As others have said without it it can be a bit "squirrelly" finding traction as it is so light in the rear. We compensated with a bit more speed which comes with it's own risks ; ) By putting a lokka in the front, where the weight is, it transformed it into being able to easily just idle up obstacles like a real 4wd. Best mod we ever did.

As for fuel economy the Hilux used more but services etc were cheaper and don't forget most of the time diesel is 10c more anyway.

I am forced into being a safer driver now as I take it a lot easier with the tractorish 1hz.

We lost a lot of load carrying capacity with the Lux. Yeah we have roofbasket with the LC but it's all out in the weather whereas we had a huge canopy on the Lux.

In the end they are both good cars but which do I prefer? too hard a question as they are both compromises.

As for the new toyota's I get to drive them all thru work so in my opinion - the later Hilux's I don't like the low body styling, the V8 - it's an absolute balltearer (5th gear at 90k's drop the right foot and it takes off!) I'd love one but for those $'s I'd wait until the excessive oil use etc is addressed.

BTW as others have alluded to I wouldn't buy the series one 2nd hand as lots of owners have been caught out with low oil..... Mechanics are loving them and not forgetting their bread and butter 3L Patrols.
AnswerID: 388935

Follow Up By: racinrob - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:36

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:36
I hadn't heard about the V8 using oil, someone told me that they cooked alternators and were exy to service. I have spoken to a couple of owners who were full of praise but then you wouldn't expect them to bag a vehicle they'd paid $63,000 for would you. Both owners said they were good on fuel, less thirsty than their previous 6 cyl 'cruisers and a joy to drive especially towing.

Rob.
FollowupID: 656656

Follow Up By: slammin - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:21

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:21
re oil problem

It is supposed to reduce over time.... some have some haven't.

Joy to drive, good economy for sure but definitely some ironing to be done.

As for new owners my appreciation goes to the guinea pigs. Just don't expect me to buy one 2nd hand.

PS The low oil buzzer only came on when it was below L on the dipstick : (
FollowupID: 656667

Follow Up By: racinrob - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:25

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:25
Re buying a second hand V8 tabletop 'cruiser, looking thru some of the sites for used vehiclesrecently I see the asking price for a twelve months old one with quite a few K's on the clock up around $69,999. Sure it was a GXL with a lot of nice extras but the Red Book says $62k plus dealer charges for a new one.
When you're buying they're gold, when you're trading one in they aren't worth s**t regardless of make.......ask any used car salesman.

Rob.
FollowupID: 656691

Follow Up By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:23

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:23
I have a 2009 V8 trayback GXL and know of the problems or lack of them of a few more similar vehicles around the area. The cruiser is a lot dearer but is a lot more capable than the Hilux. The choice would surely come down to terrain to be covered and load to be carried. The rougher the terrain and the heavier the load the greater the landcruiser advantage. If the terrain is mild and the load light a Hilux may be better for the job.

When I chose the cruiser I only did so after ruling out all the Hilux, Navara, Rodeo, Bravo type of vehicle that I had first been looking at. The only competitor left was the Patrol and it lost out on account of the engine. In the end I worked back from a possible Canning Stock Route crossing as well as a need to carry heavy loads ie a lot more than half a ton. For a long range trayback, as needed for CSR, there was simply no close competitor. The dual 90 litre tanks combined with the extra load carrying ability put it way out in front. The Patrol was still tempting though, at its much lower price.

Only real problem I know of personally, and not hearsay, is that one driver had access to some iffy fuel and used it and had some rough running after it.

I have not had any real problem and think it is a great vehicle. One time I topped up the oil, used about a litre I think after having a service done while away on holiday. The service oil change had "economised" on the amount of oil used, something I noticed straight away and fixed. Took 10 litres across the Simpson twice "just in case" it developed the dreaded oil usage problem in the desert. It didn't. Not surprising given they have been around for about 3 years and should by now be pretty well sorted.

I agree with the comments about avoiding second hand ones. Second hand ones are far too dear compared to new and they are often driven by drivers who do not own them and some thrash them a fair bit. IMHO they are not good value.

The V8 traybacks are not perfect. They need an after market drivers seat fitted and maybe one for a passenger as well and probably should come with a standard roo bar. The standard seating is very poor and on a vehicle that costs around 70 grand set up is inexcusable.

They are great fun to drive.

FollowupID: 656753

Follow Up By: racinrob - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:49

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:49
Thanks for your follow up Flynnie, it answers a few questions I had including those between the lines. You say they're not perfect but then they haven't built the perfect vehicle (caravan, motorhome, etc) yet.

Rob
FollowupID: 656761

Reply By: Member - Mfewster(SA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:32

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:32
I went from a hilux (4runner) backwards to a 60 series LC. One of my better decisions. It has saved me heaps. things just kept breaking on the hi lux.
AnswerID: 388939

Reply By: qubert - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:53

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:53
thanks folks, good food for thought.....
AnswerID: 388953

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:36

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:36
Here is a females perspective.
We have had various Cruisers, first Hubby's 75 Series Ute, then we went to a Troopie, then and 80 Series, then he brought a ex enviro 75 Series ute which drove really well but had a bleep ty chassis, and finally he has his beaut '05 79 Series Turbo Diesel which after the loan is paid out will probably have ended up costing us close to umm two arms and two legs!

Anyway living rural after a while I didn't find the Subaru Forrester all that suitable, it was too big for a normal car but didn't really have many benefits of a 4x4. So we decided on a straight trade in for a '04 TD Hilux Dual Cab. I thought it was a great car, more nimble on the road compared to his cruiser, quicker steering, didn't feel sluggish when accelerating at all (thanks to the Turbo) and it was more fuel efficient than the Cruizer albeit not a huge amount.
Handling on the gravel was "exciting" if you like drifting around corners. Nah not that bad but due to the lightness of it (alloy tray) you definitely felt that it wanted to slide when cornering, and even going up our gravel driveway was fun.

But partly due to finances we ended up selling it to buy just a normal cheap car (97 Daihatsu Applause) which in comparison is a pleasure to drive and gets two time the economy that the Hilux did!!!

But to sum it up in some ways the Hilux was better on the road compared to the cruiser, but really when it came to bumps both on road an off road, the IFS Hilux was absolutely no comparison to the ride / comfort / performance that you get out of the Cruiser, and that was even considering that we had replaced the suspension on the Lux all round. Granted if the Lux had a steel tray or generally a bit more weight to it, then it would have been better, but I imagine your fuel economy would have gone out the window. The TD Crusier really shows it up if you're say going up a longish hill or overtaking, when you get around the 100k mark I think the power of the lux leaves something to be desired where the 79 series in comparison has ample in reserve.

My Father in Law recently got a Petrol Hilux Ute. I have only sat in it, but it feels / looks a lot lower to the ground compared to ours, I know I wouldn't be buying one.

So much for my summary above ( gee I can ramble on), but anyway in my opinion if you're after "4wdiness" then stick with your cruiser. If your looking for something more nimble on the road and I suppose "fun to throw around" then maybe go for the lux, or then again why not keep the cruiser and get some sporty non 4x4 car for on the road??? That sort of set up works well for us except for the fact that Hubby plus me and two kids don't all fit in the cruiser :(
AnswerID: 389277