7 yr old boy killed by reversing 4wd (driven by his mother)

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 10:02
ThreadID: 73336 Views:3761 Replies:8 FollowUps:11

Reply By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:29

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:29
A tragedy that strengthens the case for reversing sensors being made compulsory in new cars? They can't be that expensive for manufacturers to fit as standard? I don't mean the camera, just the beeping ones which I have. They are really effective.

AnswerID: 388925

Follow Up By: Travelin OZ - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:38

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 11:38
It strengthens the case that people that have kids should be more aware of what the kids are doing before they move the car.

I have never moved my car before I new where my kid was NEVER.
FollowupID: 656644

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:17

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:17
Sorry, I think you are being a bit harsh. I had the same attitude as you with my 2 but at the end of the day, I'm just glad mine made it through in one piece. Sometimes, an accident is just that, an accident. Anything that can be done to stop it is worth the bucks in my book.
FollowupID: 656665

Follow Up By: Ozboc - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:43

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:43
I tend to agree with TravelingOz

Before i move the car -- i 1) make sure nobody has followed me out the front door ( ie i can hear the screen door open as it will catch a little 2) if someone has followed me out -- always see who it is and take action - ie if its the little ones -- throw them in the car even if i am just moving car a few meters or have my Partner Corall the kids and wait for her nod before i move

May take a few extra seconds - but well worth it ...

also on a side note -- you should DRIVE out of a driveway - not reverse....

Boc
FollowupID: 656678

Follow Up By: handy - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:52

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:52
they were reversing up the drive way loaded with shopping !!!
FollowupID: 656683

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:48

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:48
I agree with Travelin OZ - I don't even have kids but often visit people with kids and I have NEVER moved my car unless I knew where all the kids were.
FollowupID: 656694

Follow Up By: pt_nomad - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:03

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:03
Mike,
I tend to agree with you.

Like the other respondants, I always try to know whats going on around the car before moving. For me this also includes reversing into parks as I consider it safer to drive out rather than reverse out.
I have also instructed the kids to stay clear of moving vehicles and to remain in the vision of the driver.
I have a reversing camera and have had occasion to brake and stop the car on seeing movement in the screen, a child other than mine had moved quickly behind the vehicle. In this instance they ran through and I would not have hit them - worried me non the less.

So whilst I make efforts in this regard i know that I and those around are only human, steps to eliminate incidents like these should be considered.

We all need to take resoncibilty for ours and our childresn actions. I also consider we have a a responsibilty of preventing incidents, standing on a high horse wont necesarily assist this.

Paul.

FollowupID: 656723

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:26

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:26
You said it better than I did Paul. Thanks
FollowupID: 656728

Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:48

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 13:48
Yes, well said Paul.Well pointed out that a big part of the issue is teaching your children from a young age not to go behind a car that is about to reverse: because the driver can't see you!
As you've also suggested, the driver needs to be aware that not all other people care for their children enough to teach them this.
With the amount of publicity surrounding this type of incident every few months, you'd think that people would be taking more precautions in this area - or are parents now reluctant to restrain their children for fear of being charged with assault?
FollowupID: 656963

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:15

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 12:15
So they have to emphasise it was a 4wd.

Better to either say the make and model or just say a CAR.

Was it a 4wd Cruiser or a 4wd Corolla.

Always hit the 4wd button dont they.

My Commodore is harder to see out of than the Cruiser.

Why not just say a careless driver ran over a child.

AnswerID: 388937

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:22

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:22
Hi Graham

I was surprized over the weekend to find cases of not hitting the 4wd button.

Friday a Prado rolled killing both parents of a child left in it , and also a 70 series rolled killing driver and headlines were as below , in both cases they reffered to cars in the text and you had to read a bit to find 4wd in one of them and the other reffered just to a landcruiser UTE.

"Man dies in car rollover at Hallston"

"Baby Survived crash that kills parents"

FollowupID: 656668

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:34

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 13:34
These cases are still too common and immensely tragic - imagine having to live with that for the rest of your life. It can happen to anyone and in any vehicle - so don't blame the parents and don't blame the vehicle.

We have a playground across the road. And we have reversing cameras on both our vehicles, but I expect there are times when these would not prevent a tragedy because the angle of view is not 180 degrees, and its hard to watch the screen all the time. You can never be too careful.
AnswerID: 388948

Reply By: RobAck - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:24

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:24
Sadly another statistic. Whilst it is simpler to drive in to a parking spot our safety training recommends that you reverse in wherever possible. Whilst not applicable for all situations such as angled parks if you reverse in then you have already seen what you are parking in and so when you drive out, forward, then you have clear site of what is in front.

RobA
AnswerID: 389011

Reply By: funnyfarm - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:51

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:51
very sad, my sympathies to the family involved.
AnswerID: 389020

Reply By: Travelin OZ - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:49

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:49
It doesn't matter if you reverse in or out, you still need to reverse, that is a no brainer to keep a look out for kids/ people.

Rule # 1 when reversing is be aware of your surroundings and if this means looking after yours or other peoples kids, it's that simple BE AWARE, it is nobodies fault but the drivers, sugar coat it as you will, but it is your responsibility nobody else's but yours and yours alone.

If you drive someone's car without rego it is by law, your responsibility to ensure the car is in rego, one would ASSUME a child has more rights.

Think of me as you will I will not apologise for my stance on this matter.
AnswerID: 389035

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 23:23

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 23:23
Try educating kids on the dangers of motor vehicles as well as road sense. You cant blame a driver if a kid runs behind a car or if they run out onto the road.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 656782

Follow Up By: Fatso - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:25

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:25
It is in no doubt a tragic situation & even though it may not show in our choice of words I do think we all have a bit of sympathy for the parents.
The most common problem with reversing would definitely have to be that drivers do not look in the direction of travel.
If you are travelling backwards you must twist your body & look over your left shoulder & only use the mirrors to check for clearance. You must also keep looking in that direction until the car comes to a complete stop. If you do not do this in a driving test you will be failed.
Does anybody remember?
If a kid runs out behind the car you should be in a position to see it.
There is no need for reversing cameras if you drive a normal 4 x 4 car the proper way.
FollowupID: 656823

Reply By: Danny & June - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 00:09

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 00:09
We have 2 dogs.
Car starts They are under the house.
From 3months old
Kids at our house are treated the same.
Thanks Danny
AnswerID: 389063

Reply By: Andrew - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 05:59

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 05:59
Kids don't generally learn road sense till they are over 8. They are still learning heaps of other things and haven't fully developed their peripheral vison till after that age.
4 xs are generally better then cars to see out the back of because they have better mirrors.
Reverse sensors don't always work with adults and are even less effective with children.
Camera's are great but not always claer enough or wide enough (or down enough) view.
You don't always know kids are around.
They could be below the bonnet line if you moved off forwards
Sometimes people make mistakes.

If we were all perfect we wouldn't have a road toll.

Still horrible to hear

condolences to the family

A
AnswerID: 389464