Weight of the 4by....what to leave behind? :-)

Submitted: Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:35
ThreadID: 73346 Views:7116 Replies:19 FollowUps:34
Weight of GQ with one spare wheel only

Weight includes:

90litres diesel, Tanami pump, Grease-gun
MDF Storage compartments
55lt Engel fridge
8 jerry cans (empty)
7 water containers (empty)
Pots, pans, cutlery, plates and billy
Portapotti
Gas stove and 2kg gas bottle
2 chairs, 1 foldup table
Beadbreakers, Tyrelevers,
3 boxes of tools and stuff
Jack, chains, Trolley Jack
Bull bar, winch, Recovery gear, Tree Protector
Spare belts and hoses and Jumper Leads
Rugged tool roll (includes Saw, Mallet, Shovel and Axe)
Welding gear, roll of wire

Jamestown Public Weighbridge today 2640KG
(weight excludes driver/passengers)

Still to add:
160lts diesel =192kg
60lts water =60kg
Tucker and self inflating mattress =25kg
Clothes, sleeping bag and pillow + personal stuff =20kg
Fluids (spare stuff) =3kg

300KG

Total so far 2940kg

Might be more stuff to come such as extra spare tyre casing + other stuff

Nissan Patrol GQ GVM = 2800KG

Have to shed 140kgs!!!!! But where?

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:45

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:45
Gday Willem!! Just leave half the booze at home! :)) Michael
AnswerID: 388960

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:50

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:50
Hahahaha....yes Michael....thats a big ask!! :-)
FollowupID: 656681

Follow Up By: Go-N-Grey (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:47

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:47
Yeah....thats a big Cask!! :-(

FollowupID: 656923

Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:46

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:46
Willem.

I think the 140kgs would be a good outcome.
I would hate to think by how much most (if not all) 4wd are over their limit when they leave the caravan park in Birdsville for a trip across the SD.

Not easy to follow the rules when you play our game.

Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

AnswerID: 388961

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:57

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:57
How are ya, Wim?

Yes and I cannot understand why the GVM of 2800kg was put on the GQ and not a higher figure such as 3000kg

FollowupID: 656685

Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:09

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:09
Hey Willem.

I'm fine mate.
I cannot bring myself to tell you how much mine weighted last year prior to a five week trip with two on board.
I think in future we will be limited to taking the camper when it is both of us.
I will still rooftop it when travelling by myself.

By the way, I still blame you for the withdrawal symptoms when I am away from the red sand for too long.

cheers and safe travels.
Camper setup
July 2012 - Hay River & Binns track
VKS 737 Mobile 0091
Selcall 0091

FollowupID: 656687

Reply By: Member - Scoof (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:50

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:50
Take a trailer and spread the out. LOL
AnswerID: 388963

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:58

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 14:58
Yerrrr....LOL
FollowupID: 656686

Reply By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:02

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:02
Easy Willem

Here is how to save 150kg up front.

first 160lt of diesel is about 115kg not 192kg and plastic jerries are 2kg , metal 4kg.

Dump the fridge or buy a little 23lt one like ours which fits between the front seats.
The problem with fridges is that they encourage bad food & habits when really all you need is a bit of cold milk and a few drinks etc.

Dump the gas bottle and take cannisters - much more reliable to.

And lastly , dump the trolley jack , a standard nissan wind up unit and some small blocks of wood will save the rest.

Send consultancy fees to Royal flying doctor

AnswerID: 388966

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:23

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:23
Hmmmm...consultancy fees now????? Must be getting near retiremnet age....LOL

Couldn't for the life of me find the right weight for diesel so had to work it out in pounds and then convert...must've stuffed up...what is the weight of diesel?

Fridge is 32lt plus Two zone which weighs little

Gas Cannisters? They are a number one PITA

The last thing I want to be doing is working meself to the bone trying to jack the 3ton truck up with a Nissan bottle jack
FollowupID: 656690

Follow Up By: Matt(WA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:03

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:03
Willem,

If you work on a specific gravity of fuel of around .75 (diesel can range from .71 to .79). So 160lt by .75 = 120kg's.

Matt

FollowupID: 656696

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:08

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:08
Thanks Matt,

There you go ....look how much weight I have saved...LOL
FollowupID: 656699

Follow Up By: Mad Cowz (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:50

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:50
Willem, I thought you'd have all the tricks to travel light.
Personally I'd lose the trolley jack and bead breaker and replace both with a 10t bottle jack then you can leave the nissan one at home I would think.

To weld do you plan to use the jumper leads for earthing and holding the electrode or do you take welding leads? Welding leads would be heavy, on our welder the leads are heavier than the welder!!!

Is it an option to take less water but take some sort of filter setup so you can use what you find along the way?

happy travels,
MC
Carpe Cerevisi

FollowupID: 656735

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:54

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:54
Hi Nick

Proper welding leads but not the industrial stuff. Welding gear would weigh a few kilos only. 10t Bottle jack would probably weigh as much as my trolley jack

Water requirement is a minumum at 60 litres.

FollowupID: 656749

Follow Up By: Robin Miller - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:35

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:35
The reason you take the Nissan jack , is that it is intrinsically safter along with being considerably lighter, it also has a 3rd advantage in that its open / closed height ratio is greater than bottle jacks.

Its simple mechanical screw mechanism requires less force to operate , and doesn't rely on hydralic seals etc to remain in position.

Useful features when your getting older.

It needs to be supported at times by a wooden baseplate, ours is 19mm marine ply which doubles as part of a table. 100mm treated pine blocks which are light extend its range.
FollowupID: 656756

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:48

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:48
Willem

Llike Robin I am a fan of the Nissan bottle jack.

Simple, strong, reliable, light and most of all safe.

I know a few people who carry trolly jacks but for the life of me I can not justify all that extra weight for the few times I use a jack while travelling.

FollowupID: 656760

Reply By: Member - Timbo - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:44

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 15:44
I'd have to agree with Robin - ditch the trolley jack first (not sure it would be much good in really remote travel - where are to going to find a sealed surface to roll it over?!).

As was also noted, the calculation on the weight of the fuel doesn't seem right so you might not have to shed as much as you think.

Personally, I'd also ditch the portapotti and make do with the shovel that you're already carrying.

It might also depend what you're carrying in the "3 boxes of tools and stuff" - I always found that one tool box was more than adequate to fit all the tools I ever needed to bring (and plenty more besides), including assortments of wire, bolts, nuts, etc. but then again, I don't drive a ... no, I won't even go there! :-)

Now, if you want to get into "competition cyclist" weight saving techniques, you'll start by ripping out the carpet, the ceiling lining, door linings/trims, the passenger side wiper & washer and of course: the valve stem caps. You could also use "aircraft" techniques and drill large holes in the MDF at places that won't adversely affect strength but remove material and therefore weight...

PS. I also note you haven't allowed any weight for a driver and/or passengers - I think industry standard allowance is around 68kg per person (some obviously need to adjust this to suit individual circumstances/circumferences)
AnswerID: 388973

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:18

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:18
Personally you might not have the ageing body constraints which afflict me and makes doing a bush job with a shovel a precarious venture. The Potti stays! Anyway it weighs nothing.

Trying to get the tools down to one small toolbox...and no...I don't drive anything from the Dark Side either :-)

Trolley jack can be used in desert sand, rocky ground and anything you might think of with the help of a small base at times. It makes life a whole lot easier!

Industry standards must be weighing small people from Asia and not Tall Tutonic Barbarians :-) But I will discount the driver and passengers weight as stated in my post as they are not permanent fixtures

FollowupID: 656700

Reply By: gbc - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:19

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:19
Attach helium balloon where trailer used to be?????

Don't fill up the long range consumables until the last minute, and they'll be gone soon anyway - I wouldn't stress as long as the bus isn't sagging out.
AnswerID: 388981

Follow Up By: D200Dug- Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 16:35

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 16:35
There is a family in the US selling a second hand one I believe :-)

http://www.balloonboygame.com/
FollowupID: 656832

Reply By: Gossy - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:24

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:24
remember you will lose about 20-30kgs a day in fuel, food and water usage :)

Your heaviest day is the first day!

AnswerID: 388982

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:31

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:31
I guess I know that already :-)
FollowupID: 656702

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:35

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:35
OMG Willie,

I have no trailer- yippee- got rid of it years ago.
- in theory, freed the capital up. In practice spent it on more modification's !
- my wife will now give me a spell at the wheel as long as there is no trailer.
- saves rego & insurance
- improves fuel economy
- saves having to find somewhere at home to store it - currently a real dilemma.

Don't tell anyone, but

On Mile End weighbridge on 26.3.08 : 3340 kg

includes 45 L water
Roof rack
190 L fuel
tools & parts & tyre gear
all camping & cooking gear
self

need to add 3 x swags = 21kg
2nd & 3rd bodies = 200 kg
more water= 20 kg
tucker = 30 kg

heaviest duty springs & shocks fitted - Ride Pro brand -effective 65 mm lift.

HOWEVER

I can now exist, with 3 people on board, away in the sticks until the water/fuel expires, so that is a good time away from 'civilisation'. When I did the CSR, I needed another 80 L fuel, which got me to Kunawaratji OK & thence to Wiluna OK. So that's another 80 kg on the roof rack.
As others have noted, that weight disappears fairly quickly.
In other words I am not driving an extremely heavy vehicle all the time. Phew......

I drive, steer & brake accordingly.

So gross total, with 3 x pax can = 3700kg

Shhhhhhhhh

AnswerID: 388985

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:47

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:47
G'day Rick

Looks like I am doing OK weightwise compared to you....LOL

FollowupID: 656747

Follow Up By: Members Paul and Melissa (VIC) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:42

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:42
Yah same here,last trip weighed in @ 4080kg including driver and 2 passengers.
FollowupID: 656758

Reply By: RobertHL (SEQ) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:51

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 16:51
G'day young Willem,you aint got nothin' to worry about my rig weighed in at

5.25T heading out on my last advenure earlier this yr to the Cape. :))

Heading out again in a couple of weeks to Pine Creek for a couple of months,so won't even bother to weigh it again,i will try & shed some of though.

AnswerID: 388992

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:12

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:12
G'day Bob

Are you going to Housesit at Pine Creek?

But what is your payload? Probably OK that 5.25T

FollowupID: 656717

Follow Up By: RobertHL (SEQ) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:45

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:45
Willem, yes going there to house sit.

Pay load i am usure of what that was, at the time iwas only loaded & already a couple of hours into the trip(no turning back.

The few time when i took rubbish to the tip,the truck was around 3.7t

That was before i changed bull bars & added a winch,130ltr fuel tank & 98ltr water tank, & then allthe stuff we take,some not needed on that trip maybe on another.

Put Aussie helper springs as well, which keeps it nice & level.

Tyres Toyo m55 lite truck handled really good too.Front pressure 65psi rear 75psi never had to let them down for anything.Wearing good too 3mm about 20,000 ks.

Cheers Bob.
FollowupID: 656746

Reply By: The Geriatric Gypsies - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:05

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:05
goodday guys
i find it easier not to look to hard at the scales as i have frightened myself enough this year
BUT the 20l diesel and 20l water stay on the rack no matter what because you just never never know

ps 3350kg last weigh in with out the van
AnswerID: 388995

Reply By: taswegian - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:16

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:16
G'day all,
#2 Distilate [road transport diesel] Sg =8.23 @15c ex self's point depot [Hobart] 10-09.

Tassie.
AnswerID: 388997

Reply By: Horacehighroller - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:18

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:18
G-day Willem,

If you're serious about weight reduction consider;

no trailer = no need for a towbar.
(my Landcruiser towbar must weigh close to 20kg.)

AnswerID: 388998

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:41

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:41
Thanks Peter. I have thought of that but I have a house trailer that goes to the tip every now and then so it has to stay :-)
FollowupID: 656712

Reply By: River Swaggie - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:57

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 17:57
**Have to shed 140kgs!!!!! But where?**

Hiya Willie

Emty the Portapotti ......lol

I'm with Robin mate 8 Jerry Cans-go the plastic fantastic..Although your Tanami would not fit them but the new Tanami one does..

AnswerID: 389006

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:10

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:10
I hate plastic jerrycans! Anyway I will only be saving 16kg and then I would have to buy an overpriced Tanami pump. Maybe the winch and Bull bar could go instead or that 2nd battery :-)

FollowupID: 656715

Follow Up By: River Swaggie - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:24

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 19:24
Nah keep that second battery ~(*--)..Why do you hate plastic jerry cans Willem ?????

FollowupID: 656727

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:47

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 18:47
Gday Willem,
I can make some suggestions and I'm pretty sure you'll disagree :-))

Get rid of the winch, snatch block and chains - should save at least 60kgs. Don't need a winch in the desert. I know plenty of people who don't bother with a bullbar either. Don't need an axe. Bowsaw is fine.

Get rid of the split rims and MRF. Fit some Navara rims with 235/85R16 tubeless tyres (not "America's most trusted"). I'd guess you'll save 5-6kgs a rim. They'll also get over the sandhills a bit better. I don't carry a beadbreaker - a jack will do fine for those tubeless rims.

Retain the jerries with a steel mesh rack bolted to the floor where the middle seats were. Make up a false floor in the back with 9mm ply, and use plastic boxes.

But really, getting under 3000kgs is pretty good already. But with a normally aspirated diesel, the weight reduction is worth it.

Have fun!
AnswerID: 389014

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:37

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:37
Hmmmmmmmmmm
FollowupID: 656742

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:08

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:08
I always say start with ones self and work outwards

AnswerID: 389025

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:38

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 20:38
That is easier said than done
FollowupID: 656743

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:34

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 21:34
Yer I know, I have just lost 10kg's and reckon its what you put in your mouth that metters, but it aint easy I agree.

FollowupID: 656755

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 22:02

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 22:02
Yeah I am 12 kilos less since June so travelling OK for now
FollowupID: 656763

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 22:03

Tuesday, Oct 27, 2009 at 22:03
way to go Willem, how have you done that?

FollowupID: 656764

Reply By: Member -Signman - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 11:48

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 11:48
And don't forget to shorten the handle of your toothbrush..will save gms !!

AnswerID: 389093

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:31

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:31
Or leave the tootpaste at home :-)
FollowupID: 656825

Reply By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 13:33

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 13:33
Hi Willem,
have you taken out the rear seats. i did that on my last trip and saved at least 60kg.
carpet (as mentioned before) would be 10kg although you wouldn't get much heat protection with the carpet gone.

alloy roof rack.
alloy bull bar instead of steel.

agree with everyone else, get rid of the trolley jack. i would much rather be under a screw Nissan jack with wood for extension than a hydraulic trolley jack by it self.
plastic disposable pates and cutlery instead of steel.

i hate to say it, hand winch instead of electric.

that should get you your 160Kg
AnswerID: 389102

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:22

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:22
Hahahahhahaha...hand winch.......been here done that

Alloy bullbar?.....might as well have no bar

Yep all rear seats have been removed.

I am not really worried about the weight as it is only GVM I am aiming for. If the weight goes slightly over it isn't a big deal.

Trolley jack paranoia....lol. I must go and weigh the trolley jack as its pretty light and it works far better than a windup jack. Never climb underneath unless there is some protection in place. Even bottle jacks have been known to topple over.
FollowupID: 656822

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:29

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 15:29
Hi Greg

The Trolley Jack weighs 12.7 kilos on the bathroom scales :-0)
FollowupID: 656824

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 18:37

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 18:37
Willem

Stop calling it a Trolley change it's name to something else.. LOL

Poor thing will be getting a complex

FollowupID: 656841

Follow Up By: Member - Greg T (ACT) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 07:19

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 07:19
Fair enough William,
so you would only save 5 or so kg, by not taking the 'floor' (Trolley) jack.
if thats what you like better, go for it.

agree with climbing under a vehicle with any jack without additional protection.
FollowupID: 656909

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 18:21

Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 18:21
Willem

I'd leave the bull bar and winch off for a start. 80 kg

No need for trolley jack - wheels get bogged in sand anyway. 17 kg

3 boxes tools and stuff? I bet they weigh 10 kg each. A set of sockets, spanners, a few screw drivers, pliers and some SS wire is all you need. save 20 kg

Slow down a bit and you won't need the welder :-) 15 kg

Change to alloy wheels. 6 by 10 = 60 kg

Rear seat in Disco weighs a ton and is now ensconced in the shed. 40 kg

Sound deadening in back of vehicle 20 kg

Thats 252kg saved with no pain at all.
AnswerID: 389133

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:41

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:41

I trimmed the toolboxes and have shed 2kg :-) Now 20kilos for the 3

I'd rather stick to my heavy duty steel rims as they are a tad tougher than every day alloys. Bang an alloy on a a rock and there is no fix out bush

Trolley jack has skid plate

Slow down??...if I go any slower I would come to a standstill

I weigh the truck again next year when load up for a big loop again and let yer all know where I am at
FollowupID: 657005

Reply By: Patrol22 - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:00

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:00
Seems all that left then Willem is.......circumcision....but then again :-)))
AnswerID: 389281

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 07:53

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 07:53
Too late for that :-)))
FollowupID: 657093