What exactly makes a 4x4 a 'Soft Roader'
Submitted: Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:06
Serendipity (WA)
I have heard lots of readers talk of 'Soft Roaders' but which 4x4 would this not so glamorous tag belong to. I mean just what about a car would tip it into the soft category and what would mean it is 'tough'.
I am not about picking on any particular brand name as that is just fords and holdens and each has their own following.
I think the two most popular Nissan patrol and toyota landcruisers are recognized as standard icons in the outback and each as capable as their drivers. But which other cars are OK for the occasional weekend in a caravan
park but really should endure more than 100 metres of corrugations.
If the mod squad think this is just too topical - that is OK you can can it. I just got to pondering what others think makes a 'Soft Roader'. What features of a car. Maybe those ones with no chassis rail - just pressed floor pan. Ones with really low profile tyres.
Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:09
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:09
No low range is very limiting.
Reply By: Matt(WA) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:10
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:10
David,
I class anything without low range a soft roader.
matt
Follow Up By: DIO - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:07
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:07
What about the Volkswagen Toureg. It has low range, limited clearance, low profile road performance tyres, no recovery hooks etc. Wouldn't that be a 'soft roader' too !
Follow Up By: Member -Signman - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:16
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:16
DIO..
ToeRag a 'soft roader'..you gotta be joking !!
With just a 'few' modifications- this vehicle won the tough Dakar Rally!!!!
Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:34
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 20:34
The height adjustable
suspension stands it up pretty good....costs 6K extra though :-)
550nm torque on the v6 diesel 750 on the v10 makes it a beast really
Reply By: The Explorer - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:10
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:10
Maybe no low range?
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:40
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:40
A Nissan......... or a Mitsubishi
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:49
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:49
Obviously this bloke has a Hyundai or a Kia !!!
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:55
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:55
see photo... LOL
Follow Up By: Ianw - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:06
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:06
Yep !! as I thought !! Genuine softy !!
Lol
Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:11
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:11
LOL...
Member Duncan W (WA) has 2004 Hyundai Terracan Gl V6 Auto (or so he's profiles says) and I have read stories about it and am told that it impresses a few people in 4WDiver circles.
Follow Up By: Member - Duncan W (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:22
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:22
Gee thanks Richard. I do though tend to push the car to its limits. BTW it goes in tomorrow to get front and rear air lockers fitted.
Reply By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:58
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 22:58
My Forester has low range.
It has 20cm clearance. Same as a Prado I think.
It has constant 4 WD.
But I still think of it as a soft roader.
Follow Up By: Fiona & Paul - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:07
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:07
Well there is another one of us and I agree with you Sigmund, but the entry and exit clearance can be an issuse so we have to be careful where we go so soft roader they are.
Wherever the subie can't take me I walk.
Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:01
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 11:01
Yes, same here; walk or pref. ski ;-}
The Forester's entry and exit angles aren't too bad.
Click here. Much better than an Outback though a tow bar has you doing some ploughing. I've had it on a rough rocky track classed at 4WD only and it went OK (trashed two tyres while doing it but that's a different issue).
The std sump guard is not worth the cardboard it's made of, and even with low range there's not enough grunt for a standing start on a steep slope without spinning the
wheels. But it performs
well on long stretches of corrugations and has good dynamics on the black stuff.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:02
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:02
The ground clearance measurement is measured at the lowest point under the vehicle... The location of this point under the car is far more important than the actual figure - eg. for a Prado this is probably a single point under the rear diff (which is located between the rear
wheels and will therefore have no affect on approach, departure or ramp-over angles) with the rest of the underbody being significantly higher than that - a driver who knows their vehicle can place the vehicle over obstacles to avoid bumping the 'low points' on things. This means that even if the figure quoted is the same/similar, the situation in the real world can be very different.
Having said all that, with a bit of care, it is still surprising where you can go with a Subaru (without damaging it).
Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:23
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:23
Its more than just not having a low range.
Its about the construction of the vehicle,the amount of wheel articulation ,the entry and exit angles and the amount of protection for vital components.
The rpms the engine delivers its peak torque and HP is also important
Its a blurry line and the thing you really need to know is the limitations of the vehicle in question
Reply By: Road Warrior - Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:25
Wednesday, Oct 28, 2009 at 23:25
Certainly I consider anything without a selectable high/low range transfer case to be a softroader. Especially if it has an east-west engine.
Reply By: Member - Scott M (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 00:50
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 00:50
I'm probably wrong, but I always thought a 'Soft Roader' was a 4wd vehicle without a full x-stressed chassis
Reply By: Member - Kroozer (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 01:05
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 01:05
Anything without the ''Oh What A Feeling" Badge on it.
Reply By: Member - Clements (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 01:46
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 01:46
I'd say a 'Soft Roader' has a monocoque constructed chassis, whereas a true 4x4 has a Ladder style constructed chassis. Eg - Nissan Patrols, Cruisers and Land Rovers. A more rigid and stronger chassis I find is more capable of road.
Monocoque I think is weaker. Street cars have this type of construction.
I am also a firm believer of Front and Rear solid live axles. I can't see station mob drive with any different. Proven and reliable !
Although current 200 Series and Prados and 100 series can liven up the debate about the 'benefits' of IFS.
I also agree - no low range gearing = useless out bush!
matthew
Follow Up By: BenDiD - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:27
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:27
Matthew,
The Land Rover Discovery has an integrated chassis, not a separate ladder frame chassis, just like the Pajero.
Follow Up By: Member - Clements (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:50
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:50
Ben,
Cheers for correcting me I wasn't too sure about the newer Discoveries.
I am just infatuated with my Landcruiser Ute!
onya mate
Follow Up By: Member - Tezza Qld - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:56
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:56
Matthew
Its an interesting question I have a jeep cherokee xj which has a live coil axle up front and a live leaf sprung axle in the rear. It also has a monocoque body and no solid chassis. I also have the GU ute shown in my profile. If I go serious 4wd
ie low range and rock crawling, the fun stuff, I take the jeep as it is more capable than the nissan. Sounds hard to believe but the shorter wheelbase and
better wheel travel does the job. It must be said though that the GU is a much stronger vehicle and as such
mine is set up as a tourer.
Just a comparison from another lover of solid axles
Cheers Teza
Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 07:18
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 07:18
If you can drive around fraser when it hasnt rained for a while then you have a off roader . If you are too scared to go there then you have a soft roader .
Reply By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:29
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:29
Gday David
I think it's the vehicles that have plastic bumper bars that might tear off when in a river or creek.
Murray
Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:56
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 09:56
Soft roader
Reply By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:26
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:26
It's definitely a blurry line. Google "trans siberian rally" to see what a Porsche Cayenne can do ;-))
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:06
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:06
Just a thought: What it CAN do, assisted by bucket-loads of sponsor money, is usually very different to what it can reliably handle in the long term...
Follow Up By: MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:18
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:18
And that holds true for ANY vehicle...
Reply By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:52
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 10:52
Serendipity
Any vehicle that requires (any) modification to handle a CSR trip.
Follow Up By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:07
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:07
Does your definition of '(any) modification' include an Old Man Grevillea
suspension upgrade?! :-)
Follow Up By: Member - Wim (Qld) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:37
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:37
Timbo
Yes, that particular mode was required for an already beefed up vehicle.
It would appear that that particular problem is a known fault.
My point was that it appears difficult to find a vehicle off the showroom floor that does not require some level of mode.
But, maybe I'm being too harsh. My concern is the plastic this, electronic that and the softer ride means that many of the new "4WD's" are a little too soft for what we do with them.
I think the problem is I don't like the "label". You could accuse many of us as being a little soft.
safe travelling.
Reply By: Member - Timbo - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:45
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 14:45
I'd say a soft roader would be the vehicles that have monocoque construction and no low range gearing.
Anything that does not have direct/solid drive to all wheels would also have to be included (eg. viscous coupling operating to provide drive to one end of the vehicle).
It would also have to add that it should have a reasonable amount of wheel articulation, but I'm not really sure how I'd define a 'reasonable amount' - perhaps at least a diagonal wheel ramp test:
Reply By: TerraFirma - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:15
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 15:15
I think most 4x4 people know what a soft roader is, you can put labels on them such as don't have low range etc but I think it goes further than that. Would you take the vehicle across the outback of
Australia for example? Would the vehicle in question deliver un-questioned reliability and ability to get you from A to B when it counted?
Having said that many of the vehicles in question are not bought to be used as workhorses such as your cruiser or patrol or defender etc, but sometimes they are and so it begs the question. Sometimes the owner believes you can kill 2 birds with one stone, that is Yuppie 4X4 and hard roader all rolled into one, nar don't think so...
In reality the bare bones Landcruisers, Troop Carriers, Patrols and Defenders are the real hard roaders IMO, after that they start to get softer and softer, you don't need a science degree to see one.
I think most 4x4 people know what a soft roader is, you can put labels on them such as don't have low range etc but I think it goes further than that. Would you take the vehicle across the outback of
Australia for example? Would the vehicle in question deliver un-questioned reliability and ability to get you from A to B when it counted?
Having said that many of the vehicles in question are not bought to be used as workhorses such as your cruiser or patrol or defender etc etc, but sometimes they are and so it begs the question. Sometimes the owner believes you can kill 2 birds with one stone, that is Yuppy 4X4 and hardroader all rolled into one, narr don't think so.
Reply By: ozwrangler - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:07
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:07
Examples that spring to mind are:
RAV4
Subaru Outback (worse departure angle than Forester as longer boot area)
Honda CRV
Also saw a "sport" Range Rover recently which looked like it had all the clearance of a Commodore. Not a proper 4WD IMO.
Friend took her Subaru Forester all sorts of
places that I would have thought beyond it.... but it's always a trade off b/w car-like comfort and handling vs off-road capability.
Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:29
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:29
I take this as a bit of a tongue in cheek thread. In that spirit I would say anything that is not a 'Cruiser or Patrol trayback is a soft roader.
Further I would like to thank all the soft roaders that go down desert tracks smoothing out the track so that hard roaders never bottom out. Soft roaders generously use their vehicles as a type of grader to smooth out the track for those that follow.
On a more serious note. This is a shade of
grey question. Given how few hard roaders there are now it is probably easier to define a hard roader than a soft roader. I would say anything without dual range transmission and high ground clearance is a soft roader.
Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:43
Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:43
Hi Flynnie
Like your new cruiser.
You can fix the wide turning circle by adjusting the steering stop bolts on the front. I did mine - works fine.
And while everyone is proud of their 4x4 I often find the abilities off road lie with the driver more than the car. I do like it when the tracks are smoothed over by low riders.
And it looks like your summation of 'without dual range transmission and high ground clearance is a soft roader' is a general consensus.