Is there anyway I can get NZ street maps for my Nuvi 760 Free?

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 17:42
ThreadID: 73386 Views:3203 Replies:4 FollowUps:3
G'day all, my friend is going to NZ on Saturday & I would like to lend him my 760, is there any way I can get NZ maps for free from anywhere for the 760? thanks in advance, aussiedingo

Reply By: DIO - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:30

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:30
Probably not unless someone does a pirate copy. Surely your friend wouldn't want that. Have a look at the base map on your unit. I have a Garmin Quest that on the base maps most major cities and roads in NZ are clearly navigable. Can't do auto routing on it though. You wouldn't need that as the place is fairly compact and it's easy to find your way around.
AnswerID: 389276

Reply By: KiwiAngler - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:45

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:45
Go to NZ Open Maps then go to the 'forum' page, then go to 'latest mapset information' then go to ' latest mapset with global indexing..." go the last page (4) scroll down to 'labour weekend map release' and d/l the mapset

I use this site and have had no problems with any of their maps

I download it into Mapsource and then back into my 276c

Pay to read all the 'how to download and install stuff' and the 'use at your own risk' warnings
AnswerID: 389278

Follow Up By: mikehzz - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:41

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:41
Yes I used them. They are legal but its a bit of a hassle to set up. Pretty good though

FollowupID: 657012

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:48

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:48
I think that this is the only way you will get a free mapset.

KK
FollowupID: 657013

Follow Up By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:50

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 19:50
PS. There was snow down to about 400 m yesterday, 5 degrees tonight. Tell your mate to pack some warm clothes :-))

KK
FollowupID: 657014

Reply By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:45

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 18:45
Upgrade to a Nuvi 765 or purchase CN 2010, NZ routable mapping is now part of CN 2010.

AnswerID: 389279

Reply By: Member - res.q.guy (Vic.) - Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 16:24

Tuesday, Nov 03, 2009 at 16:24
You can buy a DVD with Shonky Maps, T4A Maps, Contours Aust 3.0, POI's and a lot's lot's more including NZ Auto Routing Maps , all to suit Garmin, from Octapc for $5 see link below :
$5 Mapping DVD
I used the NZ auto routing maps in NZ last time I was there on my Nuvi 660, and worked fine.
Neil
AnswerID: 389843