Most popular tyre size

Submitted: Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:53
ThreadID: 73397 Views:4541 Replies:7 FollowUps:15
Evening all, Quick question- what would be the most popular tyre size when off the beaten track so to speak. 235x85xR16 or 265x75xR16 (both would go on a 7" rim)

Reply By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:59

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 21:59
7.50x16.....200,000 mining vehicles must have 'em...LOL
AnswerID: 389329

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:03

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:03
Gday Willem,
Don't see too many split rims on mining vehicles any more.
FollowupID: 657052

Follow Up By: Willem - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:04

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:04
Oh ye with rose coloured glasses
FollowupID: 657053

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:03

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:03
hehehe.....I went looking for some photos......time for a history lesson :-)

The first one shows what mining exploration was like before split rims and snatch straps.....

Second photo shows the original split rim prototype with a bogged mining vehicle being snatched out by Wilbur......

Third photo shows the most recent photo I can find of split rims on a mining vehicle.....

Last photo shows what they put on 70series these days - they are underground vehicles from Roxby. All the above ground vehicles were Hiluxes that stopped having splits about 5 years ago.

Cheers mate!
FollowupID: 657064

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:22

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:22
Phil, 3rd down looks like Mr Creasy's ute...

And by the way not all mining ute have soild rims.

FollowupID: 657070

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 00:16

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 00:16
Gday Richard,
Yep, but I couldn't remember his name!
I thought those huge trucks ran tubeless.....??
FollowupID: 657078

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:20

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:20
Mark Creasy...

and now you made have to look it up.. LOL

Wheels and Rims. Cast rear wheels
and Cat center-mount rims are mounted
using studs and nuts to minimize
maintenance and maximize durability

Lat time I worked on Cat dump truck 35-50ton truck were big...

FollowupID: 657083

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:21

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 01:21
Where is it housed guys?

FollowupID: 657084

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 03:24

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 03:24
Alan in the

Mining Hall of Fame

Kalgoorlie

about the only interesting thing there.. :-)

FollowupID: 657087

Follow Up By: equinox - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:28

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:28
Thanks Richard,

I remember passing the sign - must stop in for a look next time..

FollowupID: 657115

Follow Up By: Richard Kovac - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 16:12

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 16:12
Yes Alan

There are a lot of places we travel though to get to the 4WD place we want to be at and never give them a second glance, It's like oh well next time....

We had, had a look at it but always traveled with the dog, this year she was on longer with us, so we booked into a motel and stayed the night, had a good look around, went underground on the tour, checked out the hall of fame, (it is worth going to see) you need 4-6 hr.
we check out the museum (thats where I'm sure I saw the blazed tree), it was good.

oh and had a famous Pizza, from Pizza Cantaina....

FollowupID: 657151

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:01

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:01
Mark,
On a 7" rim, I prefer the 265/75 because they are easier to reinflate if you've done a tyre repair out in the bush. They also last a bit longer and ride a little better. 235 are better on 6" rims.
AnswerID: 389330

Follow Up By: mowing - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:09

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 22:09
Evening gentlemen, If I could have found someone to have a bet with, I would have bet that I would have a response from Willem and Phil G. :)

FollowupID: 657055

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:13

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:13
Gday Mark,
Davoe (get outmore) must have gone to bed early......can't keep him away from a tyre thread either :-)
FollowupID: 657068

Follow Up By: Member - Ian H (NSW) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 15:47

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 15:47
Yes, I agree with Phil, 235-85x16 are best on 6" rims so the sidewalls are not so exposed.
FollowupID: 657149

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 17:19

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 17:19
Naa im in adelaide. I wonder if some of my sidewall stake problems are due torunning 235 tyres on a 7" rim?

I recently re shod my splits with some second hand tyres and one let go near southern cross $20 saw me with another rag tyre including tube -made the rest of the trip from yellowdine to rowles lagoon no worries. would almost have certainly cost me $300 for a new tyre after sidewall stake with the one peices
FollowupID: 657162

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:08

Thursday, Oct 29, 2009 at 23:08
Most popular would have to be 265 75 16 no doubt... Michael
AnswerID: 389343

Follow Up By: Member - Clements (WA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 00:58

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 00:58
i agree Michael
Matthew Clements
I just love the Pilbara!
1HDJ79 RV

FollowupID: 657080

Reply By: Member - Oldplodder (QLD) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 09:47

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 09:47
I started with 235/85/16 on 16x6 rims about 13 years ago. 265/75/16 were not common then.
Still run 235/85/16, but would say that 265/75/16 is now more popular.
AnswerID: 389385

Reply By: paulnsw - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:46

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:46
what about 205R16C
AnswerID: 389400

Reply By: Von Helga - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:58

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:58
mowing,

Check your facts as to what size rim these tyres can be fitted too and exactly what size your R16's are. They could be 5.5 or 6.0 which made me question your 7" rim size.
Trevor
AnswerID: 389403

Reply By: Robin Miller - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:02

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:02
Probably quite a mixture , but not my size 255 X 85 X16 on 7 inch rims
AnswerID: 389404