Use a 110 V power tool with transformer?

Submitted: Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:05
ThreadID: 73403 Views:3648 Replies:5 FollowUps:16

This is a bit OT but there's a US made 110 V power tool for which I can find no local 240 v equivalent. It's a 55 degree angle head drill by Milwaukee.

Can anyone advise on the feasibility of using a transformer with it? Cost-effective? Power loss?

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:35

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:35
A few years ago I bought a "Dr Drill" sharpening tool from the states... it was heaps cheaper than buying the same item here in Aust. Of course, I knew it would be a 110v but figured I could use a transformer to run it in my shed.

I did buy a transformer (can't recall the brand, but it's up in my shed, so I can find out for you if you like). BUT, the cost of the transformer on top of the Dr Drill, meant that I would've been better off just buying the 240v Dr Drill in the first place. These transformers come in all different outputs (watts), so you need to make sure you buy one that can handle the drill that you're buying.

AnswerID: 389368

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:47

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 08:47
Thanks Roachie. Yeah, cost is a consideration, but as I said, the tool doesn't appear to be available in Oz.
FollowupID: 657099

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 09:22

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 09:22
If it is under the current draw here is a transformer ebay auction 120480899184.
found it this morning when looking for something else.
FollowupID: 657101

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:01

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:01
G'day blokes,

Peter, I just had a look at that one and I reckon it's designed to only be powerful enough to charge the batteries of re-chargeable drills etc. At 350w, I don't reckon it'd be any good to run a drill, which probably pulls around 600w minimum if it's a decent size.

The one i have is a 500 watt:

Tortech P/L step down transformers

FollowupID: 657108

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:08

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:08
The drill draws 3.5 amps @ 110 v .... what's that in watts?

Ta Peter.
FollowupID: 657110

Follow Up By: Ozhumvee - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:11

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:11
Bill, see what you mean $au165+shipping for transformer + $250 for Drill doctor inc shipping from US when you can buy drill doctor here for $350 doesn't make sense.
3.5 amps at 110v = approx 385 watts so the 500w transformer would run it ok.
FollowupID: 657111

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:16

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:16
Here's another brand on ebay that I just found at a decent price and with a good output:

Site Link
FollowupID: 657113

Reply By: Serendipity (WA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:11

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:11
I have purchased power tools from the US that have 110v charger. You can buy on ebay step down transformers for about $72 + $12 post that work great.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/240V-TO-110V-STEPDOWN-STEP-DOWN-TRANSFORMER-500W-NEW_W0QQitemZ170399662576QQcmdZViewItemQQptZLH_DefaultDomain_15?hash=item27ac9c81f0

AnswerID: 389392

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:16

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:16
Or if you only need to drill the occasional hole in tight spaces buy a right angle drill attachment for $20 + $14 post.

MILWAUKEE RIGHT ANGLE ATTACHMENT KIT DRILL DRIVER USA

FollowupID: 657112

Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:19

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:19
Sorry that was a bid price. Buy it now was $99 maybe not worth it.

FollowupID: 657114

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:28

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:28
Thanks. Yeah, I sand inside bowls that I turn so the add-on is a bit clunky.

The Milwaukee unit is good as the shaft is 55 degrees to the body; other angle or close quarter drills are 90 degrees.
FollowupID: 657116

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:56

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 10:56
"I sand inside bowls that I turn "

Can you adapt an Angle-Grinder to use the attachment you need ? Use a speed-controller to get the speed you want.
FollowupID: 657119

Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:38

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:38
Sigmund,
Rather than stuffing around with angled drills etc, google "Carbatec" and search their catalogue for free spinning sanders.
They do a great job on bowls ad other curved surfaces.

Disco.
(who also plays around with a woodlathe or two)
FollowupID: 657122

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:03

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:03
Mike, yeah it's a possibility, and there's at least one on the market that will take a jacob's chuck. The wrinkle is the 90 degree shaft and the bulk and weight. It will get a lot of use and the paws have carpal probs in one and arthritis in the other.

Disco, yep, I've used one and you're right it does a good job. But it's just too slow.
FollowupID: 657127

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:53

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 11:53
Hi Sigmund,

I live in California but have a farm also up in Queensland, I have heaps of 110v power tools in Oz which I have bought over and have had no problems using a Transformer here is a link to the one I use, it's heavy duty and is also fused.

http://www.frys.com/product/3696575?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG

Infact if you are interested I can bring one over as I'll be over at the end of next week and post it to you when I get here.

Drop me a note at cycadcenter@msn dot com

AnswerID: 389401

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:07

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:07
Cycadcenter that's v. kind of you.

I've located a knock-off of the Milkwaukee at USD 60 at a US online store that I may be ordering other stuff from so it can be added to the parcel.

And the Milwaukee is sold in the UK which has 240v so I'm also trying to locate the Oz distributor to see if one is available here.
FollowupID: 657129

Reply By: cycadcenter - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:19

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:19
The Millwaukee angle drill I can get for abt $120 USD also. If you are using it to sand the insides of bowls I'd go for the genuine one as the dust tends to get in the cheaper ones and they don't last long. Do you use one of those rotating hand sanders which were being made by some Aussie guy a few years ago uses abt a 3" sanding disc.

I do wood turning also and have a beautiful old Oliver Lathe abt 400 kg of cast iron.

Let me know anyway if you want anything.

Now I have to go and break down a new 25hp Briggs and Stratton motor so it fits in my luggage.

Bruce
AnswerID: 389408

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:43

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 12:43
Good point about the dust Bruce.

I'll get back to you in a day or two if that's OK; will let local inquiry run its course.

USD 120 is a darn good price.

Yeah, have used the inertia sander. It's just too slow for me.

Don't know the Oliver lathe but it sounds like a solid piece of kit.

I've been using a Stubby 1000 but had to sell it for a swivel head lathe; easier on the paws.

Good luck with the B&S ... can you get through security with a carb in the pocket? ;-}
FollowupID: 657136

Reply By: Ray - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 17:55

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 17:55
One other thing to consider is the frequency of US power. 60 cycles to our 50. This would mean that your gear would only go at 5/6ths of the design speed.
AnswerID: 389432

Follow Up By: Member - Sigmund (VIC) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 19:12

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 19:12
Another good point.

I'll have to go at 5/6ths of my normal speed ;-}
FollowupID: 657177

Follow Up By: Member - Allan B (QLD) - Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 23:26

Friday, Oct 30, 2009 at 23:26
The drill is almost certainly a "Universal Motor" (wound field & armature) so its speed is not affected by mains frequency. In fact it would run on DC power (zero frequency)

FollowupID: 657207