Submitted: Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 07:57
Willem
Two attempts straght up with 15psi in the Mud Terrains and still only made it to the soft sand at the crest. On the third attempt I turned right near the crest and using some of the foliage crossed the right hand track and then made it over between the moguls. The angle was quite deceiving.
In hindsight we could have turned right at the bottom, driven a few kilometres and maybe crossed over where the
Little Red track is these days. But this was a challenge and it HAD to be done....lol .
Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:12
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:12
One the my great wishes is to do that dune Willem. Great pic.
Follow Up By: Member - MUZBRY(Vic) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 09:29
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 09:29
Gday Bonz
Can Little Wes and I come with you?
Murray
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 14:19
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 14:19
You are more than welcome Muz, but be prepared for a few tears,
mine of course.
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 22:56
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 22:56
So Sir Bonz,
You are buying a Mitsi before that trip I guess, nothin worth than driving all that way in a Neeeeesan and having to take
little red ...LOL
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:47
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:47
I had one Blaze, loved it and sold it
Reply By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:28
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:28
Hi Willem,
That's a great pic!
You're right about the soft sand right at the crest. We were out there last year and drove straight to the top the first go! Then SWMBO says... "I'll get out and video you coming back up".... so I drove to the bottom, turned around, and when she gave me the thumbs up I headed back up the dune. Got to the soft sand at the crest and......... stopped! So, back to the bottom for another go and this time made it all the way!!
Reply By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:37
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:37
Willem,
Good to see the difference in the dune from 87 to now.
Love the cardboard cut out of the your Suki.
Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:59
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:59
And the cardboard shadow
Follow Up By: Rockape - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 12:31
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 12:31
Come on Willem,
when you bought the suzie you got the shadow as an optional extra.LOL
Reply By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:38
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 08:38
I was on Big Red a couple of months back and unless the light is playing tricks on me in Willem's pic...I reckon that the track at the top of the dune is probably 5 metres lower now than what it was in 1987. There are also two distinct paths from about 20-30 mtrs from
the summit - still soft sand but not overly difficult. There is also another track to the left that has been cut to seemingly increase the degree of difficulty but I don't think anyone has made it over the top yet. From memory I also don't think there is anywhere near the amount of vegetation on the western slope these days but that could just be about the time of the year.
Follow Up By: gbc - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 16:09
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 16:09
I drove the left track loaded with
camping gear in September - not overly difficult.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 18:44
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 18:44
Depends which'left' track you are talking about....I doubt very much if you got up the one I'm thinking of ...this one would comes out at the peak where the goofers stand to watch - the track stopped short of
the summit by a good 50 metres and there was no indication that anyone had made it further. One of the guys with us in a 4.2td 100Series couldn't make it to the end of the tracks even after several attempts. Never saw anyone else succeed either. The sand was super soft so if you did get over at this point there must've been a bit of rain to pack it down.
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:03
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:03
Patrol, I can understand what you are talking about.
Totally depends on previous 3 or 4 weeks weather. First time I drove RED it was totally impossible from the Western side with an 8 foot sheer sand drift. We did it from the east and SWMBO screamed as we dropped over the edge. The next time we visited I cruised over in High range. So as I say IMHO it all depends on conditions. Give it a try sometime after a Hot windy Summer, and chances are you may have a different opinion of RED.
Follow Up By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 08:23
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 08:23
The left track in the pic directly below this thread is the one we did. There's only really three main approaches from the West. We drove them all, and pulled a Navara off the crest of the left track after he chose to brake just a little early and bottomed out.
Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 09:35
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 09:35
Just found photos - post up your email address so you don't have to 'doubt' any more.
Follow Up By: Patrol22 - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 12:07
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 12:07
Cheers gbc would love to see them.... patrolpete22 at gmail dot com
Reply By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:08
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:08
Here's a pic taken in May this year for comparison... WImage Could Not Be Found
Follow Up By: Serendipity (WA) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:20
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:20
wow - it does not look anywhere near as imposing as it did in 1987.
I get the feeling the outback is disappearing under a deluge of us weekend warriors.
Follow Up By: Member - Warrie (NSW) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:35
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:35
My
pic is taken further back so without a surveyors measurement from some fixed reference point down in the swale, it's hard to estimate if any height has been lost. If anything that big windblown dune in the middle looks higher above the vegetation. And yes it has been a lot drier in the past 5 years than in the 5 prior to 1987. So what can we do but tread as lightly as possible as we 4Wd about the country. Unfortunately too many don't as many have mentioned on this
forum.... W
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:39
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:39
Gday Willem,
From memory 1987 was a fairly wet year out there. Here's our photo from 1988 - went over in the FJ55.
Just for comparison, here's some later photos all taken from the next dune west:
Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:41
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 11:41
Later photos were 2004 and 2006
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:12
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:12
Gday Phil,
Starting to look like a rail yard with all the tracks. Last time we visited the chicken track heading out at 10oclock was harder than the main one.. I just wonder why people decide to make extra tracks, if you cant make it over, go around via the liitle
Red Hill.
As mentioned above in posts we hit it once after 18mths of no use years ago, with a huge sand drift, so had to do it from the East, after a cpl of weeks of vehicles doing this it would have been pushed down enough for a westerly approach.
By the way we had a good run around Googs and
Gawler Ranges, except fopr strong winds.
Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:00
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:00
2004 looked like this
with a hell of a bump right at the bottom of the
hill.
Reply By: On Patrol & TONI - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 18:34
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 18:34
I was there just 3 weeks ago and I must say that it was easier than the dunes of
Stockton Beach. Maybe my training ground put me in good stead for Big Red??
In fact I was a little dissapointed having heard so much about "Big Red".
I took all options available to me with no more difficulty.
We were warned at the servo before leaving
Birdsville that the dunes, Big red included, were soft and chopped up from the seasons traffic and no rain on them.
A group of travellers were stuck on
little red (thinking they were on Big Red) with high tyre pressures (road pressures) and soft sand on the crest, as soon as they dropped their tyre pressures to around 18psi they moved on unhindered, then we told them that Big Red was a couple of clicks down the road, "oh this isnt Big Red???"
Follow Up By: Member - Tonyb (FNQ) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:28
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:28
Big Red is enjoyable, thats for sure. Id would have to agree with what you say about some beach dunes (WA North of
Perth Coast used to have a couple of rippers)- This weekend at Cape Flattery we tackled some very daunting Silica sand hills in the middle of the day.Thought they had the best of me for a while :-)
Big Red is very doable first up when you are at the right tyre pressures, some of these beach
sand dunes take multiple attempts and a screaming run up.
The problem with big red as I see it now is the amount of traffic that take it on with the wrong tyre pressures. Dont know about you, but that big red sand
hill was very corrugated and thus very hard to keep a constant speed.
Follow Up By: Trevor R (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 20:37
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 20:37
Tony you are spot on with regards to the corrogations caused by traffic volumes.
Colin, I had a huge grin from ear to ear when I first drove this dune which slowly turned to an "overated" feeling that night around the bar at the B/ville Pub (;-) lol!!), but now it has been a while the Grin and feeling of accomplishment still resides and the tale of how big and difficult it "really is" gets better and better hehehe. It is by no means an easy feat due to the millions of gibber stones, corrogations and numerous other barriers to try and prevent you from even getting to the start of the feat let alone the dune itself...I am sure you will get over the "dissapointed" stage and glow in the accomplishment over time. I reckon like me your gearing would have made it seem easier than it should. I was the only one in our group of three to tackle and beat all three tracks leading up the East face (3rd low was as low a gear selected) much to the dissapointment of my big trip buddy
Ross H who can't say his failure was through lack of trying hehehehehe I have a few pics of him with no further forward momentum on one track of that dune hehehehehe.
I think from Willem"s photo, the size of the dune does seem much larger in 87 than it did when I crossed it in 2007.
Thanks Willem good photo.
Regards to all Trevor.
Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:05
Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:05
Nice
pic Willie, It certainly has changed over the years, I have seen it with just these 2 tracks in your
Pic.
Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 00:04
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 00:04
Errm, when I look at the
pic, I see 3 tracks...........
;-))
| Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"Member My Profile Send Message |
Follow Up By: Blaze (Berri) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 02:14
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 02:14
Errrm, when I look at the
pic, I see 7 tracks...... 4 at the bottom, 1 heading Nth, 1 heading Sth, 1 heading West, 1 heading West/nth/west...... then 1 hardly used track going over RED heading out at about 2 oclock .... then the other 2 main tracks I mentioned heading straight over the top, that I believe 98% of readers would have known I was referring to.
Reply By: Member - Bucky - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 06:26
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 06:26
Willem
Great
Pic mate !
the 2 times I have stuffed around on Big Red, I have not been able to get angles correct, for foto's, but here is one of Paul G, from
Moonta, and the angle should tell you something. Taken by me.
Cheers Mate, and have a good one
Reply By: Blaze (Berri) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:01
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 10:01
In regards to lots of comments above about how easy Big Red is, as i mentioned above IMHO this all depends on conditions. I do have one pet hate. Last time we were at RED, we chatted to about 5 other vehicles that were doing Simpson Crossings, they were camped at
Birdsville and came out and done Big Red totally unloaded, having a play day before heading across
the desert the following day after returning to
Birdsville to reload. This is just plain cheating and makes me wonder how many say RED is a breeze and do this first.
Lucky they were heading west as it would make it a long day trip if you were coming from Western side and were camped at other end...LOL
Reply By: Member - Ruth D (QLD) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 15:00
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 15:00
Blaze, I can tell you that most people do exactly what you hate - and most of the people who have crossed the SD turn around the next day and go back (unloaded) and have more play time on the Red!
The dunes can change within the hour, depending on the winds on the day. Always at the end of the 'season' (tourist season) the dunes have lost the tops and although corrugated (from incorrect tyre pressures and the major sin of changing gears on the dune) are not as high as earlier in the year and not nearly as challenging. How do I know this - we used to measure them, that's how. Quite interesting.
If anyone wants challenge then be amongst the first to cross around
Easter time - that's a challenge.