Sola may ruin your Deep Cycle Batteries

Submitted: Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 20:35
ThreadID: 73433 Views:6382 Replies:6 FollowUps:20
Am in the process of installing 2x 80watt Sola panels and control unit, on a motor home. The supplier has kindly included a 4 page writeup which I understand is a recent addition to his after sales support.

The write up suggest that if the panels are to be left in the sun connected to the vans/mobile home battery that over a period of time the unit will boil off the battery electrolyte and ruin the battery. What should be done apparently is to disconnect the Sola and one lead off the battery (this must be done in a certain sequence) and the battery charged up every 3 months from memory as well as a top up charges before and after a trip.

Prior to Sola the MH's battery was conected to power 24/7 via a big name battery charger/system. After the sola install this will be turned off.

Probably what we need is a 30day timer, the Sola being connected one day a month.

Then again, for the sake of the battery should still run the charger 24/7 and only use the Sola on trips., does seem a waste of the Sola.

Reply By: Boobook2 - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 20:57

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 20:57
It sounds like the write up you refer to is talking about connecting the panels directly to the batteries. A big no no for panels that size.

Get any half decent solar charge regulator and you can leave the panels connected all day, every day, hyundai.
AnswerID: 389539

Follow Up By: dbish - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 21:16

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 21:16
Wot a load of cobblers. If you use a regulator betwean the panel & batterys there will be no problems at all. I have a battery which is now 9Yrs old & been on a solar system with a regulator all its life. It certainly hasnt hurt the battery, it has lost some of its capacity but i would expect that after 9Yrs it never ceases to amaze me what sales men will tell people.
FollowupID: 657281

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 06:31

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 06:31
I thought that is exactly what I said. Where is the cobblers?????
FollowupID: 657300

Follow Up By: Member Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 07:54

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 07:54
"dbish posted:
Wot a load of cobblers."
What a charming way to start a post. Especially when you are actually agreeing with the aforementioned "load of cobblers."

Whatever happened to common courtesy?

FollowupID: 657301

Follow Up By: dbish - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:57

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:57
Sorry about that Boobook wasnt aimed at you was my description about sales people. Was in agreance with what you said. I have a general dislike of sales people & reps from when in busines< the amount of lies they spin to try & sell you something is incredable. After reading some of the other threads it apears im not the only one to disagree.
FollowupID: 657313

Follow Up By: Boobook2 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 17:54

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 17:54
No Problem. :-)
FollowupID: 657351

Reply By: PeterInSa - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 21:20

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 21:20
BB, All
No, the document mentions a regulator. This unit will charge a Flooded cell battery to 14.6V, Car alternators charge to 14v +/- 0.2V.(which I understand is not sufficient to fully charge a Deep Cycle Battery)

I do not have a Fllooded Cell but a Calcium Battery which I understand requires a higher charge than a flooded cell to get the battery to full capacity. My reasoning is then if I had a Flooded cell battery installed on sola it would have a shorter life than my Calcium everything else being the same eg. 120ah.

I also understand that the 4Amp Le Cheapo battery chargers only charges your battery to around 13.6v

It was also noted on this document that even with Sola some types of deep cycle batteries (My Calcium??) require the occasional equalisation charge from an external charger that takes the battery voltage higher and longer than the regulator does.

So for the batteries sake do I disconnect the Sola and leave on the Charger system, and if so how much longer will the batteries last.

AnswerID: 389542

Follow Up By: Faulic_McVitte - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 08:58

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 08:58
calcium batteries cannot be made deep cycle. If you look at the world leader in solar regs http://www.morningstarcorp.com you will see no calcium battery settings. My camper battery 7 yrs old been connected to solar everyday with Morningstar Prostar 30
whoever you are dealing appears to be a solar crook ready to jump on his horse and ride off into the sun leaving you with the crap. If you have been sold a calcium battery for a deep cycle battery the battery wont last long. check websites like Fullriver and you will not find calcium deep cycle batteries. if you do a search on the net you will find the best way to look after a battery is with solar panels left connected full time and decent solar reg and leave connected. I dont own a battery charger as dont need one.
FollowupID: 657304

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:31

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:31
".(which I understand is not sufficient to fully charge a Deep Cycle Battery) "

People have problems charging Wetcell DeepCycle in cars because it takes a long time, not because of voltage problems usually.
FollowupID: 657309

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:41

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:41
"calcium batteries *cannot* be made deep cycle" ha ha ha

Mate that's a huge load of horse manua
My Delkor Deep Cycle (DC27) batteries were calcium and I replaced them @ 6 years old, and only then because I was worried they must be somewhere *near* the end of their useful lifespan.
I used one as my Cranking battery for about another 12 months.

Just because MorningStar does not have a Calcium battery setting may indicate they may not be a Solar "world leader" but just another a follower with a lower price point than the Solar technology leaders ha ha.
Many Solar regulator companies have Calcium settings, so by your own reasoning, they must be superior products ?

Steca (German made) definitely have all the correct settings including automatic equalization, SoC settings and large LCD display, I would not supply anything less than what I would, and do, use myself.

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 657310

Reply By: Motherhen - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:12

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:12
Hi Peter

Many off us are running solar and deep cycle batteries, and properly managed, people get very good service from their batteries. Perhaps you should use a supplier that provides better information. A good regulator can be set to the required charge level, and will shut off the solar input when this is reached. Similarly if it is controlling the load, it will cut off the load at the desired level so the battery is not unduly depleted. It is on duty 24/7. You can't do better than that yourself.

We got ours wired with switches to isolate panels and also the batteries if desired - saves the rigmarole of removing wires in (and in the right sequence).

When we are at home, we leave a few lights or the fridge running to keep everything ticking over nicely.

Our battery charger is for emergency use only - very rarely needed. Your salesman's method sounds like a waste of charger. Is he trying to sell you that too?

AnswerID: 389551

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:47

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:47
yes, fortunately you use a quality Solar system that's correctly installed :-)

Peter is possibly dealing with a ****** ?

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 657311

Reply By: Dennis Ellery - Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:38

Saturday, Oct 31, 2009 at 23:38
Solar cells and batteries (deep cycle or otherwise) are ideal partners. In fact, if properly set up, they will extend your batteries life beyond that achieved by your vehicle’s alternator.
The key is to get a good regulator that can be set to your battery specs.
The subject can’t be done in depth here, but there is good information on battery maintenance on specialist websites such as Rainbow Power Company (and others). Do yourself a favour and do some research.
AnswerID: 389552

Reply By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 00:33

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 00:33
The rig

AnswerID: 389553

Follow Up By: Faulic_McVitte - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:02

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:02
please dont follow the wiring diagram due to bad design
FollowupID: 657306

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:52

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:52
Yes,
I also agree, it's not the most efficient wiring system
(and no further comment entered into)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 657312

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 13:16

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 13:16
Gents,

aside from not showing shunts to measure charge current from the battery charger and vehicle and another to measure discharge current directly from the battery to the vehicle and the fridge, what exactly is wrong with his wiring diagram?

Looks like a pretty standard -ve controlled regulator setup to me....Plasmatronics perhaps?

Criticism should be followed up with enlightenment. Enlighten me....

Russ

FollowupID: 657331

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:18

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:18
Why is the Fridge connected directly to the Battery, rather than to the LOAD terminal on the regulator, so it could keep track of the load it draws.
FollowupID: 657337

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 22:21

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 22:21
G'day Mike,

Depends on the regulator. The Plasmatronics PL-40 only has a 7 Amp load terminal and often the 'fridge is separated like shown in this diagram so as to not overload that terminal.

Additionally, some people prefer the 'fridge to be directly connected to the battery in case of regulator failure. I have a similar setup and I have a 60 Amp reg. In my case, I use a shunt so that the Reg knows how much current the 'fridge is drawing.

It's not always necessary, but neither is it an issue.

Russ
FollowupID: 657386

Follow Up By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:07

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:07
Not showing a Fuse DIRECTLY at the Battery Positive shows it was designed by a very naive person.
FollowupID: 657391

Follow Up By: Russ n Sue - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 00:38

Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 00:38
Point taken on the fuse, but one suspects that there would be a fuse there in practice. After all, it is a drawing supplied by a caravan manufacturer. The principle of the drawing is sound and could be followed by anyone wishing to install their own solar setup. You'd be surprised at the number of solar setups that I have come across that don't use the load terminal of the regulator at all - and I reckon that would be a worse scenario than the drawing shown above.

In practice, I'm not a huge fan of fusing main cable connections, instead preferring to mechanically protect the cables. I do use fuses where the cables cannot be adequately protected. Fuses inherently cause volt drop and overdoing them achieves little. So long as the cables are protected and the distribution connections are fused there shouldn't be a problem. Let's face it, the only reason for placing a fuse at the battery is to cover the possibility of cable damage. The individual appliance fuses do the rest.

I have seen dozens of Engineer designed, low voltage DC installations using only terminal fuses, especially in areas requiring intrinsic safety. They once used airtight fuseboxes and sealed cartridge fuses but there seems to be a move away from those.

Additionally, if the fuse panel were just, say, 400 mm from the battery and the cable could be protected, would you fuse it? I sure as hell wouldn't. There is absolutely no need to. I do think that there should be a fuse in the lead going to the vehicle and, again, there probably is in practice.

Russ

FollowupID: 657402

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 02:52

Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 02:52
Thank you Russ and Sue,
One correction tho, I designed this to ad-dapt to the wiring in the van.It was not done by Windsor. To do it correctly I would have had to dismantle the panels of the van. Concequently the 12 volt power and light are as one.

Now to the critics out there.
The fridge is directly wired to the battery as it lives next door. Also by having it direct there is less resistance. Why stuff around reading what the fridge is drawing when it only runs on 12 volt while while being towed by the 4wd. On 12v, 35 ambient the fridge hold 5-6 degrees. below 28deg. the cook aint happy. On gas or 240v with an ambient temp of 28 degrees the Electrolux/Dometic runs around 2and3/4 on the dial cycling between 2-4 degrees. 35 ambient the fridge on a setting of 3 has the same cycle readings. Any more and once again the chief cook ain't a happy jack.
Any long cables are protected by a sheath. [These are no more than 600mm in length.]
It is not a bad design, it may be basic but it works for me. As far as I am concerned the less wires the better, less confusing, less voltage resistance. Why have 10 wires doing the job when 1 does the same thing. Same goes for the shunts.
You would have to see the set-up in the van.
Fuse inline to the battery? There is one. I boobood and didn't show it in the diagram.
The solar charger is a Plasmatronic and it gives me all the data I reguire.

Mainy can you remember the post where the other bloke was envolved? Maybe they would like to read that also.

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 657411

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 03:10

Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 03:10
There is one thing I didn't mention and that is what is on/in the vehicle to protect the wiring.
The rig

FollowupID: 657412

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 09:09

Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 09:09
Tony,
I've said " it's not the most *efficient* wiring system "
(and no further comment entered into)

The problem with putting diagrams up here is *everybody* will find a different, nicer looking or more efficient way of doing it, the fuse missing is an example :-)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 657426

Reply By: Member - Mike DID - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:30

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:30
"The write up suggest that if the panels are to be left in the sun connected to the vans/mobile home battery that over a period of time the unit will boil off the battery electrolyte and ruin the battery"

"No, the document mentions a regulator. "

Then how on earth do they think all the remote radio repeaters and signal boxes keep going !!!!

Maybe they supply a crappy regulator ?
AnswerID: 389568

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:58

Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 09:58
Mike,
I will be more brutal and won't entertain any 'political correctness'

Yes, the regulator MUST be a "crappy regulator" if it can't/won't regulate :-)

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 657314