Member - Doug T (NT)
Had the oppertunity to go for a short flight in this
Jabiru J-120 today, Went over the showground, the town, and
Snake Creek Arms Depot.
The owner told me it cost $55,000 new (cheaper than a new Troopy) , is the smallest model
Jabiru made and they are made in
Bundaberg, Qld, cost of Rego is $110 per year, that includes $5,000,000 3rd party damage insurance, what a great way to travel, $30 per hour , 180Kph, with approx 500Klms range, depending on winds, Now all I need is a good lotto win.
Reply By: Skippype - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 13:05
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 13:05
I envy you. What a great little aircraft they are. Are they still in the Ultra-Light category, or do you need a full pilots liscence? They used to UL be when they firts came out.
Skip
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 13:45
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 13:45
Just looking at the website, it states it's a Light Sport Aircraft
WebsiteJabiru J120 Review
Follow Up By: The Landy - Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 11:44
Monday, Nov 02, 2009 at 11:44
They can be registered in either the VH or Ultralight category. If registered in the VH they must comply fully with those regulations and the cost of doing so increases (substantially).
Reply By: Fred G NSW - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:26
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:26
Not that would be a sensational way to retrace some of our outback travels, and get a whole new and different perspective at the same time.
Onya Doug.
Reply By: Rolly - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:27
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 14:27
I B gellus, I B !!
They are a lovely little machine.
I want one! I want one!!
Reply By: Tadooch - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:19
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:19
The older brother has been a cheif pilot and instructor for 35 years. From what I have learnt, the
Jabiru is the 'Lada Niva' of flight training aircraft.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:27
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 18:27
The older ones maybe, not acording to this report,
Jabiru J120 Review
Follow Up By: disco driver - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:06
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:06
Tadooch.
I agree, just the thing for a flying school, just like a Lada Niva.
"Rough as guts and virtually indestructible"
Disco.
(Who loved his Niva before he got his Landrover series 111.)
Follow Up By: Tadooch - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:50
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:50
Doug, as I withdraw foot from mouth, I must admit it was 2005, and the aircraft he had to sell off was probably 2 years old. Years pass too quickly hey?
Disco, my 1st was a fj55...she was rough but never let me down. A guy can never forget his 1st fourby love.
Follow Up By: Member - Doug T (NT) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:59
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:59
Tadooch
That's ok mate......just don't bite down too hard,
Follow Up By: Tadooch - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 20:45
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 20:45
Mate that pic is gold!!!
Flying in small aircraft is great fun. I've had many opportunities over the years to take the controls. The best was a couple of hours of aerobatics in a Tigermoth where I got to do barrel rolls and loops. He put us through stall turns, figure eights and the best was 16 spirals in 1 dive from 4700 to 1000ft. Great fun!
Follow Up By: Tadooch - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 21:44
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 21:44
Mate that pic is gold!!!
Flying in small aircraft is great fun. I've had many opportunities over the years to take the controls. The best was a couple of hours of aerobatics in a Tigermoth where I got to do barrel rolls and loops. He put us through stall turns, figure eights and the best was 16 spirals in 1 dive from 4700 to 1000ft. Great fun!
Reply By: WYSIWYG (Bundaberg Qld) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:46
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:46
This is what happens when a con rod goes through the engine block of a
Jabiru at 1000ft. The daughter and her boyfriend (both pilots) were flying over the ocean when it first started to make a loud banging noise and only just managed to get it down on terra firma in one piece (more or less!)
Follow Up By: WYSIWYG (Bundaberg Qld) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:49
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 19:49
OK forgot to attach the photos. I'll try again.
Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:47
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 23:47
Jees no wonder I don't like flying
I can swim but I cannot flap my arms and fly!
Tony
Reply By: Ken65 - Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 21:32
Sunday, Nov 01, 2009 at 21:32
G'day Doug,
You got me thinking about a plane that I seen on "Towards 2000" some years ago.
Here is the link for those who may be interested.
http://longezpilot.com/index.htm
Ken.