hilux surf ifs front hubs not locking
Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 04, 2009 at 22:03
benno84j
G'day ! i have a 91' hilux surf LN130 auto with IFS ! Im having some drama's ... the hubs arent locking when the 4WD button is pushed in , you can hear clicking and you can hear the little motor turning just a little bit ! no 4WD light comes up on the dash either ... the light will only come on when you are driving and push the 4WD button and it flashes coz im going to fast to shift ! Something i have noticed is 2 wires next to the diff centre ... 1 has a couple of wires running out of the diff up to a plug and the other is on the back of the diff and is a single wire with a connection that pushes onto a flat prong type connector ... that flat type wire is not connected to anything and i cant find anywhere it can go ! Im hoping someone can lend me some advice ... also ive done a Lexus V8 conversion into this car if that makes a differance !
Reply By: wizzer73 - Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 17:46
Thursday, Nov 05, 2009 at 17:46
Hey
Try this site for heaps of info on surfs and modified ones too.
http://www.toyotasurf.asn.au/forum/
I used to have a surf and once my 4wd would not activate. My problem turned out to be the 4wd solenoid mounted on the gearbox. It had been full of
water at some stage and seized up. Just made a slight clicking noise when i pressed the button on gearstick. A new unit cost me $500 but that was aprox 8 years ago. Try taking it off and opening it up. You may be able to maintain it.
wizzer73
Follow Up By: benno84j - Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 18:49
Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 18:49
yeah cheers for that mate ! i had a closer look around and found a vacuum hose not connected to anything so i joined it with another hose and now im working =] but when i turn the
wheels in 4wd it has some really bad clunks and knocks ... reckon i might need new CV's hey !
Reply By: benno84j - Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 11:30
Friday, Nov 06, 2009 at 11:30
yeah cheers for that mate ! i had a closer look around and found a vacuum hose not connected to anything so i joined it with another hose and now im working =] but when i turn the
wheels in 4wd it has some really bad clunks and knocks ... reckon i might need new CV's hey !