On along trip, what is the ONE thing you couldn't live without?

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 19:33
ThreadID: 73621 Views:6031 Replies:23 FollowUps:25

We are new here, and are heading around Oz next year in our camper trailer, 2 adults and 2 kids, (possibly a baby by then!).

I am amusing myself with shopping for the time being and have bought a camper for our hilux, (it has good water storage already), some bunks for kids, a garmin, an RAA premium membership!, we are looking into solar now...

Question is, for those that have done long trips, what is the ONE thing, that you could not have lived without?

Thanks!

Lia

Reply By: Luke SA - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 19:59

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 19:59
The wife, She does all the little things I am either too lazy to do or forget about. Especially now we have a 5 month old who now comes camping........

Cheers Luke
AnswerID: 390503

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:02

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:02
Ha! I must get one of those I think. :)

Hubby is not too shabby, he does the things I'm too vague to do.
FollowupID: 658307

Follow Up By: Member - Tony S (WA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 01:43

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 01:43
Jees doesn't your daughter look like your good lady.
Hmm maybe you could train her to remember what everyone else has forgotten!! HeHe

Tony
The rig

FollowupID: 658341

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:00

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:00
Haha Tony, this IS the handbrake, and yes, she looks just like me. That photo doesn't even show the half of it. However trying to get an 8yo to do anything useful is a bit of a challenge... she does do more chores than her friends at school though - or so I'm told!
FollowupID: 658358

Follow Up By: Member - Neville & Sally C (VI - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:03

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:03
Hi Lia, I won't leave home without wetones, & plenty of them, both anti bacterial & moistrising. Newspaper ....for tablecloth for dirty picnic tables, to use as a shower mat & firelighting. Thongs for ablution block higene. Other items mentioned by others already, Have a safe & pleasant trip.Take care ,Bye for now. Sally
FollowupID: 658402

Reply By: robertbruce - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:01

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:01

"Question is, for those that have done long trips, what is the ONE thing, that you could not have lived without?

my multi tap-handle
AnswerID: 390505

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:05

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:05
All I'm getting on Google for that is brewing equipment...which would also be good. lol.

Is it a handle for your water tap with two... OK, no I have no idea. What is it?

FollowupID: 658308

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 21:22

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 21:22
Hi Lia -

This device fits the varying size of tap valves... its a multi-tap-handle is small cross shaped brass object.
On the end of each pole is a socket. Inside the socket is a spline. Each spline is diferant..The spline fits on to a tap head allowing it to be used as a handle...

Most parks and places don't have tap-handles on thier taps...

But what i really have missed is a 200litre+ water tank... I know you've said youve got your watertank...

Willem also metions water even tho you said youve already got a tank... It i realluy unusual for Willem to do such a thing - such i the importance of water...

I a planning up a new camper for extended ten days stays... water tank size is 200litres, there is only the one of me...

imho, ten day extensions are the minumun you should plan for... taps and water are in short supply, and even when it is a lot of it is unpotable

Caravan parks are the only 100% reliable place to get water, specially in sa & wa..
FollowupID: 658324

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 09:58

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 09:58
Hi Robertbruce, your multi tap handle. Can I ask where you brought that from. We have tried Bunnings etc, but they dont stock them here in Wagga. We have just sold are about to start our lap around Australia for a few years, so are really keen on getting one. I cant find them on Ebay either.

Lia, I would have to say water, shower, washing machine and ALL my toiletries. Can go with out food, but I have to have my 2 showers a day. Hence having an extra water tank in our van we have just had custom built.....lol

It will be interesting to read some of the replies you get.

Karen
:-)
FollowupID: 658357

Follow Up By: gbc - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 11:05

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 11:05
Bunnings generally carry them in the plumbing department - otherwise a plumbing supply outlet......Sorry about jumping in.
FollowupID: 658363

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 11:08

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 11:08
I might give Reece Plumbing a call up here. Our Bunnings are useless up here, hardly ever got stock on their shelves and what is there you cant see for dust.
Staff wouldnt know a sprinkler from a spanner......lol.
FollowupID: 658364

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:28

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:28
ow-arrr, there anrt any on ebay....bet that wont last long now...lol

I got mine from Bunnings....
FollowupID: 658441

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 09:41

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 09:41
Hi Robertbruce, I got 2 now...lol. One from Bunnings and one from Reece plumbing. Are they little gold gadgets with 4 fittings like a little wheel brace thingy? like a cross X sort of?
FollowupID: 658799

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 20:52

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 20:52
2 is good, they are easy to forget.... i was begining to get paranoid they only sold them to licensed plumbers....being is such the difficulty in getting water "along the way"
FollowupID: 658881

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:06

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:06
BEER!!!

AnswerID: 390507

Follow Up By: Member - Mark G Gulmarrad - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:12

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:12
...........and the fridge to put it in!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
FollowupID: 658310

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:36

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:36
As you know Mark, the first thing I find when I arrive in town is a Bottle Shop, Then a Servo and lastly a Supermarket.
We can always make do. Like when our two way fridge/freezer packed it in at St George. We got by with our 30lt 3 way for nearly a fortnight without to much hassle on the road keeping my beer cold as well as milk, cheese, meat and few non essential items ;). Admittedly I took you up on your offer to keep a few beers cold in your fridge ThanX
We've always gotta have a backup plan :)

FollowupID: 658315

Follow Up By: Member - DAZA (QLD) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 08:55

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 08:55
G/Day Hairs

Did Mark charge the usual rate for keeping other peoples Beer cold, HALF of the Beer or was it TWO THIRDS, lol lol lol.
FollowupID: 658351

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:02

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:02
Hmm, I didn't think of putting beer in - clearly that's an essential, so I took it as a given. :) But yes, we agree.
FollowupID: 658359

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:57

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:57
Hi Lia,
With three under 11, and the youngest being 7, Beer is an essential.Trust me :)
And as funnyfarm mentioned, a DVD player. Don't they make life a bit more comfortable?

Daza, the beauty of putting beer in Marks fridge is, He doesn't drink beer, so it's pretty safe. He's a Bourbon man.
But i guess, what comes around, go's around EHEHEHEHEH

FollowupID: 658391

Reply By: Travelling Pixie - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:08

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:08
we (myself, wife and two young children) did a 3 month trip with camper trailer last year. Whilst we were completely self sufficient we appreciated an electric kettle, toaster and heater (for when we were in the cooler areas) when we had electricity
AnswerID: 390508

Reply By: Member - Kiwi Kia - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:22

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:22
In no particular order I would add these to your list;

1. A good broadcast radio with in-ear headphones. I am a light sleeper and while away many of the dark hours listening to some very interesting programmes including of course the weather forecast.

2. Anti itch / anti histamine cream for midge bites etc... Saves me tearing my shins to bits from scratching them.

3. A good book (or two)

KK
AnswerID: 390510

Reply By: Willem - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:25

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:25
Enough water to sustain your family, just in case................
AnswerID: 390511

Reply By: funnyfarm - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:31

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:31
with kids, a must is DVD player for the car. What a lifesaver. Makes trips must more pleasant.
AnswerID: 390516

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:39

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:39
Agree, We bought a twin DVD payer for the trip to St George, now there's 200 bucks well spent. :)

FollowupID: 658317

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:18

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:18
We never had one, didn't make our trips with the kids unpleasant.

FollowupID: 658553

Reply By: gbc - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:36

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:36
1. A head torch
2. Paraderm plus cream (magic cream) anaesthetic, antiseptic and anti inflammatory all in one. Before kids I'd never heard of it - now we don't leave home without it - bites, burns, cuts anything......
AnswerID: 390519

Reply By: Member - Netnut (VIC) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:45

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 20:45
Lia,

A piece of flat rubber 120 X 120mm for when some rotter has removed all the plugs from the laundry or the shower block. Rubber from an old inner tube is good; I got mine from the roadside courtesy of someones blowout !

Netnut
AnswerID: 390526

Reply By: robertbruce - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 21:25

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 21:25
thongs for feet for public showers...
AnswerID: 390530

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 21:55

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 21:55
CASH money! Credit cards are fine but cash speaks very loudly in isolated areas. Brings discounts and many thanks to the small traders who get stuck.
I never, ever, move without at least $1,000 in cash in my wallet,glove-box etc..
AnswerID: 390536

Reply By: Member - Josh (TAS) - Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 23:08

Sunday, Nov 08, 2009 at 23:08
A really good camera is a must. We have some amazing photos from all over the country that we will now get blown up to put on the wall, no need to buy a Ken Duncan picture lol.
Also a water filter for your water tank and a jug with a filter. As you will fill up from many different places the taste of water will vary. In the cities it tastes like a swimming pool and in the outback it has lots of minerals, or may even be bore water. Our water tasted the same for the 3 yrs we were on the road as we always filtered it before it went into the tank and then again as we drank it. If you put contaminated water in your tank it is always tainted.
We never bother with a tv or dvd player in the car. We wanted our girls aged 3 & 5 when we left to see our amazing country and never regretted it. If they got restless we pulled over for a break and stretch.
The most important thing to take is your sense of humour for the days that things don't quite go right. With a sense of humour you will be able to laugh about it later. Like when our kids room blew off the camper trailer one day and the rain blew straight in and filled the inside with water and wet everything. It was 3 weeks before we moved into a house so how ironic but now we laugh.

Josh
AnswerID: 390548

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:03

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:03
Hmm, I got that one covered, as I am photographer. I just need to work out which of my cameras to NOT take. Booo.
FollowupID: 658360

Follow Up By: Member - Old Girl (QLD) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 15:42

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 15:42
Josh, i was thinking sense of humour too.
Anyhow Lia we have been holidaying with the kids since they were born eldest nearly 11. Now its permanent. My cant do with outs is.
The red coleman rechargable light. You can charge it on 240 or 12v while driving. We use those reusable shopping bags for the shower. We each have one in a different colour with our own soap. Once the towels are dry from the night before I roll them up and place the towel and a set of clothes, Pjs for the kids ready for the night time rush. We also use bath mats so the kids don't drop their clothes and towel on the sometimes wet and dirty floor. I just bought a portable loo. Had enough of the pigs in the toilets. Now I don't have to walk the kids over all the time. They usually want to go either while your trying to cook tea or at 5 in the morning guaranteed.

Sharon
FollowupID: 658382

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:21

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:21
QUOTE: We never bother with a tv or dvd player in the car. We wanted our girls aged 3 & 5 when we left to see our amazing country and never regretted it. If they got restless we pulled over for a break and stretch.

Congratulations!

FollowupID: 658554

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al- Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 07:27

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 07:27
Lia,

It's more than one...but I could'nt think of just one thing

As mentioned, with Kids DVDs [a box with stuff in for each - books, pencils, colouring books, etc within easy reach so they can get to them themselves]

Rugged Tool Roll - it has come in handy many times

Dream Pot [or similar] so you can prepare in the morning and come back and dinner is done!

Sturdy torch - we like the Iron man ones that can hang, and can be charged up 240v or 12volt

We did have solar panels - however can be tricky when running fridges etc, and now have a honda gennie - very quiet

On the subject of fridges - we took 2 - one acted as a freezer but you could use one soley for drinks

A fridge in the car is handy too!

Surf Socks - for the kids [and you] to explor rock pools etc in

and...

one of the first things I pack is my walking pole - I have habit of falling/slipping and I just love walking through the bush with it [and no I'm not old...hahahha]

happy travels...
Lyn

AnswerID: 390557

Follow Up By: Member - Lia H (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:04

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 10:04
Yes I have my eye on a dream pot. Just bought a Coleman oven, so now I want one of those too. :)
FollowupID: 658361

Reply By: Redback - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 11:51

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 11:51
Money and Fuel, can't go anywhere without them!!

AnswerID: 390583

Reply By: equinox - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:18

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:18
Toilet paper is much softer than gum leaves - don't forget the toilet paper.

Also, some means to create fire is always handy as well.

AnswerID: 390586

Reply By: bruce - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:31

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:31
Music....the roads in places are very long and can get boring , searching for a radio station can be APITA...we have 2 Sansas that between them have over 3000 tracks on them , they are set to play these tracks in random order...I doubt very much that we will ever run out of entertainment..just the 2 of us....cheers
AnswerID: 390588

Reply By: Member - Jo Q (NSW) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:51

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 12:51
What I did without & wish I hadn't was a fridge! A month long trip in the trailer to QLD resulted in numerous bags of ice & soggy margarine, meat - the worx! Definitely recommend a fridge & that's next on my list - no more esky & ice!

The DVD never went on in the car, but the DS got a work out!

AnswerID: 390592

Follow Up By: robertbruce - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:15

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 21:15
I agree about the firdge, i have three of them but now i havnt bothered with one...

Intead i have replaced...

margarine and butter with olive-oil
milk with powdered milk
beer with scotch

an esky with ice is good for fresh-foods but youve got to keep it drained...

be carefull buying fruit and veg while on the ru, you cant cross some borders with em'
FollowupID: 658433

Reply By: Atta Boy Luther - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 13:07

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 13:07
Portable dvd player for the kids to watch while driving is a must . Otherwise i would go insane .
AnswerID: 390593

Reply By: PradOz - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:56

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:56
The one thing I wish we had is a bigger bladder in SWMBO ;)) Nothing more frustrating when you just gotta keep on stopping and it just happens to be away from decent scenery etc and its only seems like you stopped 20 mins ago.

I think you should start another thread - On along trip, what is the one thing you could have lived without and left behind? We all take too much which adds up to too much weight. For me - taking canned goods, or too much of them. Better to travel lighter and buy local where possible
AnswerID: 390639

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:30

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 19:30
Hey, I have one of them :(
It's not good. I can work all day in the sun, busting a backside. and not have to wet my boots.
Put me behind the wheel and near every hour I gotta wet them :(

FollowupID: 658411

Reply By: Fab72 - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:59

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 18:59
A spare set of keys.....secure them in a hidden place on the underside of the car or camper.
AnswerID: 390641

Reply By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:26

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 22:26
I take those magic plastic containers that are water tight and air tight called 'Lock & Lock'. You can put your lunch meat, cheese, butter etc. in them and put the container in your esky with all that sloppy melting ice and they don't leak no matter how much they get tossed around.

And he sees the vision splendid of the sunlit plains extended, And at night the wondrous glory of the everlasting stars. Clancy of the Overflow.

AnswerID: 390686

Reply By: Member - Russnic [NZ] - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:06

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 14:06
If you are passing through Charleville go to the chemist there and get some Simmons and Co Fly Repellent, it is made from organic natural ingredients.
It is made in Vic and is probably available else where, though the lady in the shop commented that a lot of out of town people call here and buy this stuff.
It does work and stops the annoying little blighters from landing on you.
Thinking of that town I got some sage advice from an "Old Fellow" there a few years ago. You better get yourself a decent hat, the sun out here will frizzle your ears off !.
AnswerID: 390743

Reply By: ExplorOz - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:58

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 15:58
Hi Lia,
We have an article on the site called "What to Take" - have you seen this?

From my personal perspective I am surprised no one has listed their shoes. I always say that 3 pairs is the limit. So I take hiking boots, thongs, and slippers. I cannot go camping without my hiking boots. They are very expensive ($300+) quality hiking boots - mine are Sherpa brand. I've had them for 12 years but they still sell the same thing in Mountain Design, Paddy Palin, Katmandu etc. I love walking and climbing rocks, mountains etc but I wear them in the car and all day on trips as you can jump out onto any road, mud, sand etc and have firm footing.

The slippers are for just chilling out when the boots come off and its still cold. I have recently started using the hut booties we sell on our shop and find them ideal - the whole family has a pair and we use them on trips and at home.

The other item that comes to mind (other than obvious camping essentials) is moisturiser, yet I hardly use it at home. I keep it handy in the door pocket as my hands always dry out and get cracked and it hurts. There's lots more that could go on the list for sure... as eveyone is so different the list of personals can be huge!

Have fun with the planning!
Michelle
ExplorOz

Business Member
My Profile  My Blog

AnswerID: 390765