question for Dazza62 re those Solar panels

Hi Dazza62.

Just wondering how those panels are going, what amps they put out, and how they are performing.

Could you post the dimensions of them, and the output voltage in full sun.
What voltage do they put out when in the morning sun, or evening sun.

Not alot about those type/ make of panels apart from being from the USA on google, and that ebay seller being the aust rep.
Are there more details on the back of the panels/ reg etc.

There seems to be so much bickering on the last post, I thought my question would be lost in the middle of it.

Many thanks

Trains

Reply By: dazza62 - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:37

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:37
Hey Trains, Talk about a can of worms.

I left a response in the other post, it has probably got lost as you said. Too many experts and opinions in there. After all we know that an x is an unknown factor and a spurt is a drip under pressure. But then everyone is entitled to their opinion, but hey opinions are like bottoms - everyones got one.

Glad you asked about my cheap solar panels. I had them connected all weekend to the battery and had the waeco running off the battery. As of last night the battery was still at 12.65 volts. I didn't check it this morning as I am back at work. I purchased these panels as a cheap alternative when we need to supplement our battery and don't want to take the generator. Most of the time they will have access to full sun and are only used to put some charge back in the battery.

I have no doubt there are people on this site that know way more about solar than I do, I merely advised someone of a deal I stumbled across through this forum. I accept they are cheap however the quality looks fine. They are unbranded and so far are suiting my requirements. Time will tell and until then I have the spare cash to stimulate the economy in other ways. i won't be around during daylight hours this week so will (time permitting) take some recordings next weekend and get back to you.

Cheers Dazza.
AnswerID: 390616

Follow Up By: dazza62 - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:58

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:58
Trains,
The Thread that alerted me to these panels was Thread 73415.

You might find it interesting reading.
Cheers Dazza.
FollowupID: 658392

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 21:09

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 21:09
Hey Dazza, thanks for the reply.

What sized fridge are you running, and at what temp inside. I assume near 0 for VB :)
hehe
I see the ambient temp is 30's ish over your way.
Bit warmer over here tho ;(.

here is a copy and paste from my post over on the other thread.

Hi Dazza,

Thought I would try and clarify my questions for you a bit better.
Was tired, and trying to wade thru the other posts that were also thrown in confusing the matter.

Getting a voltage reading before sun, or near it, in the morning, shows that the batt has been used during the night, and a voltage reading at the end of the day may show that its not only run the fridge, but topped up the battery.

What Im really interested in, is what the panel puts out at low light conditions.
Ie morning, where the sun is not strong, or in a part shade / low light situation.

If you try this, just put the mulitmeter at the end of the clips, with it disconnected from the battery, it will show what the panel is putting out, without the battery getting in the way.

If you could describe the conditions you test it in with low light, that will help me in my decision making, and would be much appreciated.

Yeah, I know theres probably many other better ways of testing it, but as your only armed with a multimeter that reads voltage, and not amps, its a pretty good start.
Hopefully this wont turn into another bickering session.

And looking forward to the updates after the weekend to see how its going.

Its damn hot here, hows your temp over there??

Trains
FollowupID: 658619

Follow Up By: dazza62 - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:03

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 22:03
Hey Trains,

Fridge is a Waeco CF35 that runs off a Thumper 30 AH battery. I run fridge at 0 degrees most of the time. Only has beer in it at home as when away I take the esky with coke bottles containing a salty brine. They stay cold for longer than crushed ice. Has worked well for us as we move around a lot. Also gives the mobility to take the fridge out of the car if we want. Touch wood have never flattened it yet.

I have managed to borrow a multimeter that will record amps so will put some details together over the weekend for the experts to pick to pieces.

Weather over here is low 30's and delightful. Only drawback is I have to work all week. Keep sending it over, could use another drop of rain though.

Will keep you posted.

Cheers Dazza.

FollowupID: 658625

Follow Up By: trainslux - Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 23:22

Tuesday, Nov 10, 2009 at 23:22
Hey Dazza, thanks for that.
Gives me an idea of what its running.

Mate if you can post some specs of the amps sooner, im pretty keen on getting one sooner than later. :)
morning, and full sun ;) hehe pressure.......what pressure.

Ps, might find some specs of it here if yours looks like this one.
hope this helps you too.

http://cgi.ebay.com.au/80W-SOLAR-PANEL-MONO-Folding-Camping-READY-TO-USE_W0QQitemZ350274592675QQcmdZViewItemQQptZAU_Sport_Camping_Hiking_Caravan_Accessories?hash=item518dfe1fa3

Thanks again.
Trains
FollowupID: 658639

Follow Up By: dazza62 - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:26

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:26
Morning Trains,

The regulator on that unit is the same and the setup on the rear is the same. Could possibly be the same Unit. Price at the moment represents good value.

I will try and get a reading first thing tomorrow and last thing tonight. Won't be able to get full sun until the weekend.

I'll need a week off with all this pressure LOL.

Cheers Dazza
FollowupID: 658664

Follow Up By: trainslux - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:32

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:32
Thanks Dazza,

do your panels have the same sticker with info on the back of them, as they are only slightly lower than the bp panels in amps and volts, but not much.

Early sun, would be excellent, as a real test is in lower light conditions.

Treat yourself to a cold beer tonight.

Just the thing for pressure.

hehe

Trains
FollowupID: 658665

Follow Up By: dazza62 - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 09:29

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 09:29
Morning Trains,

Now I know why I hate borrowing things. Borrowed multimeter don't work :-(

Had to resort to trusty voltmeter so here are some voltages that hopefully will help you.

Lat night at 7pm in filtered light Unit was recording 19.7 volts. This morning at 7-30am with a sea fog rolling in Unit was recording 17.45 volts.

In regards to the other Unit everything is the same except the panels look different and the sticker on the back is different. Figures quoted are the same.

Cheers Dazza.
FollowupID: 658796

Follow Up By: trainslux - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 14:45

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 14:45
Thanks Dazza,
Always the way isnt it.

Those voltages were from the clips, away from the battery?
What voltage did it drop to when on the battery.

Rekon low light morning, after fridge has drained the 30ah will be good to see bulk amp charge.
Hope you have luck with the new multimeter.

With the clamp meter for amps on it, would be interesting to see what each panel is putting out prior to the regulator too.

Thanks for feedback here. Helps alot.

Rekon if I get one of these, I will post up a comprehensive test report too.

T
FollowupID: 658826

Follow Up By: dazza62 - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 15:44

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 15:44
No problems Trains,

I did not connect the panel to the battery for these tests. It was just from the clips.

No doubt there is a lot more tests that could be done, beyond my expertise and motivation.

Good luck with your decision however don't put to detailed a report up as you might put Mainey out of business LOL.

Cheers Dazza.
FollowupID: 658836

Follow Up By: trainslux - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 23:04

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 23:04
sigh............

Did you take readings with the batt connected as well, after doing the open circuit voltage test?

What the batt voltage in the mornings?
And I take it, its still fully charged when you get back home.

Look forward to your report when you sort the dc amps on the muiltimeter.

Trains
FollowupID: 658906

Follow Up By: trainslux - Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 22:32

Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 22:32
Any luck with the borrowed multimeter yet??

I take it the battery is still doing well.
What is it in the mornings, and have you measured it as the day goes by to see how quickly it recharges?

Trains

re above post, the html monsters stole part of what I wrote, so it may not make sense.
FollowupID: 659089

Follow Up By: trainslux - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 09:44

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 09:44
Hi Dazza, out of interest, what was the dimensions of your panel ?
Ie, closed up, not of them both unfolded.

Trains
FollowupID: 660484

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:39

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 13:39
I'd be interested in the dimensions also.............

Reason being, I recently purchased a "80 Watt kit" (couldn't resist, at the price;-))

Anyway, what I actually received was in fact a 40 Watt kit (2x 20W panels), with a 80W -spec sticker on it :(

After my tests confirmed that the "kit" was indeed 40W, I immediately contacted the seller who "tried it on" at first, but once it became clear that I was certain of my facts, he was only too willing to either refund in full, send another panel(s) to make up the deficit, or partial refund (and I keep the panel(s)...
I chose the latter (50% refund), simply because I wanted the matter cleared up ASAP....

In a nutshell, Make sure that what you get, is what you thought you were bidding on...

Catch ya later....

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 660508

Follow Up By: trainslux - Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:33

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:33
I just remembered that you posted the specs up before.

"Panels are approx 540 x 420 folded

Most 80w on ebay are 610 x 530 folded.

Yer, looking into this Ed.C
Can you message me the seller etc?? Ive heard of this before from others.

FollowupID: 660546

Follow Up By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:42

Wednesday, Nov 25, 2009 at 16:42
Ed, so you now you say you have a 40 watt solar system, it won't run your fridge, now you have to go buy another panel or panels, just to have an effective solar system.
You will then be carting around 3 panels not 1, or 1 larger panel with a briefcase too.

Try and get all your money back as I reckon the seller was trying to 'rob' you for sure, reason being any qualified solar person knows the capacity of a solar panel in his stock range, with-out even looking at the specs written on the back of the panel, it's clearly written on the outside of the box they are packed in, I assume it did come packaged in a box :-)

To suggest he would send you an 80 watt panel, which is the same physical size of a 40 watt panel, shows he is not too bright at all, or as I say trying to rob you.

Then you have to worry about the real probability of quality (lack of) control when they stick the wrong label on the panel too, maybe it has some other quality hassles also probably coming out the back door of somewhere unknown ?

Maîneÿ . . .
FollowupID: 660549

Follow Up By: Member - Ed. C. (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 00:07

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 00:07
Dazza,
If the (so-called) "80 Watt" kit that you received is indeed 540x420 folded (same dimensions as the one I received), then it is most definitely NOT 80 Watts... these are 2x 20Watt panels..
I checked the output with a load (2 Engels) connected, and got 2.2 Amps @ 18V into the reg.... Thats 40 Watts..
Dazza, you need to contact the seller ASAP and get this resolved..
email me at > edjan AT bigpond Dot Com < if you need any more info..

Trains,
check item # 170410130258 for a similar listing..
I wonder how many of this seller's other items are equally mis-represented ?

Mainey,
Yeah, I know ;-))
This was only ever going to be a supplement to an existing set-up, so it's no big deal either way, and at $4 a Watt delivered, I'm happy to leave it at that..
Thanks for your concern ;-)

What is of more concern to me is that there would be others who have bought these panels without knowing that what they've received is not "as described" :(
I hope Dazza reads this in time to get it sorted.....

Catch ya later..

Confucius say.....
"He who lie underneath automobile with tool in hand,
....Not necessarily mechanic!!"

FollowupID: 660632

Follow Up By: dazza62 - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 12:46

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 12:46
Hey Guys,
Sorry for not responding sooner. Have been off the radar for quite a few days enjoying our country side.

Given the concerns of others I had the panels tested and have had it confirmed that the system is in fact a 60w system and not 80 as advertised. I have taken this up with the supplier who I must say was quite easy to deal with. I have reached a confidential settlement with them and suggest anyone else who has concerns contacts them direct personally.

For information the 60w system will work for our intended use quite easily.

In the meantime "let it rain" and I can get back bush!!!
Cheers Dazza.

FollowupID: 660680

Reply By: PeterInSa - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:56

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 16:56
Trains,
Am putting Sola Panels on the roof of a motorhome, the 4 feet on each panel are being stuck to the roof of the motor home. I have used name brand Sola Panels on the understanding that if something happens to them I will be able to purchase an exact size replacement, (to fit onto the feet) anything else and I would hate to be involved in getting the feet unstuck from the roof of the MH.

I have seen panels installed on caravans on bars going from one side of the van to the other, this type of arrangement would be suitable for panels that may or maynot be exactly the same dimensions if you have to replace them in the future eg because of hail damage in QLD.

AnswerID: 390621

Follow Up By: Member - Robert R1 (SA) - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 20:47

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 20:47
PeterInSa,

For mounting solar panels and anything else I have bolted Unistrut P4000 to the roof of my canopy. It is a C channel - 40mm x 25 mm - and you can bolt anything to it.
And he sees the vision splendid of the sunlit plains extended, And at night the wondrous glory of the everlasting stars. Clancy of the Overflow.

FollowupID: 658426

Reply By: trainslux - Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 17:32

Monday, Nov 09, 2009 at 17:32
Hey Dazza, I see you replied, but its been moderated, and I have no idea what you said in your reply.

Trains
AnswerID: 390626