gross vehicle mass

Submitted: Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 00:55
ThreadID: 73679 Views:4898 Replies:7 FollowUps:7
Gday all, some brain picking needed please. Went to the tip the other day and just about died. went on the weighbridge after and came out at 2890kg and at the moment don't even have the drawers in or the roofrack on. Problem being the 80 series is 2960kg gvm!! Long range tank was nearly dry and other tank(90lt) was only half full. The only weight at the moment is the dual swingaway carrier and the bullbar, even the winch is out getting a service! Unfortunately I don't have another weighbridge to check it on here in Albany. I have seen a multitude of 4by's with more than mine on the road and they can't possibly all be overweight. Anyone got any idea's?
Been here, been there, goin again!!

Reply By: disco driver - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 01:46

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 01:46
Oz Trekker,
Are you sure that the Hanrahan Rd weighbridge is a registered public weighbridge and thus is certified correct.
If it is not registered it may not be weighing accurately.
However as you say, it's the only weighbridge available in or around Albany.

You could try weighing the front and the back of the 80 series individually and see what comes up when compared with your original reading.

Just my thoughts

Disco.
AnswerID: 390822

Reply By: Ozhumvee - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 07:09

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 07:09
One would imagine that if a business (the tip) is using a weighbridge/set of scales to charge customers then like any other business the weighbridge/scales would have to be regularly certified under the law. Unless things are horribly different in WA ;-))
On the weight of touring 4wd's there would be very few fitted with a few accessories that wouldn't be over GVM when setting off on a trip.
Then you have the people that stack it all in the trailer so then it is over GTM.
A mate had an ex 4wd accessory business vehicle that was fitted with every accessory and mod known to man and it was 200kgs over GVM before any fuel, water or personal gear was added.
AnswerID: 390832

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 07:41

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 07:41
Yep - gotta love the 4WD accessory mobs that tell you how you need front & rear steel bars, swingaway wheel carriers, long range tanks, roofracks etc etc but they seem to forget to tell people that by fitting all the gear the vehicle would be illegal by being over GVM.
Another classic was a Cruiser shown off in 4WD custom mag which had all of the above but with twin rear wheel carriers and a pee wee 50 mini bike attached to the back of the spare wheels - promoting it as a great custom whereas I think it's a danger to themselves and other road users with that much weight right at the rear of the vehicle !!

Rant over :o)

Darryl
FollowupID: 658654

Reply By: Karen & Geoff - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 08:30

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 08:30
Mmmmmmmmmm overweight problems. I have them and so does our new Cruiser Ute. Since we fitted the steel canopy, winch, bullbar and the list goes on, we are really overweight. Then we add the tow ball weight of the van and we go further overweight. With our plans of heading off to travel Oz for the next few years very soon, we have had to now take the steel tray of the ute and are having a sub frame made for the canopy. Now we have the hassle of selling the steel tray, which is virtually brand new. We think that will bring us down about 300kgs, as we had it originally made with reinforcements. The sub frame is only going to be about 50kg's all up.

Geoff is so pedantic about the weights, and said we are not leaving home with the van until the weights are right. It will be interesting to read the replies to this thread, as I think alot of us have this problem. He even mentioned to me I could do my part and lose some weight to help the problem.........................what can I say!......lol

Karen
:-O
AnswerID: 390837

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 08:57

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 08:57
Karen,
It is very easy to upgrade GVM on your ute - a suspension change can add 400kgs - bring it up from 3300 to 3700kg. ARB, Lovells and other suspension companies do it.

FollowupID: 658657

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:03

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:03
Hi Phil. Yep that is a good thing, but what alot of people dont realise is that it doesn't alter your GCM. Meaning we then need to take that extra weight of the van weight, which is pretty well right up there as well. So adding that 400kg's to the Cruiser will mean the van has to come in under 3 tonne. The van weighs 3020kg's empty. Doing the upgrade does not alter the GCM, but I wish it did, that would be our problem solved.......................

Next idea?????????
lol
:-)
Karen
FollowupID: 658658

Follow Up By: Member - Alex K (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:47

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 09:47
Hi Karen,
Are you sure - interesting?

The GCM is the sum of GVM and max towing capacity. I didn't think by upgrading the GVM means you can now tow less?

Alex
FollowupID: 658669

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:57

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:57
Hi Alex. Yep sure. We asked 3 different engineers and then rang the guys back in Penrith, and said thats right. When we originally rang them and they told us all about it, they didn't realise we were going to be towing a van as well. They said what the Engineers said about the GCM was right.

Then we finds out, what might be legal in NSW with the upgrade, is not the same in all the other states. Even with the Engineers Certificate we would have had after doing the upgrade.

I suggested we sell the lot and head off on push bikes! It might be alot easier than all these weight issues we are having.

Karen
FollowupID: 658675

Follow Up By: Karen & Geoff - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:57

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 10:57
But Alex, in saying all the above, I really hope someone can prove us wrong.......lol.
FollowupID: 658676

Reply By: slammin - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 11:50

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 11:50
I think the weigbridge is incorrect.

I have taken my vehicle to the heavy vehicle checking station in Alice and they were happy to weigh it.

PS On the weekends when it is unmanned you can still see your reading thru the window. ; )
AnswerID: 390854

Reply By: Member - Flynnie (NSW) - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:17

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:17
They can all be overweight and most are!

Seriously do we need all the junk we take along? Our ancestors travelled on horseback or by foot and would not be able to comprehend our modern "needs".

Between ordering my cruiser and delivery I worked out it would go overweight for a CSR type trip but should be OK on anything else, and this is a cruiser trayback. Almost talked myself into getting a suspension upgrade and GVM upgrade before registering it. Sanity prevailed as I worked out that a lot of stuff can be left behind or not fitted at all, as it is not needed.

In my case a steel bull bar with side rails and Warn winch was abandoned in favour of a Teampoly Smartbar. That decision alone saved a lot of weight. The drop sides will be left behind on next trip as well. Offsetting this will be weight gain from dual battery and some other bits. Offsetting that will be less camping gear will be carried so I should finish up lighter than the last trip.

I think we should look at our vehicles as a sailor looks at his boat. Once it is down to the waterline (GVM) anything that goes in has to be compensated by something else coming out. With this discipline the boat stays safely afloat and likewise the vehicle does not get overloaded. It is absurd for a sailor to keep "improving" his boat by adding gear until it sinks but we seem to be pretty oblivious to the consequences of overloading vehicles. The analogy is a rough one but relevant I think.

If our vehicles start to look like an ARB or TJM catalogue cover picture than we have got way too much stuff fitted.

A tip to reduce weight is to look at getting camping gear at shops that cater to the mountain climber types. They have some really good compact light weight gear that does the job.

Another is to take nothing for "just in case" if it is not used every day it likely is not needed at all.

Essential tools and safety gear are needed but even here with very careful selection of gear big weight savings could be made.

Flynnie

AnswerID: 390936

Reply By: Oz Trekker - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 23:32

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 23:32
Hi guys and gals, all read and much appreciated. Must admit, didn't think about upgrading my GVM. Have done the suspension bit but must get the certificate bit done. As for taking all the 'extras' for just in case, what can come off easily does. drawers out only a small assortment of breakdown gear and that's it. Have since used a weighbridge at the grain centre. Came in at 2500kg nearly 400kg less than the weighbridge at the tip!!!!! Wonder how many people would like that?!! Again many thanks
Been here, been there, goin again!!

AnswerID: 390945

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 00:36

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 00:36
The weighbridge at the tip really only weighs you in and out and charges the

difference so if its inaccurate weighing you in it will still be the same coming

out so the load amount will be the same which is all they worry about.

I weighed miy rig on the old public weighbridge in Geraldton and was horrified

at the result.

However when I rolled off it I realised it was zeroing on 75kg which made a hell

of a lot of difference.

FollowupID: 658782

Reply By: _gmd_pps - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 01:48

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 01:48
Maybe you have to change your diet ? or go to the gym ??
rofl :), sorry could not resist
good luck
gmd
AnswerID: 390952