Advice or tips on camping coastal tour from Perth down South

Hello everyone, I am new to this forum and still trying to figure things out.

We will go camping down south from Perth, starting DEC 20. For it is the first time with 2 kids (4,6) as my niece and nephew are coming with their parents. We will be fully self sufficient as usual with 4WD, since we like wild camping.

We have not been down south before and don't know what might be good to do with kids (we heard of treetop walk, penguin island, d'antre casteux...etc.)
We were thinking of driving down the coast first towards M'river, Busselton and so on and then continuing Augusta, Albany to Esperance...
Good idea (regarding places getting busy and such...)? Maybe any of you have good hints,as we really don't know how busy it is going to get.

Thanks heaps, looking forward to hearing from you, Insa

Reply By: Member - ross m (WA) - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 20:33

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 20:33
Hi .Thats a realy good trip in summer. It can be crowded ,especially Marg River,but its not too bad.
Kids will love the caves around Marg River
Denmark is another must see place in summer.
Albany has an interesting old convict prison and whaling station.
The lighthouse at Augusta is a favourite of mine.

Esperance deserves a week of its own.Drives along the beach and trips to Woody Island were fantastic

I took my son to all these places when he was young and he has never forgotten them.
Im heading down that way in the opposite direction early January with my old age mates,cant wait;)
AnswerID: 390920

Follow Up By:- Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 11:25

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 11:25
Hi there and thanks heaps for the positive reply.
I am just very unsure about how much I would need to plan ahead, especially after having read all this below.
We usually don't plan much, but of course, we usually don't go to busy places in busy times and it has just been the two of us, no trailers or kids or so...
I am just not sure how I am supposed to 'book' stuff - you can't really book campsites in national parks, can ya.
We will be traveling with a small offroad trailer, not with a caravan.
Any more detailed tips?
Cheers, Insa
FollowupID: 658812

Follow Up By: Member - ross m (WA) - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 12:09

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 12:09
Ive camped at Marg River ,Augusta,Walpole and Esperance during the summer break and always found a spot.
As I said before marg river was the only place that was near crisis point as far as accomadation goes ,but I did book and pay for a camping spot in advance there.

The other places were all busy but still had surplus camp sites.
Im not sure about the free sites as I like to have a few amenities.
The amenities make it easier with kids as well as most parks have gas barbeques and eating areas undercover

Here is some link to parks I have stayed at. .Give them a call and see what they say.
Just work out an intinery and think how long you would like to stay in each place allowing for setting up and packing and a outing for the kids and yourselves each day

Augusta
http://www.turnerpark.com.au/mapofpark.htm

Walpole
http://www.coalminebeach.com.au/

Esperance
http://www.discoverwest.com.au/save65.gif

I forget the names of the parks I stayed in at Albany and Denmark

Accomadation gets difficult for those with large caravans that want powered sites and you are not in this category;)
FollowupID: 658815

Reply By: Maîneÿ . . .- Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 21:29

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 21:29
Insa,
It gets very very busy, all booked out and expencive down here in late December and early January.

G\My tip is to go into a CALM office and get a copy of their camp sites down here, there are many, but none are right on the beach.
There are some (illegal) beach camp sites, but the lacal Rangers are really hot on them and issue fines readily and it's not easy to beat them because the "no camping" signs are everywhere.

Over in the Albany & Esperance area you will have more luck, the law as it stands, as I understand it, is you can't 'free camp' with-in a certain distance of a town, I think it's 30 Klm, but I'm sure someone will know better.

There are 'free camping' areas inland.

Maîneÿ . . .
AnswerID: 390930

Reply By: Farquo - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:42

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:42
You are doing the trip in the right direction IMHO. The scenery starts off great and gets better as you go east.
Caves at Augusta, trees at Pemberton both good. Plenty to do around Albany including Stirling ranges. Fitzgerald River NP is pleasant. Esperance very scenic, great French bakery. Lucky Bay in Cape Le Grand NP is really good. Our favourite was Cape Arid. Very few facilities but peaceful and spectacular.

AnswerID: 390938

Reply By: Brian Purdue - Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:54

Wednesday, Nov 11, 2009 at 22:54
There are quite number of "Free campsites" and you can buy a book informing you of them. However most people have the book and get there fast. (Some are pretty crummy and I have avoided them.). If you are cautious and make some enquiries, with a smile and a good nature, you can get lots of local information.
Legally you are not camping until you go to sleep. You cannot be forced to move if you are under the influence of alcohol. But play it safe and ask for help. It is appreciated by the locals if you spend a dollar or two. Overall it is difficult to "camp out" at this time of the year but some people have been doing the same trick for many years.
"Seek and ye shall find"
Happy holiday.
AnswerID: 390940

Reply By:- Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 00:51

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 00:51
G'day Insa, I think you are very optimistic expecting to find a pleasant wild camping site in the SW corner. I have just returned from a whirlwind two day 1000km circuit of the area, Bunbury,Donnybrook, Manjimup. Bridgetown, Muir Hwy, Denmark, Walpole, Pemberton, Northcliffe, Karridale, Augusta, Margaret River and Busselton. I motelled it overnight in Denmark. There are numerous roadside rest areas that would not be comfortable overnight camping areas because of the road noise. The only place I saw where you could get off the road and have a pleasant spot was on the north side of the Frankland River crossing on the Muir Hwy. If I were you I would focus on the coastal strip Denmark to Walpole and use unpowered caravan park sites to go 4 wheel driving from. The beaches are a convenient distance off the Great Southern Hwy. Augusta to Busselton is now very glitzy/boutiquee. The main street of Margaret River, about 500 metres, was straight out of Subiaco at 3.30 in the afternoon with cars and people clogging the place. Happy Days. Pauper.
AnswerID: 390948

Reply By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 01:50

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 01:50
See if the ExplorOz Shop still has "4wd days out of - -" series. We found the south coast one invaluable when touring and camping along the southern coasts a few years ago. Sorry i can't find it just now to give you the correct title.

AnswerID: 390953

Follow Up By:- Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 11:27

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 11:27
HI there, thanks for the reply.
Sorry, what do you mean by you found it invaluable?
Thanks for the tip on the book, I know which one you mean, already got it...

Cheers, Insa
FollowupID: 658813

Follow Up By: Motherhen - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 16:50

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 16:50
Hi Insa

We used it as a route planner; enabling us to choose roads and tracks accessible to our heavy caravan as well as see most of the recommended places. It also helped us find good camping spots. My trip notes from that 2005 trip is in the MyBlog section, but if you are not a member you will not be able to access it.

Mh

FollowupID: 658848

Reply By: disco driver - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 02:01

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 02:01
As one who lives in one of the smaller towns on the south coast,west of Albany, I suggest that you start planning yesterday and book any accomodation you need tomorrow.

From my experience both as a caravan tower and a resident, most of the coastal towns from Mandurah south right through to Esperance will be pretty well booked out for that period.

Having said that, if you start ringing around or googling the towns on your route ASAP and checking out caravan parks, holiday parks etc you just might be lucky, but hurry

Any free camping sites in the SW (and there is not really that many near the coast) will be well and truly taken every day.

Hope that helps a bit.

Disco.
AnswerID: 390954

Reply By: Neil & Pauline - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 08:35

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 08:35
Shannon Mill camp site, about half way between Manjimup and Wapole is my favorite place. It is in the Shannon national park and it has hot showers and toilets. Fires are allowed and wood provided. There are quite a few other camp sites around the South West away from the packed out Margaret River.

Neil
AnswerID: 390967

Reply By: get outmore - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 15:18

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 15:18
been bush camping in the SW between Xmas and new years before and had no worries.

best advice i can give is avoid margret river

most over hyped destination ive ever seen

nothing there except a mini perth. I stopped off because id heard so much about it and it was full to bursting with people going to the coffee shops, coles and other shops
AnswerID: 391007

Reply By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 23:26

Thursday, Nov 12, 2009 at 23:26
you should just about have it all worked out by now with all these replies....
I would like to add a couple of places you might be lucky which are free or low price...warron river national park between Pemberton and NorthcliffeBig Brook Dam, Pemberton, Parries beach, between Walpole and Denmark, Crystal Springs (,west of walpole) Blue Lake (north east of Demark ) a little bit of soft 4x4 here Cosy Corner East (between Denmark and Albany) on lower Demark Rd Shelly Beach (around the same area...) most of these places should work out for a night or two but if it is getting a bit late and you just need to stay over ...I was once told that Rangers start around 0830 but are home by 1630

have a great trip
AnswerID: 391058

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 01:28

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 01:28
he he that would be good but i got busted camping at the porongerups in my camper van at about 6.00am
FollowupID: 658914

Follow Up By:- Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 15:10

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 15:10
Thanks a lot for these...hmm, getting busted means...??? What can the ranger do, give you a fine?
Brian, is there a map you can recommend for 4x4 driving/camping? Or for campsites?
Sites with amenities are ok but we just like it simple...we'll see if it'll work with kids as well. But I guess not having to shower every day might be something they like :-)) never know, they are city kids. We might just as well avoid M'River, just thought of going there becuse we haven't been there and to look at the caves and do the sting ray thing at leeuwin lighthouse, that was the initial idea.

Anyway, thanks heaps for all the advice.
I guess people refer to it being busy regarding cp with powered sites like mentioned above. We just need to refill water tanks once in a while but the rest should be alright...of course a shower might be nice after a few days ;-)

Cheers, Insa
FollowupID: 658956

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 18:21

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 18:21
seeing as you asked. i get up at about 6 or so to find 2 notes on the windscreen.

1st note says no camping theres a caravan park down the road - then hes obviosly checked the entrance fees box and come back and the next note said make sure you pay on the way out.

wouldnt have thought i was a heavy sleeper but never heard a thing

dunno if he could have fined me
FollowupID: 658963

Follow Up By: Member - Brian R (WA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 16:15

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 16:15
Sorry I don't know if there is one (a map) I have an old STREET SMART which shows some tracks but most of all it was word of mouth
FollowupID: 659274

Reply By: Outa Bounds - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 20:54

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 20:54
If you drop by Nannup then Barrubup Pool is a nice camping / swimming spot, not so much for the littlies if they don't have floaties though. I live in Nannup so of course I think it's a wonderful town :D, but hey if you're trying to aviod Margaret River, it's pretty central, less than an hours drive from there, Busselton, Bunbury, Bridgetown, Balingup, Augusta etc, could be a good base to explore a few towns from! Oh the kids will like the couple of parks here, one at the caravan park, but one further up town which is popular with the local parents for birthday parties etc.

Anyhow I'm rambling on, I do hope you have a great trip, my two are 5 and nearly 7, so sounds like you have a similar age gap!
AnswerID: 391444