chescold fridge

can anyone give us an idea of how much of a drama it is to have a chescold rc1180 on your ct is this a good or bad idea to travel with. cheers

Reply By: wato35 - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 13:28

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 13:28
There are a number of CT's that have their Fridges built in. Has pro's con's, the bit I don't like is when you go somewhere and you leave your CT set up at the camp site. No cold food or drinks.
Wato35
AnswerID: 391122

Reply By: Rod - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 14:14

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 14:14
I traveled around Oz for 4 months with an RC1180, but admittedly in the back of the 4WD. I found it did not handle movement in the 4WD well at all (decent 12V wiring) and needed a few days at each campsite to come back down to a good temp.

The gas absoption fridges are good when stationary for 3+ days at a time, but for touring, a compressor fridge is much better. I have an Evakool now.
AnswerID: 391124

Follow Up By: Muddie - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 19:09

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 19:09
I could not agree more, I run an Engel 60lt combo for touring and a RC1180 for camping (3 days +), both are great fridges but nothing does both well.
FollowupID: 658970

Reply By: Member - Troll 81 (QLD) - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 15:57

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 15:57
We used one for about 12 months.....found it great when you are going to one place and staying there for a week or so. But our camping is always a weekend away or a night here then move on to another night. It was a pain to move a full fridge out of the car onto the ground, make sure it was level, find the gas bottle turn it all on.

It doesn't work very well on 12V but on gas it is very good.

We moved to a compressor fridge and have never looked back
AnswerID: 391133

Reply By: Goldfind (Dunsborough) - Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 16:50

Friday, Nov 13, 2009 at 16:50
We have just returned from a month in the goldfields and around the Pilbara in WA. I purchased the Chescold rc1180 to supplement freezer space. I have had Engel's for many years but always have problems when camped in one place for a month or so. So I set up the Chescold along side the engel and they were fantastic. The Engel for our drinks etc. And the Chescold for keeping things frozen. Mine worked OK on 12 Volt and I did get it set up with heavy duty wiring by an Auto Electrician.
Works a treat outside the van on gas as a fridge freezer. I think they are great
A 9kg gas bottle lasted for 3 weeks and is still not empty
My vehicle is a 100 series Landcruiser towing a Golf Outback caravan

AnswerID: 391138

Reply By: gelatr- Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 00:12

Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 00:12
I recently travelled from Brisbane through the centre via the Plenty Hwy and Tanami Track to the Kimberley and Pilbara. The only fridge we had was our trusty Chescold. We had no problems freezing while on 12 volt and moving. Though it must be said that the 12 volt fridge connection was installed to accommodate the high amperage these fridges draw while on 12 volt.

Once at our camp sites which included Mitchell Falls in 40 degree heat and Kalumburu to mention a few, the fridge work well on gas. Knowing that I didn't have to muck about with generators or solar panels was a major plus for me.

I get a bit perplexed when people say Chescolds don't work well on 12 volt. My experience is, providing the wiring and relay is up to scratch, there is no reason why they will not perform well on 12 volt.

I personally prefer to have the fridge set up in my vehicle rather than on my ct. Two reasons. One, when the fridge is in the vehicle (canopy of my ute in my case) it reduces the distance between the battery/alternator and the fridge which therefore reduces any voltage/amperage loses over my wiring. And two, it means I can take the fridge with me after I've set up the ct as a base.

AnswerID: 391176

Follow Up By: rabbitoh - Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 10:06

Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 10:06
i've been told about the fridge has to be levelled with a spirit level was this an issue for you. We are getting a box made for the fridge and mounting it on the CT with heaps of ventilation.

cheers, john
FollowupID: 659017

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 11:35

Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 11:35
Hi Rabbitoh,

I think you'l find that it really only has to be set up level when running on gas.

We have a Waeco 3 way, 12 volt just works, but on gas at the campsite, set up level, works a treat.

FollowupID: 659023

Follow Up By: Lenticular - Sunday, Nov 15, 2009 at 00:10

Sunday, Nov 15, 2009 at 00:10
Sorry Member. You actually need a 3 way fridge to be dead level regardless of what it is running on when not moving. The refrigerant won't circulate properly. Note that if you are driving, then it is OK- the movement allows circulation to occur. My van fridge is pretty ordinary when not dead level, but works really well when it is level.
FollowupID: 659096

Follow Up By: Member - The Bushwhackers -NSW - Sunday, Nov 15, 2009 at 17:41

Sunday, Nov 15, 2009 at 17:41
Hi Len,

Point taken.

I probably did not word it correctly. I should have said 'level when stationary' rather than just 'when running on gas'

My mistake

FollowupID: 659159

Reply By: nickoff - Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 15:04

Saturday, Nov 14, 2009 at 15:04
Now we need some company to come up with the best of both worlds.

A "T" rated gas fridge with freezer compartment, say about 110 Litre,for use when stationery, and a Danfross DB35 or DB50 compressor system installed for when mobile on the road and vehicle alternator power available.

Have it designed for use in either caravans, utes, or removable for camp sites.

Can stay cool/cold/freezing whist stationery on LPG, and run only on 12DC from Vehicle when travelling. Also to be capable to kick in on 240V AC when near mains power through 240V AC to 12DC converter to run compressor.

No worries about generators, or large solar systems with heavy battery banks.

Run while stationery on a single solar panel say 60 to 80 Watt with a small battery to stabilize supply, supplementing LPG during the day, and at night, when cooler,auto cut-off of 12V to fridge, run purely on LPG.
Small Battery could then run lights only.

So, that's 1 x 80W panel, a small battery and simple regulator, a 240V AC to 12V DC converter, and 1 x 9Kg LPG bottle. Covers Freezer, Fridge, Cooking and lighting.

Would that work for you? Would for me!

Only question is now, chest style or door opening style?

Comments?
AnswerID: 391196