Birdsville Track, Anne Beadell, Connie Sue, old Gunbarrel and Hunt Oil Road

G'day people

Will be heading of from Darwin in a week or so for a trip across to Mt Isa, Down to Birdsville and along the track then up to Oodnadatta and down to Coober Pedy...from there i will be heading of along the Anne Beadell and up the Connie Sue to Warbuton...then a loop along the old Gunbarrel past Mt Beadell and back down the Hunt Oil Road and make my way to Perth for xmas.

Is anyone going to be out and about along any of the above during this time...be great to catch up some where for an ice cold one.

Josh

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 13:49

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 13:49
Need a few ice cold ones for that trip, gunna be bloody hot.
Have fun.

AnswerID: 391393

Reply By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 14:31

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 14:31
mate, am working at a nickel mine just to the south of Turkey Creek...has been in the mid 40's for the last 3 months...can be as hot as it want's at least im not working..im sure a few ice cold Cascade Lights will go down absoulutely magnificently at the end of the day...especially looking down from Mount Beadell...

AnswerID: 391397

Follow Up By: signman - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 13:09

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 13:09
Better you than me mate.
And I reckon you'll be the only 'traveller' out there.
I guess you'll have the air-con on most of the time..so I reckon radiator overheating may be a problem...especailly when 'grinding' along the Anne Beadell. Also, be careful of battery boiling !!

Good luck.

FollowupID: 659391

Reply By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 14:32

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 14:32
Hi Josh
If it was 6 months later, I would say half your luck, but this time of the year it will be very, very hot. The way the temperatures have been here lately, it will be tipping 50 C out in the desert. Adelaide has tipped an all time record with 8 consecutive November days over 35 C (Most days very high 30's and a couple over 40) with Wednesday and Thursday forecasting 41 C.

For safety reasons make sure that you carry extra water. Also be careful at night and do not go bare footed. It is that time of the year when snakes will be active at night, and the last thing you need is a snake bite a long way from anywhere.

You can get good water from a solar bore at Cooper Hill Bore on the Connie Sue. To get you used to some very serious corrugations, you will have a good starter for about 40 kilometres, from Parallel No 2 Road to Mackenzie Breakaways. The Old Gunbarrel corrugations will top the charts.The track will branch from a single vehicle track to 4 tracks in sections, each as bad as the other. Bore not working at Camp Beadell, but a top place to camp. There are some other good hand pumps on the Old Gunbarrel, well signposted.

It is top country out there. When you get to Tjukayirla, ask Andrew for a mud map to check out the caves that he has found. I have submitted a new Trek Note for these, but you will be on the road by the time they are put up on this site. We are back out there again next August, in the cooler weather.

Have a great and safe trip, drink plenty of water to stop dehydration and make sure that your air conditioner is working 110%.

Image Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be FoundImage Could Not Be Found
Who has been here

AnswerID: 391398

Follow Up By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 14:39

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 14:39
Cheers Stephen,

Am well prepared mate, taking 100ltrs water,300ltrs fuel and all required spares etc etc, have the Hf and EPIRB for last resort.

Heard that the bore was busted at camp Beadell (Buckets gone in pump), do you know if this was the case and if so what size are they..if i can i'll get some bits before i go and try and get her running.

Josh
FollowupID: 659261

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen L (Clare SA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 15:08

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 15:08
Hi Josh,
The brass rod on the pup was broken, and the yellow tie downs were holding the rest of the bore section in place. This was the only bore that was not working, the rest were all working fine. From camp Beadell, your last chance to top up is at Geraldton Bore, before you head south on the Hunt. The bore there was also working fine.

Who has been here

FollowupID: 659270

Follow Up By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 15:17

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 15:17
Thanks Stephen,

Bummer,

Would have been great to track down some bits and get her up and running..if anyone out there know's if anything is available some where or has any dimensions for what is required...please let me know, could always chuck the lathe up on the roof rack i suppose......!!!

Josh
FollowupID: 659272

Reply By: MAVERICK(WA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:03

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:03
Therehas bee a fair bit of rain East of kal - mainly localised t/storms but they have dumped a fair bit so you just never know. Enjoy the cold ones.

rgds
Slow down and relax......

AnswerID: 391411

Follow Up By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:15

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:15
Thanks Maverick,

Have been keeping a bit of an eye on the weather down that way...be bloody terrible to get stuck some where and not make it back to work....The weathers turned bad down here......Apparently.

Have a couple of mates who have bought the rights from a Mining Company to go through their old workings out near Laverton, the companies methods were not crash hot so recoveries were up the bleep , the lads are doing quite well, especially the way the gold price is..though they are a bit peeved at the Aussie dollar being so strong.
Am hoping to call through and help drink some of there profits...

Josh
FollowupID: 659285

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 20:16

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 20:16
We did an almost identical trip to yours (Cooper Pedy onwards) in Oct/Nov 2007. Had a spell of hot weather go through and it was 45 degrees in the shade (when you could find shade!) for about 6 days straight. I managed to delaminate all 4 tyres by running lowish pressures in the very hot weather on the heavily corrugated "highways". Didn't cause a problem while I was away but there was some ballooning of the inside walls of the tyres when I got back.

Take plenty of water! On the Anne Beadell there is no water on the SA side. But if you had a problem, then take the road south from Vokes Hill for 100k towards Cook, and you'll come across the large rainwater tanks.
AnswerID: 391436

Follow Up By: Member - Josh J (NT) - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 10:09

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 10:09
Thanks Phil
FollowupID: 659372

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 16:36

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 16:36
Geez Phil

" I managed to delaminate all 4 tyres by running lowish pressures in the very hot weather on the heavily corrugated "highways". Didn't cause a problem while I was away but there was some ballooning of the inside walls of the tyres when I got back. "

You let your guard down there, mate. LOL Now I know all the noise about yer flash tyres was just HOT air....hahahaha
FollowupID: 659419

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 23:18

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 23:18
Gday Willem,
"all the noise about yer flash tyres "
HUH???? What noise was that???
You must have been away when I posted about the delamination in 2006. Goodyear stood by the tyres and replaced them prorata - 44,000km of 4wd trips cost me $600 in tyre wear as they were only half worn.

I thought you'd given up on the MRFs when you said
"In hindsight I erred on the side of tyre choice as the heavy duty cross-ply tyres were unsuited for soft sand driving and I had some issues with small pebbles getting into the casing cavity and puncturing the tubes. I also had the misfortune of spinning the rims on the tyres when at 10psi and thus breaking the valves of the tubes. Lesson learned!"

Didn't you shred one as well?

FollowupID: 659459

Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 07:46

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 07:46
Hello Phil

Throughout my life as an ordinary person I have come to the conclusion that learned ones get real cranky when some fun is made of them and your post proves my point :-)

I am also amused that forum users will take something I have written out of context to justify their own needs. And that could date back to years before. Some have a fascination with trying to make me contradict myself. A sort of tit for tat discussion.

The facts of the matter need not be regurgitated on this forum but I am happy to satisfy your curiosity of the tyre dramas I have had over the years to set the record straight. You may contact me via MM or private email

FollowupID: 659472

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 22:32

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 22:32
Josh

Mate it sounds like a bit of a challenge rather than an enjoyable outback trip.

I hope it all goes well and that your preparation serves you well.

If I had to drive, the bitumen would be the go. But I'd seriously look at the air fares before choosing to drive.

AnswerID: 391680

Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 22:36

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 22:36
At $600 per person return on Qantas its cheaper than the fuel, tyres, depreciation of vehicle etc
FollowupID: 659605