Mounting trailbike channel on Jayco hawk 'A' frame (outback model)

Submitted: Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 13:07
ThreadID: 73786 Views:4906 Replies:7 FollowUps:8
Has anyone done this?
I beleive that if fabricating a carrier on the rear would involve re-registering as the total length has increased.

I would like to know if anyone currently has a trailbike channel on the a-frame and see pics if possible.

Towball weight would be increased by the bikes weight but couba be compensated by packing more towards the rear of the camper.

Any thoughts would be appreciated.

Rob

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:34

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:34
Hi Rob
we have a dove outback and I know some where in the book there is a limit to the amount of weight it can carry @ the rear.
yes I have seen bikes tied to carriers fixed to the spare tyre. no sure of the legalities, probably would differ in each state.
our came with the "dinghy" rack. so what i did was purchase an extra rack from the jayco dealer, cut to size allowing for the roof slope and screw in the middle of the roof, between the other 2.
then purchased from bunnings steel, broom handle size, rods, inserted these in pipe insulation and then used, saddles, to screw length wise along/over the 3 boat racks.
then was just a case of putting the bike, horizontally over this frame. keeps the profile low & easier to tie down.
hope this helps.
cheers Tom
AnswerID: 391413

Reply By: Member - Tom V (WA) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:37

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:37
Hi Rob
just rereading yr query, not sure if u mean, pedal power of motor power, trailbike. ???
I answered, pedal power. ???
cheers Tom
AnswerID: 391414

Reply By: johntoyo - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:38

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 17:38
Check out the Fiamma web site and products. They supply an A fame and rear mounted units. Made from aluminium so main weight is the bikes themselves.

Not the cheapest, but they are good quality and meet most needs. Might even give you an idea of what works if your into making your own.

http://www.fiamma.com/

AnswerID: 391415

Follow Up By: Member - John - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 19:11

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 19:11
for pushbikes, not trail bikes, surely?

FollowupID: 659300

Follow Up By: johntoyo - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 00:54

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 00:54
There rated to a total of 60kg.
FollowupID: 659350

Reply By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 19:54

Monday, Nov 16, 2009 at 19:54
How heavy is the trailbike and where are you intending to take the van with this greatly increased ball weight.

Methinks you will end up cracking the A frame in front of the body and then say OH wonder what did that

Adding that amount of weight will greatly add to the payload so you might have to leave stuff behind to stay legal..

Just a couple of thoughts.

AnswerID: 391431

Reply By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 11:44

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 11:44
Have done it a Swan outback and mate has done it to normal Hawk. Have also done it to the rear as well. Quite easy to do. Where are you based??

AnswerID: 391485

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 11:56

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 11:56
Hi Grizzle,
I'm in Melbourne. I have one of the channels that I bolt into my 6x4 trailer and was thinking of mounting that on the A-frane. The bike is a Honda xr400 120kg approx.

Are you able to post some pictures please?

Rob
FollowupID: 659382

Reply By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 12:36

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 12:36
Will take some tonight. I am in the Eastern suburbs of Melbourne if to need to look see. Xr400 no worries. I took XR400 and Suzuki DRZ400.

AnswerID: 391492

Reply By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 12:47

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 12:47
Will try tonight, I am in Eastern suburbs of Melbourne (Lysterfield) if you want to look at them

AnswerID: 391494

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 12:49

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 12:49
Thanks heaps.
FollowupID: 659387

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 22:20

Wednesday, Nov 18, 2009 at 22:20
Grizzle,
Any chance of posting those pics please?

Rob
FollowupID: 659602

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 10:50

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 10:50
Sorry Rob,

been away for long weekend up SA border country. Will jump onto it. Or you are welcome to drop in for look see

FollowupID: 660359

Follow Up By: Grizzle - Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 14:43

Thursday, Nov 26, 2009 at 14:43
Took pics last night Rob but no too clear. Channel is 1.2 Gal folded up resting on 75 x 25 RHS. Two legs of RHS fit in to the brackets on the rear of the van where the rear bar normally goes. The bike carrier over the A frame is same design but with no legs. This is just clamped across the A frame.

FollowupID: 660682

Follow Up By: Robnicko - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:54

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 22:54
Thanks Grizzle

Rob
FollowupID: 660964