GQ 3L Petrol Starter

Submitted: Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 21:39
ThreadID: 73818 Views:2083 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Does anyone know where to get hold of a starter for the old RB30 for the GQ Patrol?

Many might say to get a commodore one but, in my case at least, they are NOT the same. I have tried that route but the standard one has a nose shroud for the pinion end of the starter, but mine does not and cannot as it would foul with the bell housing.

I have done 380,000km with absolutely nothing going wrong until last week. I started looking at new small cars and all of a sudden, she goes dead.

My solenoid seems to be the major fault, but the rest of it is tired too. All my local places say either "no can't get one" or "use a commydoor one". Neither being acceptable. I got a price from the local Nissan dealer and they said it would be $1600 if they could get one, but I think they didn't understand the question. I am not sure the car is even worth that much as I would need to be looking at upgrades elsewhere on it and where do you stop then?

There are quite a few on here that have either had or still own one of these mighty vehicles with the little six.

Cheers Cam

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 23:02

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 23:02
Try asking herehttp://www.patrol4x4.com/
Cheers Dave...
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 391567

Reply By: dbish - Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 23:40

Tuesday, Nov 17, 2009 at 23:40
I would get aquote for a recondition starter from an auto electrical place or get yours reconed.
AnswerID: 391570

Reply By: Member - BUNDY BOY (WA) - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 08:17

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 08:17
Cam .
have the same rb30.not a problem getting it recoed or auto elecs fixing it unshore were you are but wouldnt think any good sparky could help.....but youve done some miles..bout time to get it overhauled anyway.....ooo i dont have a heat sheald eather never a prob
CHEERS BUNDY
AnswerID: 391714

Follow Up By: Camoco - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 21:11

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 21:11
I have bitten the bullet and a mate who is a mobile auto 'leccy is coming around tomorrow. I don't normally allow anything but my hands into the guts of this car.

As has been suspected, these motors had 3 types of starter that were different enough to be a problem. The Hitachi that I have has a common fault that he was all too aware of. They typically only last about what mine has.

It is not going to be rebuilt but have the offending part replaced. He reckons it should be good for another 400k and I have had it a part a few times this week and the wear is still only minimal so I reckon he's right.

Only time will tell how things go.
I think the unit that is the same as the Commodore is of lesser quality and hence gets replaced sooner. The reason I think my units are hard (read impossible) to get, is that the engines probably die before the starter does. Thereby negating the need for Nissan to carry stocks and Repco for making copies. One can only wonder why Nissan had to have different bellhousings though as that is the limiting factor for my problem.

As this is a city car, she has had more than a few starts, and I use it to putter around the house a bit moving stuff and that also means many starts. My average journey would only be about 10k's at most now, so it doesn't take a genius to figure that the last 100,000 has been tough for the starter. It's a testament to Hitachi in my book.

As far as the engine needing an overhaul, it is only just broken in by my reckoning for a 3 litre Nissan (petrol anyway). I am going to keep looking for a buzz box though :)

Cheers Cam
FollowupID: 659754

Reply By: KennyBWilson - Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 09:00

Thursday, Nov 19, 2009 at 09:00
When my alternator went up in smoke 2 days after getting it reconditioned I limped it to Ceduna where the sparky used one from VL commodore , he swapped the pulleys around

Mine was a GQ 4.2 PETROL
AnswerID: 391720