Help with getting maps from the internet for oziexplorer

Submitted: Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:18
ThreadID: 73868 Views:4005 Replies:6 FollowUps:12
This thread is very like the oziexplorer one previously posted but I though it would reach a wider audience and therefore get more appropriate responses as a thread on it own.

I have Oziexplorer but need more detailed maps than the Hema ones that we came with the indash unit from VMS.

Any help is greatly appreciated in downloading (preferably legally free of course) maps from the internet.

Reply By: Member - Andrew (QLD) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:22

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:22
Which particular area are you looking at Phil, as this makes a huge difference to any recommendations. ;)

AnswerID: 391851

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:41

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:41
True Andrew. There are mainly two areas at the moment.Cape York for next July. I need details of tracks and roads other than the usual the CREB, Starckie etc tracks. The other is Camerons Corner area and the Channel country. I think its too late for our victorian high country trip next week. But if you can help great.

Hows that for a start.Cape York and the corner country around Camerons Corner.

FollowupID: 659779

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:39

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:39

As said above, it depends what you need from your mapping.

I run Natmap Raster 250K 2008 edition Mosaic which has reasonable detail when driving this big land. The Double CD costs $99. It is too large to download from the Internet (I think)

Then there are Shonky Maps but I have no direct knowledge of them.

Here is a LINK for further education

It is probably more advantageous to buy your mapping and not rely of Shareware or Freebie maps.

AnswerID: 391852

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:45

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 07:45
Hey Willem. Good to hear from you again.

Yes I agree. In other words "you get what you pay for". Know what you mean. But having just spent heaps on things I would like to minimise the cost. I will check out that CD.

FollowupID: 659780

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:02

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:02
Phil and Sue, one of the benefits of membership of EO is that others may contact you. When you do that relationships are established and referrals too. I was given a pointer to some downloadable NSW maps two weeks ago, and told the source of others at either 25,000:1 or 100,000:1 which are good for my VMS. Much more detail than the 250,000:1 that Willem is talking about.

For your HC trip next week, there are some excellent Roof Top maps readily available but the NRE maps are good too, which are in Mosaic form for a laptop or map x map in ozfx3 format.

G'day Bro, hope you guys are well there. I don't want the heat that you get outside there, we actually got a good thunder storm here a few weeks back that has kept us green, or mostly that way. Of course I did a 'fuel reduction' 40 minutes before it, which worked out well. Hope we get some more over this weekend.

FollowupID: 659782

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:21

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:21
John,

How'd you go with those maps I sent you ? Not overly detailed but sufficient for most of your requirements I hope.

Al
FollowupID: 659783

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:45

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:45
Al, terrific thank you. I will send you some info and stuff. Gotta go to Mildura today, but need to burn a couple of DVDs. May give you a call later to while away the hours to Mildura. Hope you have a Telstra phone.
FollowupID: 659784

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:27

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:27
maybe not exactly legal but i have A map swap thing going with a guy at work
Ive got some maps he doesnt and hes got some i dont
- now we both have quite a bit
its simple copy and past
FollowupID: 659788

Follow Up By: Who was that again? (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:51

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 09:51
A lady said to me she knew all about copywrite. It was all about the right to copy. I don't think she understood the responsibilities under law. She did know how to back up a copy I guess.
FollowupID: 659791

Follow Up By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 10:40

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 10:40
John,

No worries. Telstra OK. I'll be sitting here in the air conditioning all day, currently 31 feels like 33 and expecting 41. Glad I've got the day off.

There's a few sources of FREE and LEGAL maps on the Internet, it just takes a bit of looking.

FollowupID: 659793

Reply By: Dunedigger - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:13

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:13
I often scan maps in and if to large, join them using photoshop. They then just need calibrating. Most times I get quite good results.

Even the maps in 4Wd magazines after being scanned in are useful in planing a trip although they are never quite sharp, but useful for placing waypoints , turns and points of interest.

The joining up takes time, sometimes having to slightly rotate the scanned image, if it has not been put on the scanner squarely. I joined up the HEMA Victorian High Country map. It was not available in a digital form then.

Duendigger
AnswerID: 391855

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:58

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:58
Thanks Dunedigger,

I recently did a course on Oxiexplorer and after trying others I think Ozi is the best for us. The only thing I must stress is that in no way will I let this map stuff become too big. This is why I will purchase etc instead of mucking around scanning and joining. You go for your life.

Me - well its the bush I like not computers. Thats why we will NEVER have a PC or laptop in the car. The VMS GPS is the closest we will get. Not again.

Computer chats and "Hey Phil how do I do . . . " on amateur radio got me so plain annoyed that I switched off and never went back. The hobby was NOT COMPUTERS.

No doubt I will at some time scan and join them. But only if I cannot purchase them already ready for the GPS.
FollowupID: 659830

Follow Up By: Dunedigger - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 17:00

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 17:00
Arhh, some of the fun is in the planing of a trip using the computer to research my next trip.

I also find using map while in the rough country a much easier way to navigate, mapping errors excepted !

Dunedigger
FollowupID: 659877

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 17:24

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 17:24
I will admit though that the internet is tops for getting info.

But I just put the maps in the VMS gps instead of using the paper ones all the time and use the Moving Map function when on the move. Mind you I still take the paper maps as backup. When stationary we still like laying them out on the bonnet with a rock at each corner and point to where we go next. You get that extra "feeling" of being there.

But I will not be taking a computer. Not interested in any email or anything the computer will give us. Nothing beats stopping and asking the locals. Also no phone. Yippee

We put our itinerary in a book and thats all we use apart from the maps. Not interested in waypoints etc as they are in the map. We may also change our minds as we did in the Kimberley.

See you out there some day.

Thats it. The computer now gets switched off until we get home. Catchyalatr and thanks to all for the info

FollowupID: 659879

Reply By: WBS - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:21

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:21
Phil,
As far as I recall, the Hema Maps used the Natmap base data (back in the 1990's) and then added their own updated information based on their field checking and information gathering processes on top of that base data. They don't however show the contours on their maps. Other than that I beleive them to be more up to date than the Natmap products.

You can download the Natmap maps for free off the Geoscience Australia web site on a map by map basis. You should be aware there are some 540 of these maps that make up the whole of Australia. There is a user registration process involved.

Shonky maps are produced for Garmin Nuvi type in car navigation devices and will not load onto OziExplorer AFAIK.

Each State have their own mappiong data which they release in digital form. A good place to look is in Shop on ExploreOz. None are for free.

There are also Rooftop maps which again will cost.

WBS
AnswerID: 391856

Follow Up By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:23

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:23
Thanks WBS

Looks like I need to check out the Geoscience site and Maps on ExploreOz.

I really do not mind paying but as I said to Dunedigger already, the computing side of all this is not going to be allowed to overtake the real interest which is "getting out there". Map or no map.

I wonder what it will be like the first time I get lost!!! Hmmm No sweat as I take lots of extra stuff anyway.

Just had a chat with geoscience and downloaded a local map. Thanks for th there (2kms away) after this trip and have a chat with them. My old firm did a heap of work for them and they remembered me. Thats luck hey!!!

FollowupID: 659833

Reply By: Gramps - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:24

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:24
Phil,

You can get maps for NSW and Vic from here. Just sign up (free) and check under NSW and Vic forums for free topo maps.

Al
AnswerID: 391857

Reply By: Phil and Sue - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:57

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 08:57
That's excellent each and every one of you. I am just packing the car at the moment for a high country trip and will take all this on board when I get back. I would really like to thank each one individually but the car packing calls.

Excellent work.

AnswerID: 391860