Tyres and Flares for Troopy

Submitted: Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:23
ThreadID: 73872 Views:7009 Replies:4 FollowUps:12
G'day Folks
I've recently bought a Troopy camper that's fitted with 285/65/R17's. Wasn't worried about getting home to Melb from Perth but getting the roadworthy for the change of rego is another matter. The tyres are outside the guards front and back.

A short term fix might be the rubber strip flares but I've seen them on a mate's 70 series and they don't fit too sweetly at the hard corners of the guards. Like the look of the chunkier flares on RV versions but where to source them at a reasonable price.

Most radical solution would be narrower tyres. Most expensive option as well.

So I am wondering what the collective experience and wisdom is here. Anyone been down this track before.

Oh, and searches of threads hasn't provided the info I'm after.

Reply By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:29

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:29
personally Id chuck 16 inch rims back on it on with 265x75x16 tyres
and sell the 17s
AnswerID: 391885

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:30

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:30
and how old is it anyway? pretty sure newer vehicles no longer need to go over the pits to get change of plates
FollowupID: 659804

Follow Up By: Gnomey - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:44

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:44
The Troopy is 2002 and WA plated. Just assumed it would need an RWC to be re-plated in Vic but guess I'm also thinking the problem will need to be resolved sooner or later.
FollowupID: 659812

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:48

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:48
ahhh sorry - mis read
I thought you had taken it to WA. I think in WA if the vehicle is less than 3 years old no RWC needed

I would still change that wheel /tyre combo to something bush freindly

doesnt make alot of sense theve put 17 inch wheels on
dumb qustion but are you sure there 17s?
FollowupID: 659814

Follow Up By: Gnomey - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:57

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:57
Yeah mate, they are 17s - Dunlop AT22s. My usage will be mostly hwy and forestry track stuff with occasional venture onto the beach and modest offroad work. I fish a lot and will usually be a single vehicle convoy - so nothing too extreme is contemplated. Hear you on the bush friendly thing but expect that will be an occasional rather than constant need. Everything is a compromise as you know.

FollowupID: 659817

Follow Up By: get outmore - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:53

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:53
youl will be wanting to go back to the 16s at some stage its just a matter of sooner or later
without pricing them 17s in that size will cost more than 265s and 16 inch rims together. if you sell them now with tread they will still be worth a bit of cash

You may not even be able to get a RWC with those wheels as they are bigger than on the tyre placard
FollowupID: 659829

Reply By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:40

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 12:40
G'day Gnomey,

I run 285/75/r16's on my Troopy. A set of TJM fibreglass flares fixed the
problem of the tyres protruding outside the body of the wagon.

About $500.oo ish from memory, then of course need to fit and paint.

Michael
AnswerID: 391886

Follow Up By: Gnomey - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:01

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:01
G'day Michael
Thanks for the flares pointer. Will follow up. Wondering if you are running ATs and how you like the ones you've got? (Next change for me would probably be Bridgestone 693 or 694.)

FollowupID: 659818

Follow Up By: Member - Michael J (SA) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:23

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:23
Tyres.....hmmmm dangerous ground Gnomey..lol lol

I am running Cooper STT on 16 x 8" rims. Everybody will have different opinions
and I guess what you are happy with is all that counts.

I know some people that have done really hard yards with Coopers and are quite satisfied with them, and I know some that do not like them.

Happy with mine.

Michael
FollowupID: 659826

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:01

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:01
hahaha micheal.
FollowupID: 659962

Reply By: Member - redust..... (SEQ) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:08

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:08
hi Mark, I saw some troopy fibreglass flares for sale on toyotabits.com the other day, might be worth a look, redust
AnswerID: 391889

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:32

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 13:32
ARB & TJM both have fibreglass flares for the 78 Series.
There are a few other manufacturers that also do them, try a Google search.

Agree with the above about 17" wheels, maybe better to dump them and fit 16" in 265 or 285.

AnswerID: 391892

Follow Up By: Gnomey - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 23:57

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 23:57
Hmm. No doubting where the weight of opinion lies. So if it's 16x8 rims I'm chasing are there any suggestions on best options? Would happily swap 17" white sunraysia style wheels for 16". Are the standard 5 stud 100 series wheels suitable?

FollowupID: 659925

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 00:03

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 00:03
I use white ROH Trak 2 wheels currently with 265 x 75 R16 BFG Muddies.
Will shortly be changing to 285 x 75 R16.

The ROH wheels are about $100.00 each so not a bad option.

FollowupID: 659926

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 00:14

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 00:14
I should have added that I have 6 off 265x75 R16 BFG Allterrains fitted to ROH 16 x 7" wheels for sale.
Tyres have about 75 to 85 percent remaining if your interested?

Since your coming back to Melb they may be another option to consider??

Let me know your email details and we can chat about them.

FollowupID: 659927

Follow Up By: Gnomey - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 09:25

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 09:25
G'day John
As a non-member the system won't let me PM you. I get a sudden influx of spam every time I input the email addy to websites - eg carsales and gumtree.

I live just outside Melb. The landline is 03 5368 6597. Happy to talk. Sounds like you might be flaring and maybe changing rims as well to get those 285/75/16's on.

FWIW further info on tyre sizes etc. Comparison of 265/75/16 with 285/65/17 shows little difference in tyre circumference (2519.9mm v. 2524.5mm). Can't find my tyre placard but might see what the RWC tester says as my next move. Flares to be added.

Much appreciate all the responses. Thanks guys.

FollowupID: 659943