Which Dual / Crew Cab for Kids and Bush on a tight budget?

Submitted: Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 14:51
ThreadID: 73878 Views:7291 Replies:10 FollowUps:23
Hi Guys,

Questions I need help with please, never owned a dual / crew cab before.

Needs:
1. to be dual / crew cab and 4x4.
2. to be able to fit a baby seat and two booster seats. (3 child seats all up).
2. needs to be reliable, (the cook will be driving it most of the time).
3. needs to cope with the heat and red dust, moving out near Bourke in Western NSW.
4. needs bullbar.
5. to be diesel, turbo would be best.
6. to be $20,000 or less.

I'm as Confused as a baby in a topless bar ............... why your ask ???????

People are telling me stay basic,
1. Mahindra
2. Courier
3. Rodeo
4. Hilux

With research i've done this is what i can get:
2007 mahindra 40,000klms $18990
2004 - 2006 courier 50 - 80klms about $21k
2002 - 2004 rodeo 70 - 100klms $20k
1999 - 2003 hilux 80 - 130klms $20k

Can someone pint me in the right direction?
I like the indian built machine because of room in the cab for all occupants....

smithy.

Reply By: signman - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:06

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:06
I bought an ex-cop (2000) Dual Cab Rodeo 4WD.
Came with B/bar, Warn Winch, L/R fuel tank, H/R towbar and a few other accessories.

Did many trips incl. Simpson, Beadell Roads, Tassie etc.

Was (is) a very comfortable, reliable, tough vehicle.

AnswerID: 391909

Follow Up By: signman - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:08

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:08
Should have added....I bought it thru the Auctions !!

FollowupID: 659846

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:15

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:15
can i ask what auctions and in what state?

thankx for the reply.
FollowupID: 659851

Reply By: Nath'n'Lynz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:11

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:11
Hi there.

We have a 2003 Mazda bravo 2.5lt T/D. Spacecab
(Same as Courier just different badge) had it from new.
Hasn't missed a beat so far.

Lynz
AnswerID: 391912

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:16

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:16
thankx lynz,

sounds promising, how many klms on it now?
FollowupID: 659852

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:38

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:38
Hey.
Just hit 120,000kms.
We have also had the Diesel gas conversion on now for 5 months. We did it simply for more power when 4wding. Huge difference aye, drives like a petrol now!
Lynz
FollowupID: 659858

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 21:36

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 21:36
thanks, appreciated, good to know.
FollowupID: 659908

Follow Up By: JohnnyBoy113 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 22:29

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 22:29
Hey Lynz,
What is the difference in mileage now you have the gas conversion done and what was the cost of this. I have a diesel now after having all petrol cars and would love a boost in power with out sacrificing fuel economy.
FollowupID: 659920

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 11:27

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 11:27
Hey Johnny.

We did the conversion just before the goverment scheme ran out it so it cost 3,000 and we got 2,200 back.
As for economy it hasn't made a huge difference as it only uses 20% gas and 80% Diesel. But like i said we did it purley for toque, being a little 2.5 litre it was a little sluggish 4wding. The difference really is quite noticable on and off the road.

What sort of car do you have ? Does it have a turbo ?

Lynz
FollowupID: 659959

Follow Up By: JohnnyBoy113 - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:15

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:15
Hey Linz,

I have a new Colorado with the 3litre turbo diesel motor. It is a lot better on fuel than my petrol rodeo using 10 litres per hundred rather then 15 and 16s. The power is quite ok but it is a little slow off the mark.

FollowupID: 659964

Follow Up By: Nath'n'Lynz - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 14:19

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 14:19
Hey again.

10 litres per 100km's is pretty good, i think we were getting around 12-13 fully loaded with camping gear. We also have steel tray, steel bullbar, long range tank ect... So not too bad really...

Taking off is where i notice the most difference, instead of being left behind at the lights i'm now able to keep up ! :)
I'm not sure about the gas scheme anymore but if it's still in place then it's definatley something to consider.

Lynz
FollowupID: 659975

Reply By: Member - Porl - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:16

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:16
I got a 2000 Hilux dual cab diesel, got one baby seat in the back and one booster seat, can't see room for another baby seart or booster seat, and there's certainly no 3rd connection for a teather strap behind the back seat.

2 very thin non-thethered (therefore of questionably safety) boosters might be able to be squeezed plus a baby seat but you better take 'em all down and try it out before you buy.
AnswerID: 391913

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:19

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:19
thankx porl,

thats the feedback i need, no use buying it if it aint gonna fit the kids....
but i will try the seats before i buy, definately.

gr8 vehicle otherwise?

FollowupID: 659854

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:22

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:22
yeah love it death, except on steep hills.

Being non-turbo I get the 3l/100km better economy than the turbo. I just get there a little slower.

And it is as basic as I think you can get, though as the 2000+ model has an EFI engine I did splurge and get a chip for it that certainly put a lot more poke in the pre-3000rpm rev range.

I had a 3.4L V6 petrol prado before it and don't miss it at all.

But go to the overlander forum for me advice too. Some people hate the non-turbo hilux and some luv them. Don't buy it though if you are ever thinking of towing a caravan.
FollowupID: 659856

Follow Up By: Member - Porl - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:23

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:23
and one more thing with the 1998 - 2004 hiluxes, soundproofing like almost zero.

That said, nothing puts my baby quicker to sleep than the diesel hilux.

So may be an annoying issue if you do a lot of dirt road commuting in it. though you can beef it up but of course just another factor to consider.
FollowupID: 659870

Reply By: Honky - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:19

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:19
Note that you are not allowed to have a baby capsule in the front seat especially with airbags.

Honky
AnswerID: 391914

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:19

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:19
yeh i know that, thanks anyway.
FollowupID: 659868

Reply By: Mogul - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:38

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:38
I have a 2003 RA Rodeo.

In the back we have a baby seat and a full size booster seat. There is no way you could fit another booster sit. Even if you are using the small booster seat, which is basically just the base.

I can't see you finding any mid size 4WD that will fit the three seats, you might have to look at upsizing into a Patrol or Landcruiser.
AnswerID: 391915

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 21:39

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 21:39
just sold a patrol, but need a d/cab ute.
thanks anyway, i'll keep searching.
FollowupID: 659909

Reply By: NRE - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:47

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 15:47
Just a suggestion. Have a look at Great Wall Dual Cabs. NEW price is abt $26,990. Have a dealer friend who says they are performing very well with no warranty issues etc. so they may be worth having a look at - at least you'll have a new vehicle for not many more dollars.
I'm from Dubbo so they have been sold in the area you are looking at moving to.
I have no affiliation with the dealer . He's just a mate and we were talking about them in the pub the other night.
AnswerID: 391917

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:27

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:27
need diesel, but thanks anyway.
FollowupID: 659871

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:27

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:27
NRE
Great Wall came up with the second worst ratingamongst the utes on the ANCAP safety test. Behind only the little Proton ute. I wouldn't recommend it as a carriage to cart the kids around in.

teege
FollowupID: 659872

Follow Up By: paulnsw - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 19:00

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 19:00
and the Nissan Navara is about the same possibly 3rd on the list. Last time looked an air bag software upgrade was going to get them over 1 star
FollowupID: 659896

Follow Up By: disco driver - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 20:06

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 20:06
And have the Toyota L/Cruisers, Ute, Troopy and the newish 4 door Troopy thingy ever been rated????

If so I've never seen the figures.

Are there any available anywhere???

Disco.
FollowupID: 659902

Follow Up By: Member - Teege (NSW) - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 07:42

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 07:42
Disco
I just had a good look at the ANCAP site/s. You seem to make a very valid point. The NZ arm of the organisation appears to have done more in this field than our own, but they have only tested the "middle of the range" (for want of a better description), such as the Triton, Navara, Courier, Hilux, rodeo/colorado,etc. No one seems to have tested the Landcruiser or Patrol utes or their derivatives. Another interesting aspect is that they don't do the tests annually on each vehicle.NZ results

teege
FollowupID: 659937

Reply By: Stu & "Bob" - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:06

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 16:06
How about this one?

Landcruiser dual cab
AnswerID: 391921

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:30

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:30
i lke it but cook doesn't want to drive it apparently......

she reckons she'll need to upgrade her drivers licence!

plus maybe a few too many klms.

FollowupID: 659967

Reply By: bushy04 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 19:11

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 19:11
Hey Nugget 6 ,was at the Auctions about 3 weeks ago and 2006 couriers were going for 14 to 16 grand ex Govt.
That was at Manhiem Fowles in Melb so you should be able to get a good one that way, these vech had 40 to 90K .
Bushy
AnswerID: 391939

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 21:41

Friday, Nov 20, 2009 at 21:41
thanks bushy, i'll be looking into that, sounds like the goods to me,
cheers.
FollowupID: 659910

Reply By: oz doc - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 09:51

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 09:51
Hey Nugget6- can I ask how old your children are? The reason I ask is that when ours were young, and big bulky booster seats were a problem- we used a harness that fits onto a normal seatbelt(either lap sash or lap belt) and converts it into a 5 point harness for restraint of littlies. This meant they were legally and safely strapped in, just not in an elevated position. I wonder if this may ben an alternative to trying to fit 3 bulky seats into the back of a dual cab. We have a rodeo by the way. One thing that influenced our decision was the back seat room and ride comfort as voted for by the kids when we did a test drive. Our kids voted the Hilux as the worst back seet of all the dual cabs we tried. They didn't like the Triton either.Food for thought.doc.
AnswerID: 391965

Follow Up By: Nugget6 - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:35

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 12:35
kids vary in range,
oldest 3, next 1 and one on the way.......... still baking.........
we have 2 safe n sound ahr full boosters and a safe n sound royale carseat.
will have to see how we go but thanks for the thoughts.
what model rodeo you have?
FollowupID: 659968

Follow Up By: oz doc - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 19:53

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 19:53
08- the last one before the Colerado.doc.
FollowupID: 660015

Reply By: get outmore - Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 20:38

Saturday, Nov 21, 2009 at 20:38
as far as a go anywhere 4by is involved the hilux is in another class from the others
youve just got to look at them side by side to pick it straight off.

oddles of clearance straight out the factory

id also look at the Tritons around 05. tried and tested 3.00l donks

like the rest (besides hilux) they could do with a lift and back seats leave alot to be disired. However we used them for exploration in the East pilbara and they certainly struck me as tuff. as much as i wanted to hate them i couldnt
AnswerID: 392071