Help Please

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 13:18
ThreadID: 73918 Views:3120 Replies:6 FollowUps:7
Thinking of buying a 2002 Nissan Navara single cab utility for $ 12000 , Just wondering if anyone knows of any common problems . its done 140000 km and its a D22 motor .
Now is the only time you own
Decide now what you will,
Place faith not in tomorrow
For the clock may then be still

Reply By: ctaplin - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 16:22

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 16:22
Hi Lyndon,

Just Google "Nissan D22 engine problems"and you'll get a fair idea.
Apparently they are a bit of a grenade like the ZD30 in the Patrols...

AnswerID: 392194

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:00

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:00
Hi Chris
Thanks for the link. It's for a mate from work. I told him I thought it was like the 3 ltr Nissan Patrol. BOOM
Cheers Lyndon

FollowupID: 660108

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 10:22

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 10:22
See my reply below

Donks
FollowupID: 660200

Reply By: ctaplin - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 16:26

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 16:26
The Infamous D22 Engine Problem
AnswerID: 392195

Reply By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:05

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:05
Search down the bottom of the page, 2002 Nissan Navara
Hope this helps you.

AnswerID: 392212

Follow Up By: Member - Donks1 (NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:22

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:22
G'day Hairs

That link is to a Euro site, where they have D22 Navaras with the YD25 engine, NOT the zd30 we had here.
ZD30's IN NAVARAS had very few problems. Not like their big brother, the Patrol

FollowupID: 660134

Follow Up By: Hairs & Fysh (NSW) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 06:48

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 06:48
Cheers mate,
Don't realize, I was given the link, I didn't read it thoroughly, Sorry.
:(
FollowupID: 660172

Reply By: Member - Richard L (WA) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:09

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:09
Lyndon
I have a 2002 dc done 190,000K's not one problem and get around 11k's/litre
The problems with the d22 were pre 2002
However I should stress I have had the vehicle since new and looked after it...I don't mean its not used (have done the Canning stock route for example) but I no some people who tend to thrash the guts out of these small motors (up round 3500 to 4000 rpm on a regular basis) I would very rarely go above 3000
So I guess it's down to the old story of PREVIOUS HISTORY

AnswerID: 392213

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:33

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 20:33
Hi Richard
Was there a specific build before date that he should be looking at?

FollowupID: 660128

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:17

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:17
Tell him to buy a Troopy :-)

AnswerID: 392239

Follow Up By: Member - lyndon NT - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 23:18

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 23:18
I think so too! Everyone should have at least one :-)

FollowupID: 660160

Reply By: Ross H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 10:16

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 10:16
Hi Lyndon

I have a 2002 model and it has over 200000km on the clock, had it since new and has been great. As Richard said above if looked after they are a great car.
Only complaint is not much leg room for tall people.
Mine has been chipped up for over 100000km now, has a larger garret turbo and goes like a cut snake ( if you want to drive that way).
I tow a 1 1/2 ton camper as well with no worries at all.
I know of people with the same car that drive it like they stole it and then wonder why they have problems. All cars have problems if abused.
With any diesel keep the oil and filters clean and I only fuel at BP where possible and with those km on a small engine it doesn't blow smoke like a lot of newer one you see getting around.

Regards Rossco
AnswerID: 392303

Follow Up By: Member - Richard L (WA) - Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 13:56

Tuesday, Nov 24, 2009 at 13:56
Ross
Exactly.....use don't abuse

Just out of interest I went for diesalgas as opposed to a chip and like you the difference is amazing plus i'm getting 12k's/litre round town

FollowupID: 660376