Nissan Patrol 3Lt TD reliability

Submitted: Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 17:46
ThreadID: 73920 Views:15873 Replies:16 FollowUps:5
Hi Everyone,
This question may have been flogged to death but I am considering a Nissan Patrol 3Lt turbo diesel wagon to use to tow a 18 - 20 ft van.
Can anyone help me with info on this 4x4's reliability and economy.
I have heard the pre 2002 models were a lemon in the engine department.
All responses appreciated with thanks.
Peter.

Reply By: Member - Patrick (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 17:54

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 17:54
Hi Peter,

I have a manual 2003 ST-L which I had since new. I have used it for off-road travel but these days just for towing our 19 van. It gets serviced every 5,000 Klms to ensure that it performs to the highest standards.

The only problem that I have had was the turbo going while still under warranty which was replaced by Nissan without any fuss.

The kilometers now are just on 100,000 and it is running the best it has.

The GU11 had the engine problem and reduced oil capacity which was fixed on my GU111.

They are a strong vehicle and will look after you if you look after it.

Good luck.

Patrick
AnswerID: 392209

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:19

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:19
I had a 2003 GU III ST-L and although the problem was supposedly fixed by

the very hitech shorter dipstick, mine still only took the original amount of oil.

Part of the reason I sold it, before it went BOOM.

FollowupID: 660306

Reply By: Paul G K (vic) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:00

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:00
I suggest you look up some of the patrol sites and ask the question and do a search of the forum on this site

Regards Paul
AnswerID: 392210

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:37

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:37
Check here
2007 3lt failure
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 392217

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:41

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 18:41
That didn't work for some reason, Try here.
www.patrol4x4.com
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 660112

Reply By: Member - Warwick D (SA) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 19:43

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 19:43
Greetings, I have a 2002-3, 3 litre turbo diesel. I have been all over the Flinders Ranges and Gammon Ranges. Never a sign of a problem. Cheapest vehicle I have ever owned to operate. Also driven by my son, daughter, son in law. I use it for everything, carrying awkward gear, towing etc. I do not thrash it. I am happy with my purchase. This vehicle does not owe me anything. I hope this helps in your decision.WD
AnswerID: 392224

Reply By: carlj - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:52

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:52
I hate to be the odd one out but at 141000 km my 30zd let go it is a 2000 model which was serviced every 5000 without fail.The Nissan dealer gave me number 3 piston with a hole in it and commented the the rest of the engine was like brand new no sign of wear. After getting it back and towing a 6x4 trailer from Brisbane to Proserpine and back,got to Gympie when an all mighty bang no not the engine but 5th gear do I trust the 3lt not a chance.The only reason I haven't got rid of it is it owes we a fortune and no one wants them.What would I buy instead I really don't Know!!!!!!!!!!
ps. I have towed a small van and get between 16-17 lt per 100km
AnswerID: 392244

Follow Up By: carlj - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:57

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 21:57
Last we I had my mechanic ring and ask what were the signs when it let go I told him ,he thanked me as he had a 2006 just bought in with missing and blowing smoke good by to $10500.00
FollowupID: 660138

Reply By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:18

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:18
My father bought a 2000 model 3.0 in 2004, it had about 100000.
Replaced dual mass flywheel and clutch at 120000, gearbox at 190000 (5th gear), and at 220000k's the head cracked causing coolant to fill a cylinder chamber, hydraulic locking the motor after it was parked for a week.
He traded it on a new 2008 model (this was in mid 2009, on another 3.0) off the back of the tow truck after he was offered $22500 with the dud motor.
The new one with common rail doesn't seem to go as good as the old one and uses more fuel, being new he feels that it's tight in the motor and will come good, and he's happy with it, I'm not sure how big he's caravan is but it will in the 18-20 footer category.
There are plenty people here with first hand experience with the $15000 engine failure, mainly caused by a sensor!!, will have NOTHING to do with the 3.0, heaps of them are running around the bush with no problems what so ever, but the one's that have failed have failed most expensively.
Shane
AnswerID: 392250

Follow Up By: Member - Shane D (QLD) - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:24

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:24
. . . oh yeah, around 140-150000k's, It kept blowing intercooler hose's but it went like f. . . up the hills, even with the caravan, so I told him get it checked!, the wastegate valve was faulty making it was over boost and he was lucky he didn't blow his up then
FollowupID: 660149

Reply By: GerryP - Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:25

Sunday, Nov 22, 2009 at 22:25
Hi Peter,

No, I don't own one, but from what I have read (and there's plenty about this subject all over the internet), it seems the main cause of failure is over-fuelling combined with over-boosting. This can apparently happen if the MAF sensor gets dirty, which in turn causes the computer to behave incorrectly.

If you purchase a 3Lt version, I would recommend that you fit both an EGT (exhaust gas temperature) gauge as well as a boost gauge so you can at least keep an eye out for over boosting or high EGT's and hopefully avoid any serious issues.

Alternatively, there are kits available which will convert the computerised system to a more standard type, thus also avoiding the problems described above.

Gerry
AnswerID: 392254

Reply By: Member - Malcolm (Townsville) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 00:36

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 00:36
Hi Peter

What Gerry says is spot on. (That other thing is a 'Dawes Valve'. It is a manual system to control the amount of boost to the turbo)

I used to have a 2003 ZD30 auto and towed a 20' Regent van for about 30K (had that car from 100-150K) absolutely terrific - no problems. I decided to upgrade to a 2005 ZD30 auto with 108K on the clock - what a bloody lemon - do a search on this forum for 'four cracked pistons'. Needless to say I no longer own it after coming home on the back of a tow truck four times in 12 months (one was my fault - by accident put vortex in tank).

My recommendation. Make sure you get one that has had regular book servicing, still under warranty and then take out the GENUINE Nissan extended warranty before the 3 years runs out.

I really liked my first ZD30 and couldn't understand what all the fuss was about. Because of the last year I want to forget I ever owned one!

Malcolm

living the 'good life'

AnswerID: 392266

Reply By: Motherhen - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 00:40

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 00:40
Hi Peter

Ours is January 2002 model and auto. The improved version came out October 2001 onwards. It has towed our Bushtracker caravan (heavy) on two holidays, including around Tasmania, and did it well. Still going strong at 140,000 + kms. The limiting factor for us was the auto gearbox only being rated to tow 2.5 tonne - caravan TARE 2.22 tonne, so we couldn't even fill the water tanks or we'd have been over legal weight. We fitted boost and EGT gauges, so if either was heading too high, just cut back on the pedal and it came back down, thus not stressing the motor. Very happy with the vehicle.

Do you want auto or manual? What weight will the caravan be - fully laden? What weight will entire rig be fully laden, including you and any passengers? Check all these against the specifications and make sure you have a safety margin. This applies to what ever tow vehicle you use, as a lot of rigs out there would be over the load limit.

AnswerID: 392267

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 00:48

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 00:48
Do yourself a favour and do a site search on here for 3.0 Litre Nissan or ZD30 and have a real good read before you decide.

Its a whole lot of heartache if your one of the unlucky ones :-(

AnswerID: 392268

Reply By: fisho64 - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 01:29

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 01:29
Even if they didnt blow up, they are inefficient (use more fuel than a 1HD-FTE) gutless (30% less power than the 1HD-FTE). Have a 4speed auto (who thought of that?) and have a pitiful resale value.
Cutting edge technology? They "improved" them with common rail injection. Check out for yourself what the increase in power was.
Zippo.
1HD-FTE is old tech, basic early electronic injection control but craps all over this.
Many people seem to have an opinion of this engines origin (including me), but no company seems to want to put up its hand and claim it.
Why would they?
If they wont-why would you?
AnswerID: 392270

Reply By: OREJAP - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 09:16

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 09:16
You are playing Russian roulette if you are buying a secondhand Patrol IMHO (Having had one & traded it) The 5 speed Did 3.2 I/c T/D Pajero GLS was what I bought & it leaves the Nissan product for dead in performance & reliability & She who must be obeyed loved to drive it where she struggled with the big patrol at times. Maybe the secret with patrols is like some cars on LPG..drive them until 120,000km & then get rid of them before any trouble. Patrols are like noses....everybody got one so parts are easy to come by...(only joking) ....horses for courses I suppose if you want to tow your van at 60 to 80 k/pH everywhere & not overtake anything buy a 3 ltr diesel auto patrol. Take the newspaper with you to cover up the headlamps so the vehicle won't see the hills coming up!!! The Pajero has a 5 speed auto and the triptronic box so you can flick it across and drive the vehicle like a manual if you wish...great for towing. Test drive a diesel auto Pajero with your van on the back. We did and were pleasantly surprised how good it was especially up & down hills.
AnswerID: 392288

Reply By: whitiepatrol4x4 - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 13:47

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 13:47
Hi Peter,

If you are buying second hand, motor wise, I would look at series III and above and IMHO, the autos have the edge as they tend to have an easier life due to the torque multiplication of the torque converter. Also, no dual mass flywheel to change at a later stage either.

The Jatco 4 speed box has been around for a long time and is tried and proven. As such, there a a couple of very inexpensive mods for this gearbox to make it a very good performer and provide things like - the ability to lock up the torque converter in any gear and another mod that alters the gearboxes line pressure to shift so towing is much more pleasurable for the driver and the gearbox.

With the lockup torque converter mod. you have the equivalent of up to eight gears to choose from (eg. 1st, 1st lockup, 2nd, 2nd lockup, 3rd, 3rd lockup, O/D, O/D lockup).

The auto box is also set up well for touring as it makes the motor rev at around 2350rpm @ 110kph in O/D but as most people tow large vans in drive or 4th gear, in that circumstance, the auto will rev a little higher than the manual (200rpms I think).

Something to remember if you choose to buy any turbo diesel, you need to drive them gently until the glow plugs have turned off (if you cannot do this then let the motor idle until the glow plugs have turned off) and you need to let the turbo cool down before turning the motor off (ideally to 200c after turbo temp - another reason to have an EGT gauge installed).

I copied the following from another thread that I responded to a little while ago in the hope that it explains the "features" of these high tech motors and how they can be made reliable with the addition of some gauges and a blowby catch can:

The "blow up" problem that a few members on other forums enjoy blowing out of proportion (pardon the pun) can be typically contributed to a faulty MAF sensor.

This is not a "Nissan" thing, it is the same on all high tech diesels that do not have an EGT sensor feeding information back to the ECU.

Prevention is always better than the cure so by installing EGT and boost gauges, we are able to see if ever the electronics are not working correctly and we are able to catch all problems (except real mechanical ones) before it causes damage to the motor.

The challenge is really to advise all who have these high tech motors to install the two gauges - then keep on enjoying the truck...

Another thing that we should all be weary of is the implementation of EGR on these type of motors. EGR is not bad per say but when mixed with blowby oil, the exhaust particles turn into goop and slowly block the intake manifold which is very bad for a diesel.

There is a simple fix for this as well, install a good quality blowby catch can. If you have had your vehicle for a while, then I would suggest that a clean of the intake manifold would also be required (throttle body and inlet of the intake manifold can be accessed and cleaned without too much difficulty).

The 3ltr motor is a good design and members from another forum that have striped them down after 260Ks have found the internals to have minimal wear, the problem was a hole in the piston due to a failed MAF sensor:

"Just my thoughts from what I found when I pulled mine down after the problem

at 263,000K

wear in bore - too small to measure

twist in head - less than 1/2 thou

intake and exhaust manifolds also less than 1/2 thou twist.

big ends - not run in yet. Numbers still readable on shells.

mains - identical with the new ones, thickness, ovality and yaw. no wear there at all.

So with new engine australia pistons, and a weather eye being kept on the maf (with a spare in the glove box) I reckon she's good for at least 1,000,000 K "

As you can see, the motor is good but the electronics are what can let it down - by installing a boost and EGT gauge, it won't get the chance.

Whitie
AnswerID: 392329

Reply By: 120scruiser (NSW) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 14:34

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 14:34
I'm not an owner and never will be.
I have repaired numerous ZD30 engines.
They are reliable, fuel efficient until all of a sudden they explode.
As stated usually from over boosting. However my mate had one and changed the maf sensor every six months to hopefully avoid the detonation but it still blew up.
They still give problems after 2002 believe it or not. Not as frequent though.
To buy one???
I would buy one that has gone bang already dirt cheap and have it repaired with the later engine. The future will still be unknown but it would make for an economical car.

Scott
AnswerID: 392332

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 15:29

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 15:29
I've got a 2002 GU 3.0Di (4 speed Auto)and have also had a 2006 Sahara Turbo (5 speed Auto) and have towed an enclosed race car trailer (about 1800Kg) a fair bit with both. Also towed a 1000Kg off road trailer on a 8000Km trip with the Patrol.

I know did not state of you are looking at auto or manual so just take my input as a comment.

IMHO the Patrol is not suited to towing anything over about 1500Kg. It will do it OK but the vehicle feels it is working hard. The extra gear in the Tojo box was a big difference between it and Patrol for towing. I have a temp gauge on the Patrol box and you have to be very judicious with the use of O/D and even manually select 2 on occasion to ovoid it getting hot in undulating country and on steeper hills.

On it's own the Patrol has longer legs than the Tojo, it loves to rev and is keen to do it. The Tojo wants to hunker down and grunt and the gearbox is a beauty, the combo is much better suited to towing. If I were to drive 1000 K in a day solo I would take the Patrol (also has better seats) but if I were to tow I would take the Tojo.

I have not driven them but I reckon the Prado or the Pajero with 5 speed autos would put the Patrol in the shade, just on the basis of the extra cog.

On the relaibilty front, I have a boost and EGT gauge, clean the MAF sensor every 20K and carry a spare one. I'm about to invest in a catch can. The problem with the MAF sensor became known after my purchase so having to invest the money for the gauges and MAF sensor was a little annoying but I would not like to be running around without them. I have 120Kms up so far (mostly towing or gravel road touring) and it has been very reliable and most of all comfortable.

The Tojo I bought knowing about the weak front diff and cracking of the front suspension (even saw the pic of the wheel laying on it's side with full hub attached), but never intended to go off road with it so didn't worry about it.

Bottom line, if you are going to tow something big I would definitely prefer and Auto and as a minimum a 5 speed. For that reason I would steer away from the Patrol 3.0Di

OT

AnswerID: 392334

Follow Up By: Member - Graham H (QLD) - Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:28

Monday, Nov 23, 2009 at 21:28
If you bought a 2006 Croozer you wer under a misaprehension about the front lower control arm weakness.

It was in 2002 and only on a certain number of vin numbers and was caused by a drunk robot welder having a hissy fit.

None after that had the problem apparently.

FollowupID: 660310

Reply By: Nugget6 - Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 20:42

Friday, Nov 27, 2009 at 20:42
save ya money and buy something other than a zd3 engine..........
once bitten twice shy, $15,800 to fix mine so it exploded again.......
its now gone for good, rip zd3 engines.
by the way i have owned nissans all my life until now, never again.........
smithy.
AnswerID: 392945